Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Aliso Viejo, CA
Students enrolled: 771

4 stars
Based on 30 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Don Juan Avila Elementary School 4

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
The principal of this school is rigid, not open to ideas and micro-manages even the way the kids play on the playground. She doesn't see the whole picture and doesn't understand real world day-to-day school function. Morning traffic was down to a science with the previous principal. Ever since she took over, 10 minutes in line and you still won't get into the parking lot. She only stands by the gate to make sure the adults have a badge to get into the school (where the badge you can obtain in the office by signing any name on the check-in book). She could've use her time effectively to manage school traffic. Put the old principal back. Majority of the kids don't like this principal and feel they can't trust her.

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a parent
The new Principal is wonderful! She is bringing so many great changes to this school. She sets high expectations for both teachers and students. She truly knows and cares about her students. She greets each child every morning by his/her name, and she is out on the playground during lunch and recess to ensure the rules are being followed. She is available to listen and answer any questions or concerns parents may have.


Don Juan Avila Elementary School 1

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
Not a fan of the new principal. She can be rude in her email responses to parents, and I agree with the previous poster: She is rigid and autocratic and not open to suggestions. I received such bad service one day that I am considering transferring my child asap!

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2013
- a parent
The new principal is wonderful. She is a strong leader that has high expectations for her teachers and students. The principal is always available to listen and answer questions from parents. She works extremely hard to ensure learning is taking place every day! Both of my daughters have outstanding teachers that strive to create an environment which encourages learning. Both teachers communicate regularly with parents, challenge their students, and care about their well being.

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 1

Posted December 16, 2012
- a community member
New principal lacks rapport with the students and parents. School environment has changed drastically. There is an air of suppression. Her leadership style is rigid and autocratic and leaves little room for suggestions, a far cry from the previous leadership.


Don Juan Avila Elementary School 1

Posted September 05, 2012
- a parent
35+ kids in combo classes, terrible teacher quality. Look at teachers' websites, avoid this school if you can! I will definitely take my child to a better school, with less pupils in classes where she can get the education that she deserves! It's so hard to believe that there are combo classes!

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2012
- a parent
My kid was in 4th grade in a combo class. His grades declined towards the end of the 3rd tri-semester (from O to S-), as the teacher had family problems and brought these issues into the class. Kids were observing that the teacher constantly taking the days off due to marriage problems and problems she had with her own kids. Teacher s 17 years old daughter got pregnant and her teen-aged son missed school on many occasions because he was playing in the music band. Therefore the teacher used to leave in the middle of the combo class to call here and there to sort out things. It was unbelievable that kids were observing that their own teacher was lying to her son's school and told them that her son could not make the school because he was sick. Just lying on a daily basis!. This teacher used to target the kiddos and threatened them to send them to principal s office, because she could not manage the class because of her lack of personal integrity. The Principal himself supported the teacher and never asked her to leave personal problems at home and do her job properly. Most of the helping moms could not do anything, since they knew their kiddos could be targeted by the teacher.

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 1

Posted June 10, 2011
- a parent
I have 2 sons that attend here, my eldest started in kindergarten and is now in 1st and I have a preschooler. My eldest was testing at the top in kindergarten has fallen behind this year due to the quality of his teacher, several of his peers from kindergarten are reading fluently and excel all around where as my son is struggling. His teacher misses A LOT of school and does not require much from the students. Many of the children in her class are struggling. The class size at this school is very high as well, all over 30 per teacher with no aides. If you have a choice I would go elsewhere. Mr Lohman is the un-involved principal, never smiles, never interacts with parents or students unless there is trouble. The drop off/pick up car line is a nightmare, anyone can cut in line or park in the teachers lots...there is no one to stop them only a teacher or two to wave cars up when the line moves. Overall, I am very disappointed with my experience here and am moving my children to a different school. The theme this year was "Maximum Output" shouldn't it be "Maximum INput" to the kids?! Also, not sure what the comment below if referring to b/c DJAE does not have 5 day "pre-k" maybe KG?


Don Juan Avila Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
My child has been attending their pre-K program for 7 months now, 5 days a week for 3 hours a day. From the very first day, she has never lost interest in going to school. Her teachers are very warm, patient, inspiring and supportive. She enjoys interacting with her classmates as well. I would say this group was a good blend of kids from 3 1/2 to 5 years old. Thank you DJAE school for having an excellent preschool program to build my child's confidence and prepare her for kindergarten. Thank you too to the parents for raising nice kids.

Don Juan Avila Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Don Juan Avila Elementary School
26278 Wood Canyon Drive, Aliso Viejo, CA  92656
(949) 349-9452
Last modified Don Juan Avila Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Don Juan Avila Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top