Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brown Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 840 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2008

Most of the teacher are good they are just over worked and to many kids in a room to handle any child that has problems learning. The school has a tendensy to also judge one child by another in its family and not just let the child be its self.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I have two children who attend Jommy Brown Elementary. My son, a third grader, has had excellent teachers each year. He is a straight 'A' student and has received 'Star Citizen' each year. Special thanks goes out to his teacher for making him an above average student. My daughter, a first grader, has medical problems that at time prevent her from performing daily tasks to the best of her knowledge. At the beginning of the year she had 'D's' and 'F's' and thanks to the help, love and understanding of Mrs. Pam Haley she has 'B's' in math and reading. We think Mrs. Pam is awesome.I am also a graduate of Star City High School and my kids and I are pround to call ourselves 'Bulldogs'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

I have one child at Jimmy Brown and she has one of the best teachers this year she in the first grade this year. The first week of school this year I learned some very bad things happend at this school last year on the play ground.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

I have moved down here from the Watson Chapel School District and want to praise the Elementary School For all they have done for my son he started off down her with a D average but now he has a B C average he was digonaised 5 years age with ADHD but since he came down here and the teachers work with him (Mrs Venable ) is the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2006

I would like to say that me, my husband and two daughters moved to star city 2 years ago this February, and by far this is a good school. My daughter started Kindergarten last year in Star City and we as parents were amazed at what she learned in one year. Her teacher Kim Madar was one of the best I have ever met. Star City is #1 in school, activities for children, sports, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2006

I am fairly disgusted with this school district. I am very discouraged for my child for i know that he and others may not be left behind but they will never be taught what they need to know to go on to the next grade. Once you get lost in one grade you will be lost for a long time. I would not recommend this school or these teachers to anyone anywhere. I can't wait to get my kids out of here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

My overall opinion of JBE is very good. There are some really great teachers, with a few exceptions. Every grade seems to have some good options for our children. As a parent that has seen his oldest child through to the Junior High, and his son just starting in Kindergarten, it is gratifying to know that we have the opportunity to have our children educated by a group of teachers and staff that, for the most part, care deeply about our children. And to address the 'criticism' of one other person who has posted a comment, a school should be graded on its overall curriculum, not a specific deficit that is related to peripheral studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2006

I am proud to have a student at JBE. She is very encouraged by her teachers, some of the best teachers around. She enjoys school and excells in her studies. The excellerated reader program is very rewarding and well maintained. She loves JBE and so to I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2006

JBE School is a school that doesn't focus on the black students. My reason for this is, I have observed that on Black History Month, the students are not educated on the purpose of this event. The school district focus more on wildlife and hunting season. Not saying that precautions should be taken while out hunting but that Black History should be taught to the white students as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 79% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 85% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 82% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 65%
Black 22% 21%
Hispanic 7% 10%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

210 Ashley St
Star City, AR 71667
Phone: (870) 628-5111

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT