Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Abundant Life School

Private | PK-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Sherwood

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2013

Love this school! Small class sizes, Christian values, friendly & caring faculty/staff, challenging curriculum! My 1st grader is learning cursive! Great value-- best keep secret in Central Arkansas!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

Excellent school providing an excellent, Christ-centered education. My children graduated top of their class and went on to excel in college (one graduated with a 4.0 in honors program, the other is currently tops in his major!). I firmly believe that students get whatever they put into school, and Abundant Life provides all the foundation they need to be successful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

We removed our son to protect him from the constant bullying and threats. We reported the problems to the staff numerous times and NO action was taken. The total lack of concern from the staff lead me to believe this school is NO place for Christian kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

My son was recently withdrawn from this school because of a bullying problem that the staff and administration failed to address. The mental trauma he endured will take a LONG time to wear off. Stay away from this place. Apathetic staff and administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

I attended Abundant Life from 4k through 12th grade. When I entered college, I was light years ahead of my classmates. Several others that graduated in the same class as me said that they were ill prepared when they entered colleges. The thing is, they were not good students in high school...so I don't attribute their hardship in college to ALS at all. I also have a son in ALS and another that will start there in the fall. I was and still am impressed with the level of education ALS provides.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

I had the displeasure of graduating from ALS and am now enrolled in college. I attended ALS my whole life and am really paying the consequences now. The elementary school was great when I was in attendance at ALS. However, the high school is a completely different story. I thought it was so fun at the time because there wasn't really a challenge in the school work. I realize now that that was an extreme disadvantage. I'm way behind in maths and sciences due to Abundant Life's curriculum. They do not challenge their students. In fact, many teachers slack in class just as much as the students do. If you want your child to do well in life, do not send them here. If you want your child to struggle through college (as if college isn't already a struggle), by all means, send them to ALS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2009

A genuinely caring school staff offering an excelled cirriculum,grouned in christianity. This is our second year and i am active in the school...........I see so many dedicated teachers and staff.This school feels like home from your first visit. We love abundant life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

My son will begin his 3rd year at ALS next week. I have been very pleased with his education and care. I am blessed to have him in such a great atmosphere. Parental are encouraged to be as involved as they wish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

I graduated from ALS. I enjoyed the school overall. My daughter attended their half day 4k with Mrs Airheart. It was wonderful. She is an outstanding teacher. My daughter loved her and She made it very enjoyable for both of us! I was also a teachers aide for a few of the elementary teachers there when I was a senior, they were all very nice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

My daughter has attended ALS for 5 years and I am very happy with cirriculum and the campus. I love the teachers we have had and love the fact that she doesn't have to leave this campus until college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

I am a graduate of ALS and now have a son enrolled in school there. I LOVE IT! I can say that where Im at spiritually is because of what I experienced at ALS. I love the teachers. They actually care about the eternal future of the kids there. My son loves it! Never had any problems. Great communication with the teachers. I believe God has truly blessed this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

I have two children in ALS. It is great to see the values that are taught at home and church are reinforced at school. I cannot believe how much they learn academically and spiritually each year. Our kids always score well above national averages on standardized tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

My children have been attending ALS since kindergarten, both are now in 2nd and 3rd grade. This school has been such a blessing for my kids and I. The staff is incredible and the teachers are patient and very dedicated. I would not have my kids any other place. I highly recommend this school to anyone considering. Its by far, been the best investment Ive ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2007

My son likes all his teachers but finds it difficult to meet new friends. The teachers seem to overlook much of the rudeness from many of the students and focus more on dictatorship. I am just as concerned for my son as I would be if he were in public school. Overall, I feel this school is no better or worse than a public school except for being a smaller student body which is why we keeping our son enrolled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2006

Was pleased with elementary overall. SO disappointed with secondary education (6-8). Some good teachers but way too many with attitudes towards students and parents. I found the curriculum to not be very challenging at that level. Christian atmosphere is overshadowed by cliques, both students and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

They are not fair with students. Appearance is nice, but they pull rules out of their pockets instead of a steady law book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

Parents like myself can be as involved as they wish. The elementary reading curriculum provided my children with an excellent foundation. Computers, music, and sports are offered from 4K on. The school has been a blessing to us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2005

We have 3 children in ALS with our oldest starting in 1996 (now in 11th grade).Our kids love going to school and the atmosphere is like a big family. It is very safe and provides an excellant environment for kids to grow up and learn in. There is a drawback though. The level of our kids education seems to be lacking, esp when compared to national standards. My son went to public school in the 9th grade and struggled there with his grades, even though he studied twice as hard than at ALS. When he retuned to ALS the next year, he again started making A's & B's with 1/2 as much time of studying. Bottom line is that it provides a great and safe environment with no worry of drugs, violence, & sex, but comes up short on education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2004

Our child attended Abundant Life in Kg and first grade. Kg was great with a wonderful teacher but first grade was another story. The teacher was nervous and yelled a lot. I think they have a mixture of teachers who are fantastic and teachers who couldn't make it in the public school system. Parents are also not given the opportunity to be active in their child's education. Parents often don't know what is going on in the classroom. When our child entered public school, he was ahead in reading and behind in science and math. He is in college now and finds his education in public schools to be far more complete than his frieds who remained at Abundant Life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2004

My daughter has attended this school for 6 years (Mothers Day Out, 4k,5k,1st,2nd,3rd,now in 4th). We love everything about Abundant Life. I have had the up most respect for all of her teachers. Each teacher has taught and treated my daughter as if she was their own child. She loves going to school here everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9200 Highway 107
Sherwood, AR 72120
Phone: (501) 835-3120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Indian Hills Elementary School
North Little Rock, AR


Immaculate Conception School
North Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT