Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Aliso Viejo, CA
Students enrolled: 760
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 84 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


90 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Mary's School 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
This is a school for SAHM that have a full time job in managing image . It is my sincere wish with the recent changes (or firings) , more Christian values and heart are invested in promoting an accepting Christian community. I respect other comments about their experience with admissions and getting introduced/welcomed to the community. We had a start contrast compared to those families. I understand the strategy was to cater to high income families, I wish I had know this before signing up my children into lower school, we are middle to upper- middle class christian non pretentious family. Although we can afford this school comfortably, we left in spite of the good academics, beautiful campus, good teachers. It is not the environment and values I want to raise my children, they are now in a good cost effective private christian school, and I now see how much Christian values were left behind at St Mary s . This is a beautiful campus and I think they mean well, but they need to figure out what they want to be: 1) school for the rich and wanna be famous, or 2) Good ol' American middle to upper middle class families with Christian Values?

St. Mary's School 1

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
Many families left not only because of the constantly increasing tuitions but the low academics. We had high expectations coming from another private school but were quickly disappointed /disillusioned.. No personal attention to kids in difficulties despite low teacher-students. No personal feedbacks other than the routine teacher meetings at the end of the semester. Unacceptable excuses like "teacher is coaching sports" therefore not available for over 2 months for after school tutoring!! Thank god we realized our kid's level when compared to public schools and took action. Very little return for all high expectations of the "only IB program of OC"...Yes, nice campus but who cares when there is little substance behind? Constant fund raising process!! Perhaps this "business" approach explains why the head of the school was fired this year? Finally our child was bullied all year long and despite multiple complaints not much progress was made. They were not aware nor cared when informed. The amount of "foul language" and inappropriate words with " sexual contents" learned during this year at SMMC deserves a 4 stars rating for the school! Great job of teaching kids Christian values!


St. Mary's School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
We chose St. Mary's over two of the best NB priv schools and have been so happy with our decision. Our child is at the end of her kindergarten year and it's unbelievable to see her growth both academically and socially. Her teachers are passionate and transparent, involving us regularly with regards to her learning/social development. St. Mary's checks all the boxes: Small class size...check! Art, music, science, spanish, STEM, PE...check! Christian enrichment, service learning, focus on values kindness, helping others/the earth...check! Global perspective, IB curriculum...check! Our child had severe separation anxiety entering kinder and it lasted all of one week! Now she LOVES her school and has gained so much confidence. I disagree with the reviews that the school is materialistic and exclusive. We are not "wealthy" but in fact make sacrifices to send our daughter here, and we have NEVER felt out of place or excluded. Just the opposite. One of the things I love about SMAA is the sense of community...that it's not just a "drop off" school...that you walk your kids in and get to know their friend's parents. The best gift you can give your child is a good education.

St. Mary's School 5

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
We came from another private school, Harbor Day to be exact, and this school has been a dream come true. Everything my children so badly needed; a diverse and multi-cultural demographic, an enriching curriculum which didn't bore them to tears with mundane repetition, and happiness.....that key word that makes us parents do anything for our children.....it all has happened here at St. Mary's. The IB program is multi-faceted and allows children to be exposed and take interest in real life issues while learning all about prepositions, math facts, and composition.....all critical to a great foundation. Everything you can imagine is being addressed. The enrichment classes alone were one of our main deciding factors...from football, basketball, soccer, lacrosse, cheerleading, chess, ceramics, dance, literature, language, origami, robotics, and too many instruments to mention....this school is literally like a small college campus. but the MOST amazing thing about the school for us is that they are receptive.....receptive to ideas and receptive to parent's and children's needs. Finally, a private school that listens!

St. Mary's School 5

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
We couldn t be happier with St. Mary s for our 6th grade son. I have been so impressed by the teachers. They are creative in their teaching style not just lectures, notes and a test. In addition, the teachers are available after school if students want extra 1x1 help. Finally, his report cards include several paragraphs from each teacher. The teachers know exactly who he is, how he learns and what he needs to do to reach his potential. In addition, we have been struck by how warm and welcoming the St. Mary s community is. Since he entered as a 6th grader, I expected the transition to be a little rocky, as he was leaving good friends behind at our neighborhood school. Instead, he has been extremely happy since day one. There is a pervasive sense of warmth and kindness from students, teachers, and other families. Finally, the extra-curricular activities are terrific. Our son has joined the after school sports teams. He has played sports he has played for years and tried new ones. It has been a fantastic way to get to know his class-mates, while doing something he loves. And he loves playing for his school so proud to be a Falcon.


St. Mary's School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
Our son has been attending the middle school program since the fall. We came from a public school looking for a smaller classroom experience. St. Mary's has provided more than we could have imagined. The academics are terrific - we were a tad nervous that the IB program and middle school scheduling might prove to be exhausting and overwhelming but we are watching our son thrive. His writing has improved tremendously with a very strong understanding of the fundamentals of structure and an expanded vocabulary. He is well supported in the classroom, online (fabulous interaction from home) and the teachers are very available after school daily. The teachers are passionate and there is a true dedication to each student's success that is heartwarming. Socially, St. Mary's provides a place where kindness and consideration are paramount. The after school sports programs are terrific. As a parent, it is a joy to send my son off to school everyday knowing that he is in a caring environment along with being exposed to thoughtful tools and broad knowledge that are the building blocks to a rich education that he will carry forward for a lifetime.

St. Mary's School 5

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
We rate St. Mary's as Excellent! In reading the last few reviews, I see that some parents may feel differently which is unfortunate. We've been at St. Mary's for a year and chose it because of it's IB program, it's incredible ratings & reputation and their teachers. Those factors still remain constant. As is the case in any school, there are children with behavioral issues of course. Those children are treated in a Christian way with the same love and respect all others are given. They practice the Christian morals they preach daily. Parents that make an effort to be connected certainly are connected. I received a call from a host family immediately upon entering the school and my daughter participates in all the programs the school offers as do I. We are very connected. Our communication with teachers is excellent and my child is flourishing at St. Mary's. We are also a scholarship family so money is not their only focus. We couldn't be happier at St. Mary's school and highly recommend it.

St. Mary's School 2

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
As a previous post stated, we need to give credit where it's due - our children have learned a lot! Academically, St. Mary's is a superior school. However, administration plays favorites - money talks at this school. In the last year, we've seen a lot of kids with major behavior problems get admitted because their parents money. It seems there is no longer any regard for school climate - just raising money for a build-out and high school. There is limited interaction between teachers and parents - twice a month we get a very generic grade specific email stating 3 things they did in school that week. Otherwise, there is no sense of community or any feeling that our teachers have any sense of who our children are at heart. In fact, one teacher has done nothing in regard to the bullying she knows is going on in her class. Do your research-they are selling Disneyland, but in reality it's more like Stepford. At the end of the day, it's all about money, which is terribly disheartening to see in a so-called "Christian" school. It's a very materialistic place - surely not what Father Sillers had in mind when he started the school - they've really lost sight of Christian values....


St. Mary's School 1

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
As the other posted stated, asking about a private jet and yacht have no place in regards to a school application!! If your vision is for elitism with no substance, this might be your place. Adults are competitive and it makes me sad that that's what is being taught to children...People aren't serving the right God. Materialism prevails as usual. This school is aimed at money, just like many of the parents... It's sad that even parents are so insecure that they have to compete even when they are grown.

St. Mary's School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
We have been at St. Mary's for three years and are very happy with the education and environment. Our kids look forward to going to school each day and are have smiles on their faces when they come home. The sense of community is strong and the IB curriculum is outstanding. Our teachers have been approachable and really care about the development of the children. They only complaint is the rapid rise of tuition. We want our kids to have the best education possible and hope we can continue going to this wonderful school. It would be sad to see a lot of good families leave due to the increasing tuition.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Mary's School
7 Pursuit, Aliso Viejo, CA  92656
(949) 448-9027
Last modified St. Mary's School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Mary's School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 90 reviews. Top