Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Aliso Viejo, CA
Students enrolled: 273
 

4 stars
Based on 75 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


78 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Journey School 1

Posted March 05, 2015
- a parent
I was tricked into joining this school as from the surface it appears to be a wonderful place where all types of people are tolerated. When you go deeper into the curriculum you realize it is nothing like that at all. Most parents don't bother to research the founder, Rudolf Steiner, and his beliefs. First of all he was not a parent so he truly knows nothing about children. Secondly he believed that the white race is the supreme race and will slowly brainwash your child with this theory so upon graduation your child is a soldier for the Illuminati. Also, the staff and faculty are so completely brainwashed that they really have no idea as to what is being taught. Except Shaheer Faltas who is notorious in the Waldorf world for being brought to a school that is otherwise failing. His job is to resurrect the fallen financial structure of the school and then he will move on to the next one that is in trouble. Stay away from here as it is facade to get the parents who are all about natural, healthy alternatives to public schools. Parents who should and would home school are their prey.
2 people found this helpful

Journey School 2

Posted February 01, 2015
- a parent
Hello, Please take the rave reviews about this school with a grain of salt. Note how many of them were written in the same time frame (a request for positive loading perhaps?) & that less than glowing reviews don't stay on-site long. As I write this my child is requesting one star; however, since this school does have some very good teachers, that would not be fair. As noted, Ms. B is an excellent, warm, and caring instructor. Others may also claim this accolade but, please note, your experience with this school is VERY teacher specific. Get a good one & all will be well. Have difficulty with any & wish to address it - watch your back & that of your child. Additionally, the school is growing too quickly & failing to integrate its' vaunted values into the ongoing character of the school within this growth situation. Bullying is to be watched for as the administration will scramble to cover up any incident which shows the school in a poor light rather than properly address issues. Parents who wish to improve the school & speak up are often shut down then driven out. Much is gloss. Seek out those who have left & hear them out; don't rely on the raves only.
5 people found this helpful


Journey School 5

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
We love Journey School and are thankful for the opportunity to be a part of its community. Journey isn't perfect, but I see the administration and teachers working so hard every day to meet the needs of all of the children--although that's never easy at a public school.
1 person found this helpful

Journey School 5

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
If you are looking for a school where the teachers and staff really get to know your child and help them blossom into upright people who not only know how to think critically, but who also know how to care for themselves, others, and the environment, then Journey School is a good choice. We are so grateful to be a part of this wonderful school.
1 person found this helpful

Journey School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My child entered Journey Fall 2013 as a junior kindy. We have nothing but good things to say. His teacher, Mrs. B is the best teacher I've ever met. Her love & compassion for the children is commendable & truly genuine. One of the things I love the most about charter schools is the level of parent involvement. Journey is a community of parents, teachers & staff who work hard at molding the best, most creative children.
1 person found this helpful


Journey School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a community member
The Journey school provides the most wonderful learning experience for a child! The concept is progressive and yet the most basic tenets of life are at the core, creating a unique learning environment. The beautiful synergy in this school will bring forth excellent young people into our world, More children should have the Journey School experience! Expanding to make that possible is the goal.
1 person found this helpful

Journey School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
My 2 boys have been at Journey School for 4 years. I love how creativity is included in almost all the educational experiences they are having. My 8th grader is fully prepared to transition into 9th grade. He is taking Algebra 1 this year and will be going into Geometry in high school. He writes great papers and is enjoying working on his 8th grade project, in which he was able to pick a topic he is passionate about. He is writing papers, doing a power point and will be presenting his project to members of the school community. He has loved his time there. His homework has bumped up from the level it was in 7th grade and he has about 1-1.5 hours a night. I feel this is preparing him for the load of high school as well. My 2nd grader loves learning and I love that his homework is to read 30 minutes every night and do a chore. Totally age appropriate. He loves reading and loves math. He will occasionally ask me for a math worksheet, which I have some on hand and pull out. But it isn't stressful, just fun. Such a change from when my oldest was in 2nd grade at our local public school, homework felt like a big chore then.
1 person found this helpful

Journey School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
My student attended Journey for many years, loves it to this day, and is now near the top of the class in high school!


Journey School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
I love Journey because - small class sizes - Loving teachers who are focused on what is best for the students - tight knit community - Waldorf curruculum which focuses on whole child development not just academics - Fosters joy that I can see in my children and a love of learning - administration actually values parent involvement and takes feedback very seriously

Journey School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
Journey is a gem in the morass of OC public schools. Everyone (admin, teachers, parents and students) is committed to setting the standard for public Waldorf education. It's that rare place where the community continually strives to practice what it preaches. It's not perfect. It never will be, but the dedication of everyone involved is evident every day. There's a feeling of hope at this school that it's possible to make serious strides in changing public education. There's a greater school mission that everybody knows and wants to be a part of. Does it need the money? Absolutely! But money can't buy what is inherently happening at this school -- and that's to move the needle when it comes to public education in this country. Parking lot snafus, no hot lunch program and other logistical issues the school faces because of lack of funding are NOTHING compared to the other option available and that's having to to deal with regular public school admin who view your child as a cog in a wheel. We're new this year and didn't know what to expect. But what my family has experienced has inspired us. I will take Journey - warts and all - over a regular public school any day of the week.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Journey School
27102 Foxborough, Aliso Viejo, CA  92656
(949) 448-7232
Last modified Journey School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Journey School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 78 reviews. Top