Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Albany, CA
Students enrolled: 562
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
Great school with caring teachers and staff. The principal has always been very responsive to issues related to our son. The school does a great job at conflict mediation, though lacks resources for proper yard supervision. Cornell has a strong community due in part to regularly planed community building events. Class size could be a little smaller and while the school has done a great job at offering extracurricular programs on campus, school/donation-based enrichment programs are at risk of being cut and quality of programs by outside organizations is not always great. But, a good option. Big plus: this is a very LGBT-friendly school with a solid LGBT parents group. Kudos.

Cornell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
Cornell is a neighborhood, community, public school where kids and family come together from the walking school bus, school garden planted and harvested by students/families and fund and fun raising events. Many of the families at the school are also local business owners that support the school and community. The principal is 120% committed to the students and the PTA has helped cover the gaps left by the state edu budget crisis. I see more and more families who have moved to Albany from San Francisco, Berkeley and around the world to be part of this high functioning public school.


Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a community member
The time, energy, and heart that the staff consistently provides their students and families makes Cornell incomparable

Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
The community involvement and the dedication of the teachers and staff.


Cornell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and strong curriculum. A wonderful bunch of students.

Cornell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Cornell is a wonderful school with a warm and welcoming community. The parents really work with the teachers and vice versa. We have an excellent principal and a very strong, committed staff. I am so happy my child attends Cornell school.

Cornell Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Cornell elementary school was recommended to us by friends in Israel, and was the reason we decided to live in Albany. The school welcomed us into its community, and within weeks we had wonderful friends of all ages. The school s ESL program made our children s transition enjoyable, the curriculum was rich and the teachers were more committed than we had ever experienced before. Above all, the prevailing spirit of multicultural acceptance was awe inspiring. We spent three wonderful years at the Cornell school before returning to Israel. Please excuse my sentimentality, but for me the great promise of the American constitution is manifested in this school, which is as a great source of inspiration in our troubled land.


Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
Cornell has a unique atmosphere which completely bewitched us when we had the pleasure of sending our kids there. The ability of the staff to provide the kids with a great education, even if they are non-native speakers (as mine were) is truly estounding. We met some incredible teachers whose devotion enriched our lives in lots of different ways. What a great school!

Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
Cornell school is made up of not only hard working students, but hard working teachers as well.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cornell Elementary School
920 Talbot Avenue, Albany, CA  94706
(510) 558-3700
Last modified Cornell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cornell Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top