Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Monitor Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 808 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2013

Monitor teachers and staff go above and beyond for the well being of the students. I have seen teachers there after school hours to help the students. They help with extracurricular activities such as; soccer, run club, science club, basketball, Excell Fitness, and many more
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

I love this school, and better yet so does my daughter!! The teachers are very friendly. Any problems at all the my daughter has, I get a phone call.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

I have nothing put good things to say about Monitor elementray school...The teachers are the best...after experencing the elementry schools in the kansas city area it is more refreshing to have teachers more involved with thier students..I am more than pleased with this shcool!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

I LOVE Monitor! The teachers are AWESOME and they have wonderful music, art, and pe programs. They are the total package! My son is addicted to reading thanks to the teachers who have taught him and a great librarian. I have another child to enroll and I wouldn't take them any other place!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

Staff is rude and uncaring. When I went to pick up my child I felt very cut off and they acted as if i were a nuisance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

My son went there for one year. I hated it and how he was treated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 42% 10%
White 38% 65%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 14% 0%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Black 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3862 East Monitor Rd Wc 91
Springdale, AR 72764
Phone: (479) 750-8749

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Harp Elementary School
Springdale, AR






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT