Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Texarkana, AR
Students enrolled: 1,185
 

2 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

8 reviews of this school


Arkansas High School 1

Posted March 15, 2013
- a community member
This school need a overhaul,bias .They have campaign aganist student bullying student,the main bullying is teacher bullying student.It hard for a minority to play baseball,they might pick two and bully them .Minority boys stop trying out because they no they would not be accepted.Parents need to come together and demand that all students be treated fairly.And if a teacher cannot treat all student fairly they need to find employment elsewhere.

Arkansas High School 1

Posted April 20, 2010
- a student
The school isn't as good as it seems. The rules aren't enforced as much as they should be. Teachers and principals play favorites. Some of the substitutes for the school are very prejudiced. There's fights almost every day. The security officers aren't very good at their job and spray mace when it's not even necessary. Most of the teachers now have no idea what they're even doing, and get easily distracted or just waste their time, doing unneccesary things.


Arkansas High School 4

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
The teachers are so friendly, along with the students. It has a wonderful athletic department. I love the size of the shool too.

Arkansas High School
no rating

Posted August 19, 2007
- a parent
I feel that Arkansas High needs a overhaul of the whole administration, mostly the vocational teachers. They are so rude and have been there so long that they think only about themselves and not the students. I have went to the school seven times with my child to get a class schedule that will work and I still have not recieved one yet. The entire school is unorganized. The tax payers are continously having to vote repeatedly for money on buildings other than the highschool, when the new highschool is not large enough. The behavior at Arkansas High is truly UNACCEPTABLE. Parents need to be aware.

Arkansas High School 2

Posted May 05, 2007
- a teacher
Arkansas High School does not have the structure that is needed in a school in order for students to learn. Their administration is not on the same page, and therefore the students are running wild. There are major discipline problems, and the administration is not consistant with the way they handle students. They don't follow the policies set forth in the handbook, nor the guidelines for discipline. The district is concerned with image and not students., In order for the district to become successful, the staff and administration have to work together and currently, they are not. The teachers are very capable of teaching a child what they need to know, but there are too many unruley and wild students.


Arkansas High School 5

Posted March 23, 2007
- a teacher
Both my children attended Arkansas schools K-12 and graduated with honors from Arkansas Senior High. They were active in honors classes, GT, and active in various social and sports activities.It's a GREAT day to be a Razorback!

Arkansas High School 5

Posted October 29, 2006
- a parent
I have had two children attend Arkansas High School. Both have had good experiences during their high school years. I get really tired of hearing about how bad AHS is! I think what most kids get out of the school depends on what they put in to it. The kids that I know that attended AHS and did what they were suppose to do, had a good experience!!!

Arkansas High School 2

Posted August 01, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attended ARK High after transferring from Texas High School. I felt overall there was a lack of concern or envolvement from the teachers and councilor. My daughter said daily there were disruptions in class and the teachers had little control or didnt even attempt to gain control. With this type of enviroment how are the children supossed to get an education and learn resposibility and respect.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arkansas High School
1500 Jefferson Ave, Texarkana, AR  71875
(870) 774-7641
Last modified Arkansas High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arkansas High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top