Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Albany, CA
Students enrolled: 1,200

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Albany High School 4

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
PE Classes. Thats my concern at this school. How are the students graded? What criteria is involved to measure student participation? Attendance? On time? Dress Code? Miles? What about students with disabilities - do they get PE waivers? If not, how are special needs students treated in these classes? Fairly? I am afraid, Not. One of the PE teachers doesn't even care about posting grades and upcoming activities on Aeries. How is it possible for the parents to monitor the performance of their child in PE with no such communication from their PE teacher? Other than leaving things on trust on this teacher, there is no way for the parents to find out whether their child finished the fitness mile in the allocated time or not. If this is the participation class, shouldn't it suffice that the child actually ran the mile? Why is it that this particular PE teacher fails those who take longer in finishing the mile? Neither she knows how to motivate students with sportsman spirit, nor is she fair in her grading. With no clear parameters for grading in place, it's only evident that she uses a lot of subjectivity and judgement in her grading. Sadly disappointed.

Albany High School 4

Posted May 04, 2013
- a student
Albany High is a great school. Most students here are very accepting and unique. Albany High is the ranked #6 in the top winning schools int the Bay Area. As for the academic side, it can very with challenging and easy material, it really depends on which teacher you get. Some teachers like for class discussions, and less homework and notes, and others favor a lot of notes and homework. Albany has a lot of different classes, which I really like. I feel the school does a great job on preparing students for standardized testing. The school could improve the way they assign classes. For example they could cater to the way the student learns instead of just giving them the next open class. The school can put a lot of pressure on students at times. The counselors are very nice and will work with a student to help him or her reach their academic goal


Albany High School 3

Posted April 08, 2013
- a student
I am a current senior at AHS. It's a challenging school if the student is actively seeking challenges. It's easy to not reach your full potential if you're not motivated and driven. A large portion of the students are that AP/college-obsessed stereotype (although there is a lot of creativity, it's not usually shown during school hours). The school caters to that. The environment isn't very community-based, even with the small-ish student body. Ex: students couldn't care less about pep rallies. I feel that this could be improved with more assemblies and things of that nature. Many classes are very standards-based, but some teachers do choose to veer from them and this can either make their classes engaging or make you lose motivation. Some of the classes that rigidly stick to the standards can be monotonous and tiring. It's a mixed bag. Extracurriculars are super fun if you choose to be involved--I know many people in Y&G, for example, and they are very passionate about it. Choir is glorious. Ms. Stocker is incredibly dedicated to building a strong vocal program and it shows not only in the quality of performance, but in the students' enthusiasm. Over all, the school's aight.

Albany High School 5

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
It' s a great school. Lots of discipline and academically driven environment. The Head Principal and the Teachers are great. They take a lot of interest in students success. The staff is always nice and helpful. The place is clean and well maintained. There are less issues in this school as compared to others in the region. The only drawback is one of the vice principals who appears to be in clear need of some professional training in disciplining students with dignity.

Albany High School 3

Posted October 24, 2012
- a parent
I had 2 kids graduated from this school. First child is very academically driven, the second child is not, but is popular and loves sports. I feel the culture of this school is mainly tailored to kids who are on academic track, who are motivated, but the school knows little about how to guide and motivate kids who are not. The teachers and counselors were very nice to my first child who already gets straight A's, but was totally rude and sometimes ignored my second child who didn't do so well in school. A great school needs to recognize the needs of every student, and this school seems to only do well with straight A students.


Albany High School 5

Posted December 17, 2011
- a parent
Best high school in the East Bay. Science, math, technology, engineering, and music are all fantastic in this truly exceptional public school. The students and teachers are largely determined to succeed.
2 people found this helpful

Albany High School 2

Posted August 30, 2011
- a community member
I think that this school has great academic programs, but honestly that's not all there is to a school is it? I can tell you firsthand that this school is very, very, very cliquely. You rarely see people hanging out with people other than their designated group of friends, which gets quite tedious. If you like that sort of thing, than go for it. But if you're like me and you like to branch out and meet more people, then this is not the school to choose. I'm trying everything I can to convince my parents to let me get out of here.

Albany High School 0
no rating

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
Great college prep school. Mr. Barone is a marvelous principal!
1 person found this helpful


Albany High School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I loved AHS because it had the best teachers and the best people as students. While I graduated a long time ago, I still hear nothing but praise for the staff and students.

Albany High School 0
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a student
I love albany high because you can feel safe and i feel like it has a really good learning environment and the teachers are great!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Albany High School
603 Key Route Boulevard, Albany, CA  94706
(510) 558-2500
Last modified Albany High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Albany High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top