Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bay Farm

Public | K-7

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2014

These reviews are a little misleading. Some positives - the teachers are not bad and gardening class nice - but the high test scores are directly related to the socioeconomics of the area. There is not good funding for this school. There is no art teacher and the music program is constantly in danger of being cut. Classes are overcrowded - most upper classes with 32-35 kids each. Teachers rely heavily on parent volunteers - some even ask parents to grade papers! For the privacy of other families and because parents may not be qualified, they should not be doing this. PTA meetings usually have less than 10 in attendance - and the teachers don't seem to care about the T in PTA. Because of funding issues, families are asked to donate over 300 dollars per student each year. The other fundraiser is an auction where families that bid the most get prizes and special outings - those with less money have no chance. Child supervision on the school grounds is lacking - often only 1 adult. Teachers have expressed a lack of parent volunteers, but teachers should be there to fill in at least! The academics were fine, and our experience here was not terrible. It was just not a 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

The school just changed over to a learning center from a SDC and it is not working out well at all. The school districts solution is to move my child to another school in the district but what she is struggling with is all the transition from class to class. That being said, moving to a new school mid year sounds stressful. This school is great and we love the teachers the learning center just cannot meet my child's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

I have a 7th grader and a kindergartner at Bay Farm... I'm halfway through what will end up being 18 years at this school! I don't mispeak when I say that... the community, the parents, are as much a part of this school as the kids, teachers and staff are. Together, this community works toward a common set of goals: Giving each student a great education, creating a safe and scintillating environment for them to learn in, and putting them on a path to success. Many of us feel as if we've stumbled upon a piece of near perfection. The principal, Mrs. Freitas, is dedicated to the betterment of the school at every turn, and the teachers and staff are absolutely fabulous. With a hugely active PTA and parent community, you just can't go wrong. I'm so thrilled my kids have this place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

We have been at Bay Farm Elementary for 3 years and are very proud to be part of this school. There is a great partnership between parents and teacher/staff. Our child is challenged and excited about class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

Last year we celebrated our 20th Anniversary at Bay Farm School, and I couldn't be prouder of all that we have accomplished over the years! We've come a long way since we opened our doors to just over 250 students! We are now over 500 strong, with a staff who is committed to making Bay Farm a safe, fun, and challenging place to learn and grow. We have replaced overhead projectors with document cameras and smart boards, are in our second year of our K-8 implementation, continue to move forward into our 21st Century Innovative Plan, and have an Outdoor Learning Center and Go Green program that is the envy of districts near and far. Our greatest legacy, however, is our continuing relationship with our students who have grown and left us to make their way in the world. They have gone on to high school and college, are making the world a better place in their chosen fields, and, most importantly, are raising their own children to be strong, kind, and independent. They come back often to check in and to take part in school activities and celebrations. They share their memories of their experiences at Bay Farm and their goals. They remind me, day after day, why I do what I do!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2013

Bay Farm school is wonderful. This is the first year it holds seventh grade, and it has two classes. The teachers are phenomenal and balance each other's strength. One is a Math and Science genius, while the other is an English and History buff. I have twins and one kid in each class. Both of them respect and admire their teachers. They actually enjoy learning and look forward to going to school. Of course, they love their weekends too. Just incredible how Bay Farm and their teachers created an environment in which my twins are engaged and are blossoming. When I drive up to the school each morning, I see a clean, well-kept grounds. There a true sense of safety and caring. Little safety monitors help direct all the crazy bicycle, car and people traffic. Today was "Walk to School" day, and the community had the local police also guiding traffic. They were even smiling. The children gather in the courtyard for morning announcements, and each child who has a birthday that morning is brought up while the entire school sings them a song and wish them well. Can you image how special that makes a kid feel? If only each day can be that extraordinary. Oh wait, it is at Bay Farm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

BayFarm school is such a strong school due to the tight knit sense of community among children, teachers & parents. Most of us walk or ride to school and find we have a lot in common: a high value place on education, a strong sense of drive and desire for our kids to excel and be contributing members of our community. I am grateful to live in such a supportive neighborhood and participate in such a wonderful school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2013

We are impressed by the quality of the staff and dedication of the principal. It's a very calm, well-run school with huge parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

