Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2015
- a community member
We really like the school. My son is on special class. The teacher and staffs are very good!

Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
Great school with caring teachers and staff. The principal has always been very responsive to issues related to our son. The school does a great job at conflict mediation, though lacks resources for proper yard supervision. Cornell has a strong community due in part to regularly planed community building events. Class size could be a little smaller and while the school has done a great job at offering extracurricular programs on campus, school/donation-based enrichment programs are at risk of being cut and quality of programs by outside organizations is not always great. But, a good option. Big plus: this is a very LGBT-friendly school with a solid LGBT parents group. Kudos.


Cornell Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
Cornell is a neighborhood, community, public school where kids and family come together from the walking school bus, school garden planted and harvested by students/families and fund and fun raising events. Many of the families at the school are also local business owners that support the school and community. The principal is 120% committed to the students and the PTA has helped cover the gaps left by the state edu budget crisis. I see more and more families who have moved to Albany from San Francisco, Berkeley and around the world to be part of this high functioning public school.

Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a community member
The time, energy, and heart that the staff consistently provides their students and families makes Cornell incomparable

Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
The community involvement and the dedication of the teachers and staff.


Cornell Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and strong curriculum. A wonderful bunch of students.

Cornell Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Cornell is a wonderful school with a warm and welcoming community. The parents really work with the teachers and vice versa. We have an excellent principal and a very strong, committed staff. I am so happy my child attends Cornell school.

Cornell Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
Cornell elementary school was recommended to us by friends in Israel, and was the reason we decided to live in Albany. The school welcomed us into its community, and within weeks we had wonderful friends of all ages. The school s ESL program made our children s transition enjoyable, the curriculum was rich and the teachers were more committed than we had ever experienced before. Above all, the prevailing spirit of multicultural acceptance was awe inspiring. We spent three wonderful years at the Cornell school before returning to Israel. Please excuse my sentimentality, but for me the great promise of the American constitution is manifested in this school, which is as a great source of inspiration in our troubled land.


Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
Cornell has a unique atmosphere which completely bewitched us when we had the pleasure of sending our kids there. The ability of the staff to provide the kids with a great education, even if they are non-native speakers (as mine were) is truly estounding. We met some incredible teachers whose devotion enriched our lives in lots of different ways. What a great school!

Cornell Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
Cornell school is made up of not only hard working students, but hard working teachers as well.

Nearby schools

Cornell Elementary School
920 Talbot Avenue, Albany, CA  94706-2020
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (510) 558-3700
Last modified Cornell Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top