Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Alhambra, CA
Students enrolled: 2,892

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alhambra High School 3

Posted November 20, 2012
- a parent
All this years at Alhambra School Distric, the only thing that I dont really understand , is.. that many other good school districs their priority is their student's well being ; here at alhambra distric is just how much money they get for each student everyday. While the other schools are in vacations for the holidays,,here they wait until the last day to let them go. I understand about the (deficit) but is like putting minors to work in order to cover all the expenses of the distric..... Makes me sad; and the math teachers...well is better to leave it for later.

Alhambra High School 4

Posted October 06, 2012
- a community member
I personally do not favor this school, but at lease it's well enough. There are many different groups within the school so even when there are bad activities happening in the school as long as you know what type of people you're hanging out with then it's fine. I don't quite like some of the students there, because some groups have a "spot" they eat or hang out at. If you go there, they'll literary throw you out and these are the students I don't favor in the school. Other than that it's a wonderful school! Alhambra has many classes to take, different types of clubs for you the join, and of course, the library is right across the school!


Alhambra High School 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a community member
The school's culture is unique and spirited, and there are numerous areas to engage students' interests. The administrative team works well to maintain order and the teaching staff maintains high standards, overall. There's so much to be a part of--academic clubs, service clubs, sports, etc. Easy to connect! For the most part, the students seem generally happy on this campus and afford each other respect. I'm not sure what the other review was referring to with all of the "criminal" activity?? Sure, there are some students who are disconnected from learning, but it's a small percentage that cause any problems and administration deals with that sort of stuff swiftly. It's a very safe environment and the community wants to keep it that way. There's a beautiful city library directly across the street, as well as City Hall. The school's library is also huge! Although AHS is a pretty large school, it's a great school to be at and I'm proud to be part of the Moor family! The majority of students want to go here and some even work hard to get a permit--that says a lot. On a side note, AHS is also next to Main Street and there are a lot of places to eat and do other other activities!

Alhambra High School 5

Posted April 13, 2011
- a student
There is no such thing drug and gang activity in campus. That does not make sense at all. Police station is right next to the school. Teacher is good. Academic performance is up to an individual. Teacher cannot make you to learn or to do anything.

Alhambra High School 1

Posted October 24, 2010
- a community member
I attended for two years and left immediately after. There is a lot of drug and gang activity within the school and is not a safe environment. With the exception of a few teachers, the academics are terrible and most teachers could care less about their students' futures. I'm glad I left when I did.
2 people found this helpful


Alhambra High School 5

Posted November 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Alhambra High School 5

Posted November 10, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Alhambra High School 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Alhambra High School 5

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Alhambra High School 2

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alhambra High School
101 South Second Street, Alhambra, CA  91801
(626) 943-6910
Last modified Alhambra High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alhambra High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top