Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Yellville-Summit Middle School

Public | 5-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 5, 2008

Kids from northern states are ridiculed and called yankees? never heard that one before. a male teacher was too harsh on a student? at that time there were two men teachers at the middle school who were both harmless. before you post a crude comment about YSMS on this website you need to get your facts straight. the middle school has a great program and every kid leaves a different person than they were before. some of the comments that were posted offended me greatly because none of that exsists here. everyone genuinely cares for one another, making a great work environment, which spills over into the care for kids. all the teachers at the middle school are some of the best in this area, try talking to them if you have a problem. if you get second hand information, try going to the source. everyone is willing to work with
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

I believe this school thinks way too much of themselves. The teachers should stay in the classes more often so when the students have a question they could answer them. Also they could referee some of the activities. Also they complain about lack of parent involvement, I tried giving time and money, no more. Also it would be nice if they,the faculty, could find more significant things to worry about instead of what kind of briefcase a student is using.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

As a whole Yellville Summit schools are sufficient to teach your child basic education and meet the state standards. Teacher/Parent interaction is almost non-existant or negitive if were not born here, or your last name isnt the right one then your voice is not heard. The teachers tend to be condescending and rude toward parents visiting the school, unless they have an agenda. For the most part they are just interested in the over all head count for state funding. They should use some of that funding to provide the students with a safe, comfortable place to go to school. Cellings are falling in, old play ground equiptment. They gym that the Elementry students use does not have air conditioning, and the temps. get up to over 100 in late spring, and fall. There is alot that needs to be done at Yellville Summit. And it is NOT being done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2005

My child has attended Yellville since kindergarten and has received an excellent education. She has been treated fairly and respectfully by the staff and adminsitration. I have also been impressed with the way the students in her class treat each other. They are protective and supportive, especially to those who may stuggle in shcool. Yellville's staff and administration are compassionate and educated. You can tell by being around them that they really like and enjoy children. There is always room to improve and Yellville could use some updated facilities. Several of the buildings are getting on in years and there are a few too many mobile/temporary classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

We moved up here a year ago from Louisiana and our children have never been happier! They are given more teacher attention and all the staff bend over backward to help in any way they can. This school and the people of this community are better than we had ever hoped for. Just wish we could have moved here years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2004

This is the best school ever! I have attended Yellville Summit for 4 years. I have had the best time ever. The students are nice. The principle and the teachers are like your best friend. The principle trys until he succeeds to fix any argument... There are great programs, such as the M&M's program, it is to help kids to settle arguments by mediating them. The teachers try and try until you understand something. I was behind when I came to Yellville, and they worked with me and worked with me until I was caught up. I have so much fun learning at Yellville Summit, then I have had anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2003

The high school has a horrible tobacco problem that is for the most part overlooked by teachers and principals. They deny that there is a problem at all. My 9th grade son was even offered marijuana the first week of school. When we went to the principal about it - he seemed disinterested and not willing to even check into it. Another of my children was treated very poorly after we moved to Yellville from another neighboring town. The teacher chastised him because he already knew the lesson she was teaching (the other school was a head of Yellville). He was often punished for finishing his work before the other children. He had always been a very eager learner but she affected his whole outlook on school. I couldn t wait to get my children out of Yellville before the school system did any more damage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2003

Children that relocate here from Northern states are treated poorly. They are reminded on a regular basis that they are Yankees and treated as outsiders by staff and peers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Literacy

The state average for Literacy was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the Benchmark Exam to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in literacy and grades 3 through 8 in math. The Benchmark Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arkansas used the End of Course Exam to test high school students in Algebra I, Geometry and Biology. The results for End of Course Exams administered in the spring of each school year are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The End of Course Exam is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined by the state of Arkansas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Arkansas Department of Education

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1124 North Panther Ave
Yellville, AR 72687
Phone: (870) 449-6533

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Grace Baptist School
Gassville, AR



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT