Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Alameda, CA
Students enrolled: 503
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2014
- a parent
Great principal, great teachers, great PtA, great parents, great cross walk guard. Greatest school in the bay areas. Go OWL!!!!!!!!!!

Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
Frank Otis is a real great school. Love it so much. Principal, Teachers, Parents, Kids, and Playground are the best from any other school in Alameda areas. I would say its over 5 stars rating.


Frank Otis Elementary School 4

Posted February 20, 2014
- a parent
Otis is a warm community school with a REALLY high level of parent involvement. The community at the school is a bit quirky and you can definitely feel the unique culture at Otis. The PTA funds field trips, classroom supplies and buys technology for student use. Dr. Clem does an amazing amount with the few resources the district gives her and motivates the school community to make up the difference. My children have had teachers who work hard to provide an education for them. I can't say that all of the teachers are innovative but they are still effective at their craft and care a lot about the students. It is overcrowded but the staff does a good job in managing that.

Frank Otis Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
This school has attentive teachers and a great deal of energy paid to the kids well-being and happiness. It's a large school, but doesn't feel like it.

Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2012
- a parent
Outstanding local school. Alameda has great schools in general. Fantastic involvement from parents and Dr. Clem is the most hands on principal I have ever encountered.


Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school forty nine years ago. I have great memories at this school. This school help me become the person I am today.

Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2011
- a parent
We are half way through our tenure at Otis and would definitively say that the school has exceeded all of our expectations. Our son has been fortunate in that each of his K-2 teachers have been an excellent "fit" for him. And after the first week, we are equally pleased with his 3rd grade teacher. We love the diversity, a strong and passionate school principal, the stunning amount of parent involvement and volunteerism, the many school traditions and events (ranging from Art a la Mode to Walkathon to Gingerbread House to Fall Carnival), and excellent school-parent communications (weekly e-newsletter and principal-parent-student assembly). Our neighborhood school has given us the opportunity to meet and befriend so many of our neighbors -- a true community resource.

Frank Otis Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
Otis has a great school community, with a lot of volunteer spirit, and great traditions and events.


Frank Otis Elementary School 4

Posted May 28, 2009
- a parent
Otis has an amazing principal and a wonderful parent community, and many wonderful caring teachers. A few are tired and need to retire, and sometimes the approach to education is very traditional, and not terribly inspiring to kids, but that's probably true almost everywhere today in our test-driven system. We feel very lucky to be part of the diversity and great education at Otis. My son is in first grade and has learned an amazing amount here, and overall we are very happy.

Frank Otis Elementary School 5

Posted June 11, 2008
- a parent
Otis is a diverse school that benefits from a unique blend of excellent teachers working together with committed parents. When these children leave Otis for middle school, they leave as strong, capable students ready to take on the next challenge.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Frank Otis Elementary School
3010 Fillmore Street, Alameda, CA  94501
(510) 748-4013
Last modified Frank Otis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Frank Otis Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top