Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sheridan High School

Public | 9-12 | 1225 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2014

I have graduated from Sheridan High one year ago. And I will say of my four years of being there were horrible. They have the "no child left behind" policy which they do not follow. There are some good teachers who are sweet and genuinely care for their students, over all most don't. The system that the principals have to follow is good, but they advantage of it. The no bullying tolerance is out of control. They do pep rallys for bullying awareness. But if you ever do encounter that situation they blow it off. In most cases if the bully is harassing you threw social media, text/calls, etc. and the bully contacts you and you say "leave me alone" the victim then gets the punishment cause they responded. The dress code is unreal and unheard of, it changes daily! And on some occasions the Principals even harass the students! And to add to it there's really no parental involvement. Unreal? Its true. Please do not let your kids attend here. I would never let mine if at all possible.


Posted April 16, 2014

I am a freshman at Sheridan and I love it. I've been in the Sheridan School District since Kindergarten. The education that I am getting is great. The teachers are mostly great. The band program is wonderful and I would recommend this school for most people. The one thing that I do not like about it is that cliques do tend to form, but if you are a new kid, then you will have no trouble making new friends. A lot of the kids in Sheridan are very country and some can come off as rude but you just have to get to know people to really see how they are. But I do think that it is a pretty great school.


Posted March 23, 2011

I am a former student of the Sheridan School District and both of my boys now have the great opportunity to attend this school as well. My experience with the faculty and the school in whole was a very pleasant one. Depending on the student's study habits, the curricular could be easy or challenging. I, myself, found it to be adequate, but challenging at times. The school provided classes that assisted the students for college entry as well as entry into the workforce. The extra-curricular activities were an absolute blast as well. I hope my boys enjoy their academic opportunities with this school as much as I did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I am a graduate of Sheridan School. My 5 children now have the pleasure of attending this great school district. I have read some of the 'reviews' some people have left, and for the most, they are absolutely correct. I just read one persons 'take' on his educaton from this school district, and felt compelled to respond. The 1 out of 1000 that do not agree with the great 'down home values' that our school district demands of our children need not be there anyway. We are in a country facing great challenges, we need more people with the values that our school district demands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

My child attends SHS. The teachers are awesome. They take the time to listen and explain if she has problems with class work or home work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

I attended Sheridan Public Schools 1st-12th grades. My child now attends SHS and is having a very good experience as well. I have high expectations that he will also be very well prepared for the future. Extracurricular activities are available for all students (Sheridan and East End) and it has been my observation that these students are treated equally.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2006

im am an 11th grader at sheridan high school. My expeirence is a pretty good one I mean yea teachers have their moments but what person doesn't expecially when the students are obnoxious. that is beside the point i feel like i am gettin and excellent education there i rate it atleast a 4 if not better
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2006

I attended Sheridan public schools from the 1st grade through the 12th and I feel that I got an excellent education. My children are both graduates of the Sheridan School system and have now received their higher education from UCA graduating with honors. At this time both have excelled in their careers and had it not been for the teachers at Sheridan, I really feel that they would not have gone on to be what they are today. As far as sports and such, we don't send our children to school for sports we send them to school to learn math, science, reading, history.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 21, 2005

I spent my entire education in the sheridan school district.. I have only praise for them.. for the most part it was wonderful.. I am who i am today because of the teachers and faculty of sheridan schools. And their respect for ones beliefs and religion and sexual preference is what makes them top notch. They do not care what your background is they still provide a great education. I know that my parents were glad that i went to school there.. The rotc and band program taught me descipline,self respect, motivation. It is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 21, 2005

As an attendee of Sheridan School for my entire scholastic career, I have nothing but bad things to say. Their education level has put me below the standard in comparison to others my age, making it harder for me to get a job. The lack of diverse extracurricular activities made it hard for me to feel that I fit in. As a rule, my parents were only contacted when I did something inappropriate. The only other opportunity for parental involvement came in the form of voluntary 'Parent Teacher Meetings,' which didn't accomplish much, if anything. My main problem, however, with Sheridan Schools, is there total lack of tolerance to students coming from alternative religions, sexual preferences, and cultural orientations. This school could not have been more offensive, and I pray for any student enrolled there.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 70% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 44% in 2013.

280 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
42%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 64%
Hispanic 3% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 West Vine
Sheridan, AR 72150
Phone: (870) 942-3137

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



White Hall High School
White Hall, AR





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT