Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Saint Joseph Notre Dame High School

Private | 9-12 | 429 students

Our school is best known for its strong college prep, student life and sports.
 
 

 
 

Living in Alameda

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $470,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,480.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 20, 2014

Freshmen year, it was the best education I had throughout my high school year! After that the whole education gone down hill. The teachers are biased towards "smart" well known students, and pay little no attention to students who try so hard to achieve to go honors and ap classes. They were highly biased and they added additional meeting and course to prep them for SAT Score. They won't help students who NEEDED help. I know all the "smart" students dread going to the meeting, unlike me I always wanted be there to learn more and improve my skills. I kill to get that additional help to improve my scores, ect.I've worked hard to get into honors & ap classes. Overall, they denied my request getting into honors class because of my "'grades", whereas I got straight A's. When they added placement test for honors class it screwed me over big time. I hadlittle to no information to study for, &the test was so unfair. Another thing is, all the good teachers are retired or got fired. New teachers are inexperience and unfairly don't give a dam about the students. I'm glad that I graduated from the horrible school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2014

My son has attended SJND since 9th grade, he is now a senior. We have had lots of ups with the school but unfortunately some downs. Most teachers are well seasoned and wonderful, yet others are new and are not the best at handling all students but honestly that is to be expected. The counselors very very good. The recently hired college counselor is young and definitely needs experience but she too will probably be fine over time. I was personally pretty disappointed in her (lack of) assistance with our college prep. With that said, no one could ever in a million years touch the disappointment that i experienced with Don Lippi, the varsity basketball coach. I will not go into details but folks, if you are looking for a good basketball program for your son, SJND is not the place to go until Lippi is gone. This program is not what it used to be and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Lippi needs to retire, as his coaching style is dated and the boys are not having fun. He will degrade your son if he is not up to par and he will do it in front of others. Tread lightly as you've been warned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2013

SJND is the best thing that has ever happened to me. The environment is perfect full of happy and caring people. Granted there are a few clicks but they aren't hostile and everyone is accepted regardless of background. One of SJND's strongest attribute is its strong teaching staff. After four years, I have never had a bad teacher and countless great teachers. The work is challenging but it is what you would expect. The Athletics at SJND are fantastic. They may not have a home field or track but the gym is one the best in the area and the teams use fields/tracks make due. Sport teams (from basket ball to tennis) all get good recognition and support from the student body. I would say SJND is the place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2013

SJND is a gem of a school. Good kids, by and large; faculty is responsive when concerns are voiced, academics are solid; sports are fun and challenging. My kids are happy there. The homework level is high, especially "summer work." The kids need the summers to recharge, not prepare for AP classes - some of the work was understandable, but some was busy-work and unnecessary. That is the only serious complaint. Students at other schools also have summer assignments, but SJND's seem to be more voluminous. All said, though, very happy with the education my kids are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2013

What a wonderful school and environment! I note that only one person has rated this less than 5 stars, and that person obviously didn't go to this school, or he or she would have learned proper diction. I suggest that writer research the difference between "too" and "to". I presume they teach that at Bishop O'Dowd and Head Royce "too".


Posted September 1, 2011

SJND High School is a smaller high school with all of the bells and whistles that a bigger high school has (ie, sports, drama, music, clubs, high acdemic standards as well as support for students who have some learning challenges. My daughter made a good transition from middle school. This was possible due to the strong adminstrative and faculty team. They get to know the students and challenge them to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2010

SJND is an excellent school. I am a sophomore there, and am in 2 honors classes, and 1 advanced. Both the honors classes and the regular classes are challenging, without being overwhelming. The teachers are supportive, and make extra time for students who need help. There's a broad range of extracurriculars, from sports to clubs to the arts. I am a member of a variety of clubs, and perform in the plays and musicals whenever the opportunity arises. There are trips outside of the state offered by many clubs, and there are yearly trips to locations such as Costa Rica and Spain. I have been on one such trip, a historical tour through the American South focused on the Civil Rights Movement. I recommend this school to any student serious about their academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2010

