Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted December 12, 2015
- a community member
Very active diverse community with celebration culture enrichment activities. Over crowded and redirecting to other alameda school from mid year enrollment has been a problem and will continue to be a problem unless the district population/data growth projection team can gets its act together

Frank Otis Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
First grade teacher Danielle Gilbert is my son's favorite teacher so far. I know many other children and parents who feel the same way. Our reasons for being so grateful for Ms Gilbert are her demonstrated respect for children as people and her celebration of what makes childhood great. By asking their input, listening to their comments and answers, and observing closely, Ms Gilbert treats children respectfully and receives their respect in return. She also allows the space in her classroom for spontaneous and imaginative learning. Thank you, Ms Gilbert!


Frank Otis Elementary School 2

Posted August 03, 2015
- a parent
Good community and diverse student population. Teaching methods are surprisingly traditional for the Bay Area with a strong emphasis (and reliance) on testing. School is bursting and many grades are over enrolled, which means you may be bumped after the first week if you are new and the grade is over subscribed. Principal is energetic, but not a able to successfully direct all of her teaching staff. Instead she does quite a bit of "horse trading," rewarding active volunteer parents (who will complain) with spots in the best classrooms (so they won't complain). This is not really a secret among Otis parents. We were new to the school and (no surprise) our child landed in one of the marginal teacher classrooms. Rough year for our child, who made great social connections, but was not supported well and lost a year academically. We tried to address with the principal mid-year and didn't make any real progress. After solid and caring K-4 teachers at our child's previous school, Otis was a huge disappointment for us. Happy for a fresh start at a new school next year.

Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
Otis has been great for both of my kids. I had one child who was in GATE and one who gets special education support, so we've experienced how the school works for two very different children. My academically successful child had advanced reading and math and I always felt that the curriculum was adequately challenging. The support that my more academically challenged child is receiving is phenomenal. The classroom teacher goes way above and beyond in providing help, and special ed provides several hours a week of general one-on-one help, social skills, and OT. It's overcrowded so space is an issue, but kids don't get lost in the shuffle. The parent community is highly involved and a lot of fun. It's a great community of people and a great school.

Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
Great principal, great teachers, great PtA, great parents, great cross walk guard. Greatest school in the bay areas. Go OWL!!!!!!!!!!


Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
Frank Otis is a real great school. Love it so much. Principal, Teachers, Parents, Kids, and Playground are the best from any other school in Alameda areas. I would say its over 5 stars rating.

Frank Otis Elementary School 4

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Otis is a warm community school with a REALLY high level of parent involvement. The community at the school is a bit quirky and you can definitely feel the unique culture at Otis. The PTA funds field trips, classroom supplies and buys technology for student use. Dr. Clem does an amazing amount with the few resources the district gives her and motivates the school community to make up the difference. My children have had teachers who work hard to provide an education for them. I can't say that all of the teachers are innovative but they are still effective at their craft and care a lot about the students. It is overcrowded but the staff does a good job in managing that.

Frank Otis Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
This school has attentive teachers and a great deal of energy paid to the kids well-being and happiness. It's a large school, but doesn't feel like it.


Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
Outstanding local school. Alameda has great schools in general. Fantastic involvement from parents and Dr. Clem is the most hands on principal I have ever encountered.

Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school forty nine years ago. I have great memories at this school. This school help me become the person I am today.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Frank Otis Elementary School
3010 Fillmore Street, Alameda, CA  94501-5544
(510) 748-4013
Last modified Frank Otis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Frank Otis Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top