Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Michaels School

Private | PK-6

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

GreatSchools
mobile

Finding great
schools is
now at your
fingertips »

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 14, 2013

This school has some serious issues. For one the teachers play favorites. Nothing is done with bullies. The classes are too small and the building's condition is terrible. If you want to send your child to a good Catholic school that will give then a great education then go somewhere else. This school is not worth the time!!


Posted January 2, 2012

Too many changes! I tried to give this school year a chance at St. Michael's, but I see it going in a different direction for ever. The new pincipal did nothing over a bully in the upper grades last year who hurt both boys and girls - physically and verbally. Principal always said she was "praying about the matter". More like misguided compassion. Also, last year, the school had to let several people go over the summer over finances. That's fine, but one of the people let go had a doctorate degree. The person who took his place is okay, I'm sure, but from what I understand does not even have a gradaute degree nor that many years teaching exp. If they are trying to save money this is a poor way of doing it - by keeping the cheapest labor. Also, my family can't take another year of drama about the school possibly closing. If you are in the principal's "inner circle of friends", you will be fine. If not, be prepared to be treated like a 2nd class citizen - especially if your child has a problem with one of her friends children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2011

I don't know what is happening at St. Michael School this year. The former principal who had been there a while and who was excellent stepped down, then seven staff and faculty members were laid off after Christmas of 2010. Grades are starting to combine in order to save money. Sorry, I have seen this school go from great to not so good in just over one year. The new principal appears to be more concerned over keeping the doors open than the quality of the education at any cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

Our son started kindergarten @ St. Michael's this year. He has hands down the best teacher in this area. He has amazed us with what he has learned from art to math to reading and scoring 100% on 16 out of 18 on AR reading program.These teachers give 100% support and care to their classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

We moved our son to St. Michael's last year after a rough start at another school. His teacher worked really hard with him throughout the year. My son needs extra help and his teacher gave him that. All the teachers are very caring and it shows that they love the kids. I loved the small class environment as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

I finished St.Michael's in 2007 one of the brightest kids in my class... Their teaching methods are amazing and the teachers understand student's needs they don't judge someone by their academic skills or their religion or race this catholic school teaches the main goal of any christian school to love and care for one another. I am now attending WMC and am gettin 95-100 in every single class it's to easy If your kid goes to St.Michaels they will be about 2 grades ahead of everyother school.. Trust me!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 899
West Memphis, AR 72303
Phone: (870) 735-1730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Weaver Elementary School
West Memphis, AR


Bragg Elementary School
West Memphis, AR


Maddux Elementary School
West Memphis, AR


Wonder Elementary School
West Memphis, AR


Jackson Elementary School
West Memphis, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT