Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vilonia Junior High School

Public | 8-9 | 465 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2013

I used to be a student at Vilonia.... so I thought we would make the move and have my son go to school there. Wrong decision... it's definitely not how it used to be. The principal is incompetent and the school is ran like a prison. The comments that other parents left are true. If your child is not involved in football... you might as well forget him fitting in. The kids have all grown up together and are not willing to accept new kids. I feel that if Vilonia had an Ambassador and help new kids get acclimated with their new surroundings it might be easier for the kids. I found the teachers to be really nice and do a good job. The kids aren't allowed to keep their cell phones on them or even in their locker. They have to drop them off in a box and then pick them up in the office at the end of the day. But, I should add that the football players get to keep theirs and put them in the "football lockers". The unfairness is ridiculous. I would think twice before sending my child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

REPLACE THE PRINCIPLE! He was apparently never informed that the main objectives of he and his staff should be to encourage and educate! He is, instead, more interested creating (and has created) a hostle environment by labeling students and treating students like prisoners. This person should have been replaced when he was Vice Principle, instead he was promoted! He has ZERO people skills and MUST GO! This is the type of situation that can motivate distressed students to retaliate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

The entire school district is focused on football and the band program. If your child isn't involved in these activities they will be considered an outcast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2004

I moved to Vilonia 7 years ago, after researching the school district and found only rave reviews. At the time my children were all in elementary school, and I loved it! Once the started moving up to Middle school, Junior High and now High School, my opinion has changed. They do not like the kids to be individuals and I fully believe they would be much happier with robots; most of this does not come from the teachers, but from the principals. I have not been very happy with they way they handle problems, be them actual behavior or something they feel is morally wrong. I don t recommend the school district to anyone who believes kids are individuals and should be treated as such, that is not recognized as a good character trait in Vilonia once they reach the higher grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

Compared to nearby school districts, this is a great school. It could be even better. It is more focused on the teacher (too much?) rather than the student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2004

My wife and I bought land in this school district for the sole purpose of our children getting to attend school here. We have four children in the chool district(school year 2004-2005). If you are a parent that thinks you should have a say, I would throw caution to you. Vilonia has it's own school board, there is no one to appeal to off of school grounds. The only thing you can do is move out of the district or homeschool if you disagree with personel. This school district does not participate in 'school choice' program(Act 609 of 1989). They will not release a student to another district even if you have been accepted by another school district superintendant. Parents aren't aware of alot of the school(not school district)policies because they are verbal and up to a teachers discresion without any rules governing them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2004

This school is an ok school overall. I was a student there. The teachers are really cool and teach very well. The principals are something that you will definately here your child complain about. Its really easy to fit in. The school was really great overall.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 65%
Hispanic 2% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A60%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1164a Main St
Vilonia, AR 72173
Phone: (501) 796-2037

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT