Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clinton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 704 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2013

I have three kids that have been attending for many years. I would have to the say the first few years are wonderful Pre-K through 2nd after that I don't think they learn what they need lack of communication and organization. Teachers don't inform you early enough of issues unless you inquire. The bullying is ridiculous all you hear students say is no snitching. The principal basically covers up what ever she can and is beyond her golden years and should have retired before my kids ever started. If you have young children it's a good foundation for the early years teacher's are wonderful and include parents in everything anything beyond pull them out asap.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

This school is considreded one of the best schools in Arkansas. I agree for grades k-4 thru 3rd. Any grades beyond that, the teachers are horrible. The lack of communication and organization is unbelievable. Teachers loosing students work and requiring them to do it agian is not fare.. And the sad part about it, is that its an ongoing issue. If its not the teachers and grades its the bullying.There are too many ongoing issues at this school and its time for a NEW CHANGE.. The lack of professionalism is not only with the teachers its with the administration too. You can have meeting/ conference with the teachers and the administration and nothing is resolved. I am a firm believer that you can not please everyone, but at what point will the administration take a GOOD look at the entire picture. I took a chance, thinking the next year it would get better. However it has gotten worse.. Its a pity that this is the only school I'm zoned for and in the state of Arkansas you have assigned zones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

oh by the way, check out the low test scores too! Below average in almost everything! Some magnet school! If I could give principal leadership a negative, I would. The only time parents come out in mass numbers is thanksgiving dinner. Other than that, parent participation is very low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2012

My daughter is constantly bullied, and has been all year. This is a terrible excuse for an education. I am embarrassed, but what does an adult expect from a school named after such a horrible president....seriously....what is currently going on at this institution is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

As a former student, I would not recommend this school. I attended from 1997 until 2000. During those years, I was bullied, and nothing was done about it. We always got in trouble for talking, and socializing was discouraged. Because of this, I went from outgoing and confident, to shy and timid. Parents were always unwelcome in the building. The prinicipal was always horrible towards parents. I won't mention her name, but I believe she is still there. Academics at that time, were focused around computers. Art, music, and gym class were not available. Lucky for me, mom got me out of there, and sent me to a REAL school.


Posted April 18, 2011

I am a parent of a student at Clinton and I can not ask for a better school and learning environment in the 3 yrs my child has attended. At 4 years old my child was picked on by another student. My husband & I never thought we would have to explain to our child how to handle that type of situation at such a young age but that is a part of PARENTING. The teachers/administrators were very supportive during this time. I am so glad GOD has given me the sense to base MY decisions on MY experiences (BELIEVE NONE OF WHAT YOU HEAR and HALF OF WHAT YOU SEE) b/c there are more than 1 side to every story. Children should know that misbehaving is NEVER a good choice. Even though I want to be with my child 24 hrs a day, I can't; therefore, my husband & I as well as educators, grandparents, and other "positive" people in her life have TEACH her to do the RIGHT thing. She can not be SHELTERED from this world & expect to be PRODUCTIVE in it! Thank you to the administrators & staff for allowing me to volunteer in various capacities @ Clinton. I look forward to the 4 more years we have left.........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

After reading the reviews I noticed that none are current. Well I was told Clinton was an outstanding school and I will say the teachers are great, but as far as the principal, she really should retire. Beware, this school has a great deal of fights and other issues that are currently going on. Some parents are unaware of the issues, but from first hand experience I'm asking parents to look elsewhere. If you want your child to be bullied and nothing done about it you will love it, but if you don't this isn't the place. Run!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I moved to Cabot for the school district 2 years ago and hated where i lived!!! We moved to Sherwood and never been happier! The school is amazing! I couls not ask for more with out paying a hefty bill! Clinton is a diamond in the rough!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

Both of my children attend Clinton Elementary. I have one in third grade and one in pre-k. We love the school! The teachers are very innovative and academically the school is very challenging! We've been very happy with our experiences at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

I think Clinton is a great school. I have a daughter who attends Clinton now and a son who attending that is now in Middle School. The principal is great. My daughter loves her teachers. Every concern that I've had I have voiced it to the principal and it was handled. Great place for students and parents. Keep up the awesome work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

I have 3 children and they have been going to Clinton since Pre K. This school is great. They have learned so much and all of them have had an A/B average. The only thing I feel that needs to be changed is the principals attitude. She can be very snoody at times like she is above others. The teachers and office staff are all great. The academics for the children are also wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2008

I like this school, but it isn't for hard to learn children. If your child is slow or need extra help on most things...not a good place to put them...My child is very very smart and actually the school is too slow for her, but she is in alpha so that helps. They could use some different kind of rules when it comes to lunch time...it should be mandatory for teachers to use edline...my child teacher did. But over all it is a great school...the principal is wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

The school is great for those who students are self sufficient and do not need extra help but for those like my son, who was under a 504 plan and needed extra help, it has been very difficult. The school needs new administration. There is one assistant principal there who is great though. He would make a great principal. There is not always adequate communication from the teachers and some don't utilize edline like they should. Most of the teachers are good, but my son had one or two that was not a good fit for him. The class size is too big - over 20 kids per class! The lunch room which should be a place for kids to relax has someone screaming in a megaphone for the kids to be quiet! They also do not have a long recess at all. The school could use some improvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

Everything about this school is awesome! My daughter loves her teacher, and seems to me, all of the staff. She is always saying hi to the staff as she walks by them and they respond to her by name! Talk about personal attention. The staff from what I have seen is always curtious and patient. They have gone that extra mile to help whenever I or my daughter needed it. I can't say enough about Clinton Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

I feel this school could be doing better with more structure toward students and teacher relationship. A student being able to communicate with teacher and the teacher be able to listen. Notify parent immediately when child is not being self sufficient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2007

I feel the Academics are great. However. The policy on bullying is not being inforced. I have a 5th grader that gets bullied all the time. I am very disappointed with the parent involvement. Very much a lack of it. And the teachers won't volunteer for any after school activities. The PTA president is all about her ideas, others don't matter. I know of a PTA Officer that had a Holiday Bazaar and No help from the school. The Bazaar was a success but not because of the PTA staff or Admin Staff help. Another point I don't like is the fact that kids are bused in here from Little Rock. And I don't have a choice where my kids go but to go to the Clinton school. I would prefer a non Magnet school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

I have been very impressed the past three years with the teacher involvement. Clinton Elementary seems to recognize the fact, that the students do the work and the teachers 'guide' them in the right direction. Everyone has always been very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

Clinton elementary is an excellent school. It has excellent teachers who really, truly care about the kids. The principal leadership is also excellent and the office staff are respectful and courteous. I recommend this school to any parent looking for an elementary school for their child!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 15, 2004

I've enjoyed this school since my son started his attendance in pre-k. I've been impressed with the teacher-parent communication and the progress my child has made in his quest for knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 21%
White 43% 64%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A61%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

142 Hollywood Blvd
Sherwood, AR 72120
Phone: (501) 833-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Immaculate Conception School
North Little Rock, AR


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT