Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Don Juan Avila Elementary School 2

Posted September 22, 2015
- a parent
We were new to the school, the district, and new to the area this year. We are sadly disappointed with the school. The school does not communicate well at all. Between team teaching, indescribably awful traffic with drop off and pick up, extreme PTA pushing for $125 per family donation and other insane fundraising, and an overall horrible policy in running the school, we will not be returning next year. If we have to move to get away from this school, we will. After having a wonderful experience in Saddleback USD and even at lower rated schools out of state, our child is not liking this school very well and that's horrible because we have not had any of these issues at other schools! The school is also not very accommodating to working parents when they schedule parent teacher conferences, open houses, and back to school nights. If you work a 9 to 5 or even an 8 to 5 job in another city, there is a good chance you won't make it in time because of traffic and lack of parking at the school. And if you want to be a part of the PTA, then you better not have a job or a job with regular hours. They meet at 8 am during the week. Also, the district seems to have issues in school planning and budgeting. There are things that should have been in a school budget that the PTA is having to cover, i.e. teacher salaries for music, art, librarians, etc. This is totally unacceptable especially for the area it is located in. All in all, we are very disappointed!

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 5

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
Great school! Academics are strong. Wonderful teachers that are well trained. Kids have access to the library, science lab & computer lab. The upper grades have their own ipads in class to use. The parents highly support the school financially & socially. The children do receive a good amount of homework which most parents approve of. The classes are larger but as far as behavior problems they are very uncommon. The parents that have left the school seem to leave because their child could not keep up in class. They head for the 2 charter schools here. Quality public school education! Love DJ!


Don Juan Avila Elementary School 4

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
The principal of this school is rigid, not open to ideas and micro-manages even the way the kids play on the playground. She doesn't see the whole picture and doesn't understand real world day-to-day school function. Morning traffic was down to a science with the previous principal. Ever since she took over, 10 minutes in line and you still won't get into the parking lot. She only stands by the gate to make sure the adults have a badge to get into the school (where the badge you can obtain in the office by signing any name on the check-in book). She could've use her time effectively to manage school traffic. Put the old principal back. Majority of the kids don't like this principal and feel they can't trust her.

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
The new Principal is wonderful! She is bringing so many great changes to this school. She sets high expectations for both teachers and students. She truly knows and cares about her students. She greets each child every morning by his/her name, and she is out on the playground during lunch and recess to ensure the rules are being followed. She is available to listen and answer any questions or concerns parents may have.

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 1

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
Not a fan of the new principal. She can be rude in her email responses to parents, and I agree with the previous poster: She is rigid and autocratic and not open to suggestions. I received such bad service one day that I am considering transferring my child asap!


Don Juan Avila Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
The new principal is wonderful. She is a strong leader that has high expectations for her teachers and students. The principal is always available to listen and answer questions from parents. She works extremely hard to ensure learning is taking place every day! Both of my daughters have outstanding teachers that strive to create an environment which encourages learning. Both teachers communicate regularly with parents, challenge their students, and care about their well being.

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 1

Posted December 16, 2012
- a community member
New principal lacks rapport with the students and parents. School environment has changed drastically. There is an air of suppression. Her leadership style is rigid and autocratic and leaves little room for suggestions, a far cry from the previous leadership.

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 1

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
35+ kids in combo classes, terrible teacher quality. Look at teachers' websites, avoid this school if you can! I will definitely take my child to a better school, with less pupils in classes where she can get the education that she deserves! It's so hard to believe that there are combo classes!


Don Juan Avila Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2012
- a parent
My kid was in 4th grade in a combo class. His grades declined towards the end of the 3rd tri-semester (from O to S-), as the teacher had family problems and brought these issues into the class. Kids were observing that the teacher constantly taking the days off due to marriage problems and problems she had with her own kids. Teacher s 17 years old daughter got pregnant and her teen-aged son missed school on many occasions because he was playing in the music band. Therefore the teacher used to leave in the middle of the combo class to call here and there to sort out things. It was unbelievable that kids were observing that their own teacher was lying to her son's school and told them that her son could not make the school because he was sick. Just lying on a daily basis!. This teacher used to target the kiddos and threatened them to send them to principal s office, because she could not manage the class because of her lack of personal integrity. The Principal himself supported the teacher and never asked her to leave personal problems at home and do her job properly. Most of the helping moms could not do anything, since they knew their kiddos could be targeted by the teacher.

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
I have 2 sons that attend here, my eldest started in kindergarten and is now in 1st and I have a preschooler. My eldest was testing at the top in kindergarten has fallen behind this year due to the quality of his teacher, several of his peers from kindergarten are reading fluently and excel all around where as my son is struggling. His teacher misses A LOT of school and does not require much from the students. Many of the children in her class are struggling. The class size at this school is very high as well, all over 30 per teacher with no aides. If you have a choice I would go elsewhere. Mr Lohman is the un-involved principal, never smiles, never interacts with parents or students unless there is trouble. The drop off/pick up car line is a nightmare, anyone can cut in line or park in the teachers lots...there is no one to stop them only a teacher or two to wave cars up when the line moves. Overall, I am very disappointed with my experience here and am moving my children to a different school. The theme this year was "Maximum Output" shouldn't it be "Maximum INput" to the kids?! Also, not sure what the comment below if referring to b/c DJAE does not have 5 day "pre-k" maybe KG?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Don Juan Avila Elementary School
26278 Wood Canyon Drive, Aliso Viejo, CA  92656-8060
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (949) 349-9452
Last modified Don Juan Avila Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top