Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Nea Community Learning Center is a tuition-free public charter school that provides a child-centered and empowering educational experience for over 500 learners in grades K - 12. Founded in 2009, Nea emphasizes experiential learning with a project-based curriculum, a focus on the arts, multi-age collaboration and mentorship, technology immersion, and a democratic governance model that encourages community participation from elementary through high school. Nea also offers a Career and Technical Education (CTE) program, with high school and college credit given in Industrial Technology, Business Services & Technology, and Health & Services. Nea’s graduation requirements exceed the University of California A-G requirements. Graduates must complete at least one college course, a career-oriented internship, a community-oriented senior project, and a senior portfolio.
February 23, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
67 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nea Community Learning Center School
no rating

Posted February 23, 2016
- a school leader
Nea Community Learning Center is a tuition-free public charter school that provides a child-centered and empowering educational experience for over 500 learners in grades K - 12. Founded in 2009, Nea emphasizes experiential learning with a project-based curriculum, a focus on the arts, multi-age collaboration and mentorship, technology immersion, and a democratic governance model that encourages community participation from elementary through high school. Nea also offers a Career and Technical Education (CTE) program, with high school and college credit given in Industrial Technology, Business Services & Technology, and Health & Services. Nea’s graduation requirements exceed the University of California A-G requirements. Graduates must complete at least one college course, a career-oriented internship, a community-oriented senior project, and a senior portfolio.

Nea Community Learning Center School 5

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
We arrived at Nea from a very traditional school and couldn't be happier. My kids are thriving and challenged, and feel that they have some control over what happens at school. The teachers and administrators have been incredibly supportive, and you can tell that they are committed to providing an excellent education that works for all types of learners. There are some definite difference between the way things feel at the upper and lower schools, and I think that the reviews reflect this. The lower school (K-5) is fabulous, and I think the upper school is really working to improve.


Nea Community Learning Center School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
There is no evidence to support that homework before 5th grade has any impact on academic performance. Time spent in play, music, sports, etc., HAS been shown to have an impact at this age. I love that this school looks at what works, and is not afraid to implement what really makes sense, regardless of the standard practice.

Nea Community Learning Center School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
Students learn to respect other learners in a diverse community. They also learn to respect themselves and their school community through the CCC and small group learning.

Nea Community Learning Center School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
The school constantly reinforces the 9 Nea principles, and has a strong social - emotional learning component. Kids feel empowered to speak up and suggest changes.


Nea Community Learning Center School 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
My daughter had a fabulous year at Nea! I highly recommend Nea for its innovative Project Based Learning curriculum and its bright, hard working, loving staff. My daughter feels safe and happy at Nea and her confidence has grown under the thoughtful direction of her teachers. Each classroom has its own website that the teachers meticulously update each week making communication is easy and welcomed. Another benefit is that Nea is a small school. Not only do my daughter's teachers know and support her but the entire staff look out for her, as they do with each student. If you are interested in a warm, loving environment with cutting edge curriculum taught by highly skilled teachers, Nea is the place for you.

Nea Community Learning Center School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
The Nea 9 principles (one studied each month of the school year) gives students the character lessons needed for real life.

Nea Community Learning Center School 5

Posted June 12, 2015
- a community member
My family and I moved up to Alameda three years ago. I'm was happy to find Nea for a few reasons. I have found that the Nea staff is dedicated to their students. They go above and beyond to provide the best learning experiences for their students. Secondly, I've observed the skills of the teachers that have made me confidence that my child is receiving instruction from teachers that are truly gifted at facilitating learning. Last, the administrative staff is cohesive, and they work seamlessly towards providing support to the teachers, students, and the families of the Nea community. I highly recommend Nea to anyone who cares about their child's education!


Nea Community Learning Center School 2

Posted June 07, 2015
- a parent
We are a CG family and figured we'd give this school a try since the one my kids are zoned for had less than stellar ratings. From day one, we noticed how unorganized the school is. From the classes to the office, everything is just chaotic. The turnover rate for teachers is ridiculously high. Bullying has been a huge issue and the school's lack of response or care is less than impressive. Having a child with special needs and an IEP, we also struggled with maintaining the standards of his IEP. He went through Paras like people change socks. One of the Paras even went as far as to curse at and belittle my child. Even though the teacher was aware of tension between my son and the Para, she self admittedly did nothing to see why. The campus is completely open to the public with a big gate that says it's supposed to be locked during the day is never closed. There have been numerous lock downs for a variety of reasons. I am not the only family who has had issues and am also not the only family who will not be returning next year. As much as we wanted to like it, that just didn't happen.

Nea Community Learning Center School 1

Posted June 01, 2015
- a community member
This is my third year at NEA. The time that I have spent enrolled in this school has been very disappointing. The current facilitators aren't horrible, but they also aren't great. A few of them are very unprofessional and get away with it. That won't be a problem though for anyone who hasn't enrolled yet that is planning to because most of the facilitators will most likely be fired or just leave due to whatever lead to their decision making. This school lacks communication and in my opinion does not meet their standards that they claim to have for us learners. One of the many bad experiences I've had at Nea is when I was being bullied in tree and wrote the person up for JC (a process in which "The learner-run peer disciplinary council meets weekly to consider issues related to infringement of rules outlined in the Nea planner") but instead of the situation being taken care of and resolved, the whole thing was forgotten. Sadly, as far as I know I am graduating from this place that is surprisingly still a school. Honestly very ashamed of that in every way. If you're a parent and are looking for an actual high school for your child, I advise you to not get your child stuck in this place. Of course every parent and child is in different need, and I respect that, but as for me and probably others, being here for as long as I have has only ruined my academic career.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nea Community Learning Center School
1900 Third Street, Alameda, CA  94501
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. (510) 748-4008
Last modified Nea Community Learning Center School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top