This school is great. My kids have received incredible support from the staff, faculty and students, both academically and in extracurricular activities. The college prep curriculum is engaging and interesting. The school's small size is a plus, giving the school a feeling of community that you can't get in larger, High School Musical-sized schools. This is a school where your child will be known and greeted by name and will know that they are individually valued as a person, not just a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

Saint Joseph Notre Dame High School in Alameda is a small, college prep school with a supportive counseling program and a lovely campus. Honors and AP courses are available. My son and daughter have thrived at the school, which in addition to its fine academics, offers participation in sports teams, clubs, musicals and theater. Students are assigned a counselor in their freshman year, and retain that counselor throughout their high school years. Students with special needs/learning differences benefit from the services of the special-needs counselor. The school is inclusive and supportive, which is especially beneficial to students with learning differences. The school's relatively small size creates a community where students are known by name by the faculty and staff, and receive a rigorous education as well as being individually supported in determining and achieving their goals. SJND advocates social responsibility and requires its students to serve the community. There are yearly class service projects at various charitable organizations. Juniors and seniors also perform individual charitable service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

this school is to small, no chance for kids to go out and meet new people, in small environment. it is constantly trying to compete and be better then the other schools in the area such as Bishop O' Dowd, Head Royce, and many others. The education is not there and the caliber is completely different.


Posted March 17, 2010

I am very satisfied with the caliber of teachers, counselors, and students at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

I have a 10th grade son currently at SJND. The teachers are excellent and the new science facility is fantastic. The education provides a strong balance of rigor, opportunities for critical thinking and discussion, and interest geared to adolescents. The small school atmosphere reduces the feeling of cliques. The sports program offers opportunites for students to participate and play. The spiritual part of the school opens the students minds to questions of morality and appreciation of different points of view. The education my son is recieving is definately college preparatory, however the teachers are very willing to help students who struggle in one or more classes. There are counselors who get to know the students and advise them based on their interests and abilities. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

I graduated from St. Joseph Notre Dame High in 2006 and this school taught me values, community service, time management, top of the line education, and teacher and counselor support which undoubtedly contributed to how well prepared I was for college life, academically, personally, and socially. I am absolutely amazed by how much the campus has changed and grown since I graduated! This school provides academic and personal support that develop well prepared individuals!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

My child was happy to stay on at the campus and was thrilled to make the team her freshman year. That is not a common phenomenum at larger schools in the area. It gave her a sense of belonging her first year that I think has kept her on the right track. The shcool's capital campaign is in full swing with a new music center near completion, and an expansion of the gym and science labs coming next. Community support is tremendous, and the value is remarkingly worthwhile, unless you need a football team, that is.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 31% 26%
Hispanic 22% 52%
Black 18% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 13% 1%
Asian or Pacific Islander 9% 11%
Two or more races 7% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public middle schools
Catholic and private grade schools
Charter and independent schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 12% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 87% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Public California universities
Private colleges, universities
Catholic universities
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Simon Chiu
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
  • WASC
Fax number
  • (510) 523-2181

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • African American Student Assoc
  • Anime club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Environmental Awareness
  • Game club
  • Hiking Club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • "What matters is what we take away from our time here. Take away a wise teacher's advice. Take away moments of peace and clarity. Take away moments when you swore you couldn't love your teammates and friends more." SJND graduate Regina Hurley '12 While they are at SJND, students contribute leadership, creativity and ideas to the campus. When they graduate, they take away knowledge and skills, a strong commitment to learning and the desire to do more--in college, in a career and in the community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public middle schools
Catholic and private grade schools
Charter and independent schools

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Public California universities
Private colleges, universities
Catholic universities
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 12%
4 year college - 87%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1011 Chestnut Street
Alameda, CA 94501
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 523-1526

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT