Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Aliso Viejo Christian 2

Posted September 29, 2014
- a parent
Parent to 3 kids at AVCS.. Have to a agree with the last posting, although there are some great people, half of the parents are snotty and many work at the school as supervisors. There are many cliques with the parents and kids. Not the loving Christian environment we should all expect. Principal(s) tell you what you want to hear but are not affective. Sadly, there are teachers and principals that gossip and don't show the love of Christ. We feel stuck. Education is good some years, some years the teachers are not great and you need to do the summer program...more money. If you are looking for a Christian school first, you may want to consider another place. It's religious but not Christian.

Aliso Viejo Christian 1

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
Stay away from this school unless you are superficial, bland, fake and the sort who likes drama. This is the worst school ever. Our teacher gossiped about other families, and the other families were cliquey and non-supportive. The moms are mean. The kids have learning disabilities so if you are trying to avoid immersion in that sense, this is not the school for you. IMO, this is not the school for anyone. Furtherance, the office staff is cold -- check out the name of the head - cold = you name it. Terrible place for anyone.


Aliso Viejo Christian 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
Aliso Viejo Christian School has been the best place for my children to attend. The school's atmosphere is extremely warm and friendly! The academics have challenged my children and have prepared them well for both middle school and hight school. AVCS is more than just a school; it is a community that offers so many activities for both students and parents to enjoy. Not only do your children grow academically, but also spiritually. It is essential to train our children in the ways of the Lord so that they will not depart from it, and AVCS provides a place where children can freely grow in their relationship with Jesus Christ. I am so proud to say that my children attend/ have attended AVCS! Way to go Conquerors!!!

Aliso Viejo Christian 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
We are so blessed to be at this school and part of the AVCS community! It has been the most incredible year for my kids - these teachers have inspired, encouraged, and supported them on so much more than just an academic level. The math program is fantastic and challenging, and all of the "extras" like having a real PE coach, music teacher, drama teacher, computer teacher, and all the hands on science have been wonderful additions that we were missing in public school. We have been at two different public schools and have had the same issues with both - burnt out teachers and staff, too many kids in the classrooms, and a lot of the fun being cut out. School is about more than math and language arts, and you see that here at AVCS. Everyone is always smiling - from the office staff to the principal and teachers - you never feel like they are too rushed to talk to you. From day 1 we have felt welcomed into this community and my kids have made the most amazing friends. This is truly what school is all about.

Aliso Viejo Christian 5

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
AVCS is a great school. We are very happy overall. The school is solid in academics and teach good values and morals. Parents are very involved, but have no pressure to.


Aliso Viejo Christian 5

Posted July 12, 2013
- a parent
My children have thrived especially with advanced math & having full day kindergarten is great for kids who are already reading from preschool. It is a small school but has many sports & a great after school program. We love our school!

Aliso Viejo Christian 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
My two children have been going to the school for two years now. I moved my children from public school ( which was the best academic decision). In comparison to the local public schools and more prestigious private schools, AVCS offers: smaller class sizes, higher test scores, lower tuition and smarter budgeting. There are paid individuals who monitor the children during recess and lunch. The school participates in a great lunch program that makes ordering healthy food easy. Every grade has the opportunity to go on multiple field trips, including trips that are multiple days and out-of-state. The staff is tremendously friendly and warm. The principal and vice-principal take their time to speak and listen to everyone. The school provides individual assistance for children who may be behind and individual assistance for children who are ahead. The school genuinely is concerned for every need of every child. I have a strong background in psychology and find this school practices some of the most advanced learning techniques that are supported in recent journal studies. Additionally, the calm loving environment, facilitates advanced learning, security and emotional balance.

Aliso Viejo Christian 1

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
The pros for this school is the child to teacher ratio. From K to 4th grade, the teachers are good. They need to get rid of the current Bible middle school teacerh who is teaching her beliefs that are not christian based and all the kids dislike her. The principal and vice principal are not doing a good job of listening to the children instead they listen to the parents who work at the school for discounted tutition and who are prejudice. They act first and give out punsihment then get the facts later. And then they NEVER lett let the child or parent know that thye have been cleared of the wrong doing. They instill gossip and shunning by the children in middle school -- therefore there is bullying to the max at this school. My child has been here since K and she cannot wait to leave this year. Please be smart and RUN from this school. Save your money, the public schools in this have much more to offer!!!


Aliso Viejo Christian 2

Posted March 15, 2012
- a parent
Pros - Christ-centered Education, small environment, loving teachers, nice families. Cons - No foreign language classes until middle school while other public and private schools are adding Mandarin Chinese and French into their curriculum, picking up time is a flashback to high school again (small talk is required) since you have to get out of your car to pick up, school supervisors are made up of moms who have children currently attending this school and gets a tuition discount and gets paid for supervising, as well. Like the PP, some teachers appeared to be blatantly struggling with some subject matters. Overall, I would save the money and go to public.

Aliso Viejo Christian 2

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
We were thrilled with the caliber of teachers and the small caring environment for our child through 5th grade. However, once our son started middle school, it became very apparent to us that the school was lacking academically, and several teachers even appeared to be blatantly struggling with their subject matter. We switched our son to our local public school and were shocked to find that for $7000 less per year our son was actually getting a far superior education from teachers with ADVANCED DEGREES in their subjects. AVCS offers a great Christian education for the younger grades but an inferior education once subject matter becomes more complex. Also, the kids on the campus are somewhat unruly and discipline is not enforced. My son actually commented that poor behavior was not tolerated at his new public school as it would have been commonplace at AVCS. I was disappointed, as we always though that private school was synonymous with higher standards. Not true in this case.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aliso Viejo Christian
1 Orion, Aliso Viejo, CA  92656
(949) 389-0300
Last modified Aliso Viejo Christian is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Aliso Viejo Christian Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top