Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Will C. Wood Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
Thank you to our teachers for putting so much into making this experience what it is, for all the students at Wood.

Will C. Wood Middle School 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a community member
The new STEAM program is outstanding. Students are being taught the way kids learn; the integrated learning is creative and engaging. This creative program is also directly aligned with all 3 of our high schools (Alameda, Encinal, and ASTI) so your student can flow seamlessly on to 9th grade. The same cannot be said for the charter middle schools! Enrolling in this school is a solid choice for your middle schooler.


Will C. Wood Middle School 5

Posted December 02, 2013
- a parent
I once read a study that said one great teacher can change your whole life's trajectory. Both my sons had their "one great teacher" at Wood School...and not even the same teacher! The teachers are wonderful: It takes a very special group of professionals to inspire both the kids who need a little support and also the kids who need a challenge. With such a truly diverse (socio-economically, culturally, and academically) school, the teachers have to be exceptional. And they are. The students are terrific, also. Both my boys have made good friends here, and my (now) high schooler has remained close with the kids he met at Wood. I can't recommend this solid, positive, Wood middle school experience enough.

Will C. Wood Middle School 4

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
My daughter was new to the community when she started 6th grade at Wood Middle School and felt welcomed by students and staff alike. She made friends very quickly which was wonderful because she tends to be on the shyer side. Her teachers had innovative ideas and seemed to balance the academic rigor with creative projects. My daughter has always loved art and she actually had 2 projects displayed at the Alameda Library. The band teacher is nothing short of amazing and they put on 2 fabulous concerts! Wood is a wonderful community and a good fit for our family. I've been able to make connections myself and really feel that sense of a positive and caring community that is so important for these middle school years. I would definitely recommend this school!

Will C. Wood Middle School 2

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
I was very disappointed with this school. They did not properly honor my child's 504-Plan which was in effect before we entered the school, they employed at least one teacher who was inappropriately verbally and emotionally abusive toward my son due to his medical condition and in spite of his previously filed 504-Plan (and of course the school backed the teacher in her behavior which was just one step below the abuse other students were allowed to behave towards him). Thanks to the ineffective "anti-bullying policy" here over a year ago (hopefully it's improved this past year), my son was assaulted on numerous occassions by other students on campus and bullied so badly due to his medical issues that he became afraid to complain, and had to be pulled from this environment. One of his friends who also had documented medical issues endured similar experiences at this school during their time here. He did have some good teachers that were kind and compassionate; though the bad experiences definately outweighed the good. After removing him from this school, his grades and test scores improved thanks to being able to finally get an education safely.


Will C. Wood Middle School 5

Posted April 21, 2013
- a parent
My son went to Wood and my other two children are looking forward to going there next year. It is a great school with a community that has rallied around it's success. My son was in a school play, went on a trip to Ashland Oregon with his drama class and participated in activities even though he is quite shy. I found the teachers and staff very supportive and innovative - important in middle school!

Will C. Wood Middle School 4

Posted December 13, 2012
- a parent
I have two kids at Wood and they are thriving academically, socially, and emotionally. Initially I had some reservations due to Wood being in program improvement and I am glad I gave Wood a chance. Based on two years of experience there, I have found that the majority of teachers are very good, caring, supportive, and communicative. Many collaborate with one another, are innovative, creative, and passionate about teaching. There are a number of excellent programs at Wood, unparalleled by other middle schools, including an amazing music program (concert band, guitar) and art program that includes ceramics. The math, science, English language arts, and history classes provide challenge, involve interesting projects, and have the right amount of homework that allows students the time for other activities outside of school and to have balance in their lives. There are sports such as basketball and volleyball and the student leadership class organizes a number of fun extracurricular activities. We like Wood a lot due to it being a medium sized school where most kids know each other. It is a great comprehensive school that has much to offer.

Will C. Wood Middle School 4

Posted April 10, 2012
- a parent
Wood is a great school. My daughter is a sixth grader here. She has been able to adapt very nicely. The school has wonderful teachers, students, and staff, and the PTA is fabulous! The community at Wood really care about the students well being, and are dedicated to ensuring that they have a successful future. Go Beavers!!


Will C. Wood Middle School 5

Posted April 10, 2012
- a parent
I am Very impressed with the caring staff and the high quality teachers. Friendly and caring parents. Fun and Hip principle. Wood is a Great School thats on the Rise, Lots of great things coming to Wood in the Near future. My Son is in 6th Grade and is looking forward to his next 2 Year at Wood. Go Beavers !!!

Will C. Wood Middle School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
The teachers, paraprofessionals, and administrative staff work together to create an inspiring learning environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Will C. Wood Middle School
420 Grand Street, Alameda, CA  94501-5941
(510) 748-4015
Last modified Will C. Wood Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Will C. Wood Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top