Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Alameda, CA
Students enrolled: 174
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alameda Science And Technology Institute 5

Posted December 07, 2013
- a student
Alameda Science Technology Institute has improved my academic skills and encouraged me to continue on to succeed. The students and teachers are friendly and are willing to help those who are struggling in their academics. Alameda Science Technology has proven to be a great school, even though it is a small school, yet a small community is able to work together no matter what.
1 person found this helpful

Alameda Science And Technology Institute 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Uniformly excellent and dedicated teachers; challenging and rigorous curriculum; and a caring and diverse community. What a great school! We had our reservations at first. There is alot of homework but it is manageable and purposeful. My teenager comes home and hits the books without me asking because he is engaged. He has taken charge of his learning and looks forward to going to school every day.
1 person found this helpful


Alameda Science And Technology Institute 3

Posted May 23, 2013
- a community member
As a former student of ASTI, I have to say that it has many pros and cons. The school and its staff definitely have good intentions for the students, and likewise, many students are able to succeed in its academic program. However, the program is not only rigorous, but also very narrow-minded in terms of how students should learn and what they should learn. It is structured in a way that doesn't always give a student the opportunity to try new things. Additionally, its curriculum tends to dictate the lives of many of my peers. Granted, it does try to give students opportunities to explore activities they may enjoy--including being able to play sports for other schools--however the school counters these opportunities with its own curriculum. A dedicated student can very easily succeed in this kind of school, and the ability to earn an AA degree in high school can be very helpful time-wise and financially. But generally, I've seen more people simply become frustrated and tired from being at ASTI. I don't wish to condemn a good school, but I do think it's important to consider its setbacks along with the benefits, as they both greatly affect the students on many levels.
1 person found this helpful

Alameda Science And Technology Institute 1

Posted May 21, 2013
- a student
This school is NOT for everybody! Yes, it is a good learning environment, but the teachers give way too much homework and if you miss a day you barely get time to catch up!
1 person found this helpful

Alameda Science And Technology Institute 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
Highly academic with rigorous program. It works - my daughter is starting her senior year of highschool and her sophomore year of college. Many students graduate with their associates degree at the same time as their high school degree. The school was written up in US News and World Report as one of the top high schools in the country (in only the school's 6th year!). This school is best for students interested in a small setting with less emphasis on extracurrilar and art and sports programs.
1 person found this helpful


Alameda Science And Technology Institute 0
no rating

Posted December 24, 2009
- a student
I am currently a Sophomore at ASTI and I have to say, it really is tough work. Freshman and sopmore year are like a student's junior and senior year at a regular public high school. We have three new students that came this year. Our freshman year relly prepared us for this year, so they're stuggling a bit, but they're getting the hang of it. To be honest, I absolutely hated ASTI when I first came. However, I got used to it and learned to appreciate the oppurtunity I was given. There are some downfalls, but they are minor. We get to use the college library which is very helpful and take as many college courses as we please. If you're about work and limited play, then ASTI is for you. You may not get much leisure time, but it would definately be worth it in the end. Promise.
1 person found this helpful

Alameda Science And Technology Institute 5

Posted October 02, 2009
- a student
They provide the best academic opportunities for high school students!

Alameda Science And Technology Institute 4

Posted August 20, 2009
- a parent
Excellent public school. Unique early college program. Challenging yet supportive faculty. Safe environment. Good leadership. Making improvements each year.
1 person found this helpful


Alameda Science And Technology Institute 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
All the teachers are great!

Alameda Science And Technology Institute 5

Posted January 23, 2008
- a parent
Awsome School, I Joined ASTI mid year and love it. Plus you get to start college 2 years early

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alameda Science And Technology Institute
555 Atlantic Avenue, Alameda, CA  94501
(510) 748-4021
Last modified Alameda Science And Technology Institute is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alameda Science And Technology Institute Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top