Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alhambra High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 13, 2016
- a student
Just a few rare teachers who actually try their best and somehow make learning fun. It's easier to learn when the teacher doesn't insult you.

Alhambra High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 13, 2016
- a student
They are effective with getting the students irritated or getting the students to engage. There's usually no inbetween.


Alhambra High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 13, 2016
- a student
Some regular teachers treat their class like ap classes and some ap teachers rarely treat their classes like regular classes.

Alhambra High School 1

Posted July 13, 2016
- a student
This school would be better recommended as a prison with terrible staff and food that's is actually worse than prison cuisine. In my first year in Alhambra, I was sick some time in the beginning of the year. I often got up to get some tissues to blow my nose. However blowing my nose was enough to claim it was probable cause for 'disturbing the class from learning'. My teacher called my home for such crimes, and my parents were livid. When I calmed them and explained the situation, my parents went to talk to the principal; however it was afterschool and the principal was not there. As a result, my dad filed a complaint to the office. They never did anything to solve the problem. No action was taken. Afterwords there were other instances such as in my junior year where the attendance staff for my school forgot to get me out of class for a dmv appointment, so I was incredibly late. They also didn't excuse it which caused my grade to drop by 2 letters because I wasn't in the class. All in all, most of the teachers and staff members I've been squinted with were horrible but there were some that were actually there to assist me with my education.

Alhambra High School 3

Posted November 20, 2012
- a parent
All this years at Alhambra School Distric, the only thing that I dont really understand , is.. that many other good school districs their priority is their student's well being ; here at alhambra distric is just how much money they get for each student everyday. While the other schools are in vacations for the holidays,,here they wait until the last day to let them go. I understand about the (deficit) but is like putting minors to work in order to cover all the expenses of the distric..... Makes me sad; and the math teachers...well is better to leave it for later.


Alhambra High School 4

Posted October 06, 2012
- a community member
I personally do not favor this school, but at lease it's well enough. There are many different groups within the school so even when there are bad activities happening in the school as long as you know what type of people you're hanging out with then it's fine. I don't quite like some of the students there, because some groups have a "spot" they eat or hang out at. If you go there, they'll literary throw you out and these are the students I don't favor in the school. Other than that it's a wonderful school! Alhambra has many classes to take, different types of clubs for you the join, and of course, the library is right across the school!

Alhambra High School 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a community member
The school's culture is unique and spirited, and there are numerous areas to engage students' interests. The administrative team works well to maintain order and the teaching staff maintains high standards, overall. There's so much to be a part of--academic clubs, service clubs, sports, etc. Easy to connect! For the most part, the students seem generally happy on this campus and afford each other respect. I'm not sure what the other review was referring to with all of the "criminal" activity?? Sure, there are some students who are disconnected from learning, but it's a small percentage that cause any problems and administration deals with that sort of stuff swiftly. It's a very safe environment and the community wants to keep it that way. There's a beautiful city library directly across the street, as well as City Hall. The school's library is also huge! Although AHS is a pretty large school, it's a great school to be at and I'm proud to be part of the Moor family! The majority of students want to go here and some even work hard to get a permit--that says a lot. On a side note, AHS is also next to Main Street and there are a lot of places to eat and do other other activities!

Alhambra High School 5

Posted April 13, 2011
- a student
There is no such thing drug and gang activity in campus. That does not make sense at all. Police station is right next to the school. Teacher is good. Academic performance is up to an individual. Teacher cannot make you to learn or to do anything.


Alhambra High School 1

Posted October 24, 2010
- a community member
I attended for two years and left immediately after. There is a lot of drug and gang activity within the school and is not a safe environment. With the exception of a few teachers, the academics are terrible and most teachers could care less about their students' futures. I'm glad I left when I did.

Alhambra High School 5

Posted April 21, 2009
- a student
i attended all 4 years. its the best school ever got to travel to europe with my econ teacher. great school in all areas academic, sports etc.Both my counselors I had throughout my 4 years were a great help and my parents were able to establish communication at any given time if they needed to speak with them. Teachers and counselors helped me out a lot. My last year i attended AHS i was not living where i lived for the past 6 years and moved out to San Bernandino,but because i love this school a lot and has a good level state wide i decided i would drive from San Bernandino to Alhambra everyday.So i woke up at 4 left house at 5 and got just in time for my zero period (AVID) and then got home at 10pm after soccer practice or games or track and field.

Nearby schools

Alhambra High School
101 South Second Street, Alhambra, CA  91801-3716
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (626) 943-6910
Last modified Alhambra High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top