Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Our experience with ACLC has been very positive over the six years my child has attended the school. She has developed time and task management skills with her studies, as well as becoming involved in planning and implementing school events. This school helps prepare kids for life by encouraging them to take responsibility and teaching them valuable life skills, not just academics.
October 20, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alameda Community Learning Center
Develops honesty: no rating

Posted October 20, 2015
- a school leader
This school encourages kids to take responsibility for their behavior and uses a unique peer monitoring technique called the JC (Judicial Committee) system. Kids write up other kids if they observe them violating school rules. This "case" is then heard by the JC, a group of kids elected by their peers to sort out rule violations and disputes and also impose a reparative "sentence" or consequence to the original action. It is a very effective approach!

Alameda Community Learning Center
no rating

Posted October 20, 2015
- a school leader
Our experience with ACLC has been very positive over the six years my child has attended the school. She has developed time and task management skills with her studies, as well as becoming involved in planning and implementing school events. This school helps prepare kids for life by encouraging them to take responsibility and teaching them valuable life skills, not just academics.


Alameda Community Learning Center
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
The school administrator seems to have inherited a complicated situation, and took over also at a time of great change (school site moves, union development, big increase in competing charter schools, strong parent reactions). He has faced these challenges well. i am also especially grateful to the math department. I have one child who exclls at math, and one who needs a great deal of support. Both are having their needs met by their talented, inspiring math facilitator Aaron.

Alameda Community Learning Center
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
It really depends. I have been very impressed with the high school teachers. Last year, there was an ineffective teacher whose contract was not renewed. I'm very glad the school has the flexibility to quickly remove underperforming teachers. This year, the school is currently understaffed due to a series of unfortunate, unlucky events. I feel badly for the staff, who are working so hard to cover the empty spots. It has been a stressful time for everyone. There is a teacher shortage in CA, and effective teachers at innovative charter schools need to be especially talented and dedicated to create an extraordinary experience, usually without all the resources of a traditional school.

Alameda Community Learning Center
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
I'm very impressed with how my kids (middle and high school) have taken ownership of their learning. It really takes the pressure off me to be a nagging parent. They set up their goals, learn what it takes to achieve them, and then get to work. They feel the intrinsic rewards of a job well done.


Alameda Community Learning Center 5

Posted October 19, 2015
- a parent
My middle-schooler and high schooler both love ACLC. They love that they have a real voice as members of the community. They feel valued and respected. They come home eager to discuss what they are learning, and are motivated to pursue topics in depth on their own time. I'm so happy for, and proud of them both.

Alameda Community Learning Center 5

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
ACLC is a super-welcoming place and the vast majority of learners thrive here. The school's focus on project-based learning has been exactly what both of my kids needed to stay engaged and build self-reliance. Unbeatable leadership opportunities, too.

Alameda Community Learning Center
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
We saw many improvements in the school when its Lead Facilitator David Hoopes was hired three years ago. His dedication to the school and the learners is impressive.


Alameda Community Learning Center
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
Learners are expected to be increasingly self-directed, taking charge of their education as they work their way toward college.

Alameda Community Learning Center
Develops respect: Agree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
The school develops respect at the same time it gives students to the courage to speak out and work together to make changes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alameda Community Learning Center
1900 Third Street, Alameda, CA  94501
(510) 995-4300
Last modified Alameda Community Learning Center is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alameda Community Learning Center Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 93 reviews. Top