We are new to Bay Farm school and have been to others due to moving, so have a little experience in elementary schools. In terms of learning, attention to children, parent involvement, community, technology - this school is doing wonderfully! The teachers and staff are innovative and most of them seem to love what they do. We have recently changed form k-5 to k-8 and the transition is going well. The program they are developing for the middle school is fantastic so far; and AEF compliments it with extra-curriculars like band and sports. We are thrilled with Bay Farm!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

Bay Farm School is truly a community of learners! Together, our students, teachers, support professionals, and parents work tirelessly to support our academic and social goals, and provide learning opportunities that challenge our students to become independent, creative, and collaborative problem-solvers. We are implementing an Innovative Plan that infuses technology directly into our instruction so that our students can develop 21st century learning skills to be able to participate successfully in our global society. Come learn with us!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 21, 2013

We are Extremely happy and impressed with the school. The Principals involvement is remarkable. All the Kindergartner teachers are Excellent but we Love ours Mrs. Geis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

Love this school. We have had our 2 kids here at Bay Farm over 9 + years and is still loving it! The teachers (including PE and Music) are just incredible! The parents are VERY helpful and our principal is just incredible:) This school is growing better and better! We HIGHLY recommend sending your kids here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

My kids have gone through Kindergarten to 5th grade here. I couldn't be happier with the quality of the teachers. High parental involvement and the kids are great. They have added 6th grade and will be adding 7th & 8th to round out the middle school option as well. Hopefully it will continues to be high performing through the middle school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

Our daughter is about to finish her 4th year at Bay Farm (3rd grade) & we have been extremely pleased with the school & its teachers. We often thought about moving to the East Bay for more space but kept comparing Lamorinda scores & feel the quality of education here combined with the diversity and easy lifestyle & commute can't be beat. We have opted to stay to give our son who is entering K next year the same experience. This past year Measure A was passed ensuring class sizes stay small at Bay Farm & extra-curricular activities remain extremely enriching. This is a hidden gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

Our daughter just finished kindergarten at Bay Farm and it was a wonderful year. The teachers are dynamic and caring, and the parents are involved. The mornings are like a Norman Rockwell painting as most kids live close enough to walk to school. We'll often see our daughter's friends around town as well - we really feel like we are now part of a community. Go Bay Farm!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

My sons came in behind when they started at Bay Farm School due to going from a traditional school schedule to year round schedule. Within 2 months the staff at Bay Farm had them both up to grade level in both reading and math. The 6th grade class was the best experience for my oldest. It prepared him for middle school very well. In fact many of the subjects he learned in history have actually provided the foundation for more indepth learning in honors classes now that he is a freshman. The parents and PTA are all very involved and financially support the school in a big way. This was one of the best communities we have lived in and as a military family we have lived in several places since our children have been school age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

There's a high level of achievement and parent involvement at this school. Teachers are excellent. In particular, Joni Reynolds, the 6th grade teacher, has such heart, intelligence, energy and infectious enthusiasm that she is a valuable role model not only for her students, but also for their parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Three of my children went through Bay Farm Elementary. My youngest started in the Kindergarten and is now attending fourth grade. We moved into this area so our children can attend Bay Farm Elementary. The biggest asset of the school success is its parents. The parents of the students are heavily involved in school operations and activities. The students are aware their parents are in close contacts with the teachers. My daughter wants to go to school everyday to meet her friends and to learn. If you are interested to attend bay Farm, you must move into the proper zoned neighborhoods. You will also be willing to be involved with your children's education and activities. As long as you participate in the children's activities, you will find out that Bay Farm Elementary offers academic achievements as good as any private school. It is an example of public school that works.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

This is our first year at Bay Farm and I am very pleased with my kindergarteners progress. Bay Farm teachers are not afraid to push the kids to the limits. My daughter is being challenged and she is loving it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2005

One of the best elementary schools in the bay area!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

932

Change from
2012 to 2013

-29

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

932

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-29

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females94%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learner82%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students99%
Females100%
Males97%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females89%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian84%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students97%
Females95%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability99%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only98%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females91%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian84%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females91%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students91%
Females89%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state92%

Math

All Students91%
Females89%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state92%

Science

All Students92%
Females89%
Males95%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Females83%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian76%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females72%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian81%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate78%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 41%
White 29%
Two or more races 13%
Hispanic 12%
Black 4%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/AN/A
English language learners 16%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Babs Freitas
Fax number
  • (510) 865-2194

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Aughinbaugh Way
Alameda, CA 94502
Phone: (510) 748-4010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Peter Pan Academy
Alameda, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT