Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Aliso Viejo, CA
Students enrolled: 1,198
 

4 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Don Juan Avila Middle School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has attended DJAMS since her 6th grade year & as an educator, I am very impressed with the quality of instruction she is receiving. The majority of the teachers are very committed to their students progress & know how to teach the adolescent student. I am especially grateful to Mr. Dwyer, Mr. Ortiz, Mr. Neeve, Mrs. Byers, Mrs. Johnson, Mrs. Arsala, Sra. Standish, & Ms. Price because they knew how to foster & promote independence in my daughter while maintaining a watchful eye on her needs & development. As a parent it's great to hear my daughter say she's looking forward to her 8th grade year at DJAMS!

Don Juan Avila Middle School 5

Posted April 19, 2011
- a community member
its an awesome school and it is changing my daughter's life she loves it soooooooooo much take my word for it


Don Juan Avila Middle School 2

Posted March 02, 2010
- a student
the teacher and staff and principal and everything were great, but some of the teachers just assigned lots of homework and never actually taught a lesson. there are different levels of academics you could be a part of to meet your standards (such as advanced or average) and i came to this school in seventh grade and i was pleased with the other school much much much more beacause the teachers cared more and when we were in elementary and even sixth grade, the students were so much more respectful. there arent really many cliques but i oftentimes notice a lot of rumors and gossip going around so the students arent so mature. im not satisfied with this school that much and i liked my other school a lot better. i would just have to sa be careful who you make friends with and try to keep up with your teachers!

Don Juan Avila Middle School 5

Posted March 01, 2010
- a parent
DJams is a great school for my kids. They attended this school since the 6th grade. they also attended the Don juan avilla Elementary since kindagarden. they love it. They have gotten an quality education and lots of friends. the enviroment is really safe aswell

Don Juan Avila Middle School 5

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
DJams i s an awesome school. My child attends DJams for since 6th grade. She is now an 8th grader. She has been on the honor roll for about 2years now including this year. The teacher are awesome and the staff is wonderful and attentive. Djams is an very challenging school and the work is advance, but the teachers do take the time to help the child if they are falling behind. I love the clean and safe enviroment that Djams provide. Djams is an API score is 900 and as won the best scoring school in English and Math in the district. The admistrative staff and the teacher are doing a great job. My daughter really loves this school and will be sad to go at the end of the schoo year because she is going to high school. Please do not believe the bad review below.


Don Juan Avila Middle School 1

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
Teachers are more concern with their own personal issues than the students. The teachers don't instruct or even teach, they just assign homework and the parents have to do the actual teaching, 2-3 hours nightly. My child has been here for two years and I have found the teachers reject students that have parents who try and discuss issues with the teachers. They punish the student by giving poor grades and lack of direction. During meetings, teachers pass all blame on to the student and their teaching ability. This is a poor choice for educating your child and I believe that the ratings this school has received in the past are from the teachers and staff.

Don Juan Avila Middle School 5

Posted December 10, 2009
- a parent
My child has been attending DJAMS since the 6th grade. I have been amazed at how much he has learned over the past 2 1/2 years. The expectations are high, and the teachers offer the support the students need to help each student achieve.

Don Juan Avila Middle School 5

Posted December 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Don Juan Avila Middle School 1

Posted October 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Don Juan Avila Middle School 0
no rating

Posted June 15, 2009
- a parent
DJMAS is an wonderful school. From everyone in the office to the teachers. Everyone who works at this school really seems to care about the students. The office staff is always so pleasant and very helpful. You would not regreat sending your child to this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Don Juan Avila Middle School
26278 Wood Canyon Drive, Aliso Viejo, CA  92656
(949) 362-0348
Last modified Don Juan Avila Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Don Juan Avila Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top