Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 683 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2012

My son is in Kindergarten. We love this school. My son has learned so much! His teacher is amazing and really cares about all of her students. The teaching is somewhat individualized so that students who excel are pushed further and those that need extra help get it. He has gone on several field trips. School events have been great. All of the staff have been helpful and engaged every time we see them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

my son will be starting school this Aug. and I am trying to get feedback on this school. We visited and it was a lovely school with high energy and a very gracious staff. Now I am looking for personal experiences from families who have children attending. My rating is based on our visit.


Posted January 14, 2011

I don't want to bring too much negativity to this post, but judging by the curriculum, teachers and work that my son does at this school, it's pretty average and can be better. My son transferred from Turnbow Elementary this year and there is a BIG difference. I know my son is bright and can do well in any school setting. I'm a little disappointed, however, in the workload. My son rarely has homework, and when he does it looks like it's below his grade level. He says he has many teachers for various subjects, but that concerns me because I'm not sure if he's getting the one on one time that he deserves like any other child. I know that at Turnbow he was being challenged everyday. I don't think that way about this school. Thankfully, he goes to middle school next year. Hopefully, it'll be a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

This school was a nightmare. I feel my child was totally neglected. Every day, I would ask her what she did at school and she would tell me nothing. I soon began to realize that she was telling me the truth. She scored below average on her standardized test at the end of first grade. We transferred her and she scored above average in second grade. She is so happy at her new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

I have two children who have attended George Elementary. My daughter is now in middle school and excelling due to the wonderful foundation George Elementary provided. The gifted/talented program is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

My child is a second grader at George Elementary. He has special needs and the school has done an amazing job with ensuring that he has the same education as the rest of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

I honestly have nothing but problems with this school. I send letters to the teacher and ask her questions and then I don't get a response back or if I do it is 2 weeks later. My daughter went to a school last year where the teacher did nothing but remind and answer any questions I had the day I asked them. They also made sure that I always knew what was going on and at this school I never know what is going on and it is very irritating. So irrittating that I am thinking of transfering my daughter elsewhere thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

A wonderful school- great staff and teachers. All three of my children have attended and we have been pleased with the education they have received. I will miss being there when my youngest graduates to middle school after next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

Both of my kids went here and the teachers are excellent. My kids were very well taught and loved going to school every day. When there was a problem with boys being a little rough with my boy, the principal took immediate action and corrected the problem. It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

George Elementary is great for kids. The teachers really care, and the kids learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

As a teacher at George, I can truthfully state that we do our best to meet the needs of all the children. Every teacher goes the extra mile to assure that her/his students needs are met. This includes academics, health and safety.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2003

Walking down the halls you can see and feel that our children are the top priority here. The teachers work hard to set our children up for success as well as nurture individual needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2003

George is a school that nurtures children to be the best they can be!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 10%
White 23% 65%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 0%
Asian 2% 1%
Black 2% 21%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2878 South Powell
Springdale, AR 72764
Phone: (479) 750-8710

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT