Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Canyon Vista Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
We love Canyon Vista and have been at this school for the last 5 years. In Kindergarten half the class comes early and they work on core academic subjects. When that is over the late birds come. The kids eat together and have recess. Then the early kids go home and the late birds complete their academic work. There are 2 or 3 parents that come in to help during academic work on top of the teacher. So, 14 kids with 3 or 4 adults. In 1st grade and on the class is together all day. Parents come in to help during the core academic time. As the kids get older there are less adults helping in the classroom. There is homework but none of my kids have spent more than 20/30 minutes on it. Starting forth grade the children have the option to start an inatrument. This adds more homework time because they are practicing their instrument. There are a lot of extras at this school - art program, field trips, science fair, school plays, computer lab, science lab, library, school carnival, tons of gardens, music, talent show, student council, community service projects, and more. My kids do a lot of projects and public speaking/speaking in front of the class.

Canyon Vista Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
My daughter started at Canyon Vista this September. I have deep conservative views, and was skiddish about putting my kid into the public school system. What I have found since is that CV isn't any different than the elementary school I attended 37 years ago. The staff is very friendly, the lower grade teachers are fantastic, and I honestly feel this is an excellent environment on par with other private schools in the area. Happy.


Canyon Vista Elementary School 4

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
The Principal knows everyone by name. He takes an active roll in knowing the kids & what they like. The staff is always helpful & friendly. My son loves going there!

Canyon Vista Elementary School 4

Posted April 07, 2013
- a parent
The class size is too much for one person -34, 7 year olds and one adult?? They expect parent involvement not taking into account both parents that work. It effect the ones that don't work just as much. Love the Principal!

Canyon Vista Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2013
- a parent
This is my daughter's third year at Canyon Vista (she is in 2nd grade) and we couldn't be happier! Her teacher shows such great enthusiasm for learning & the positive attitute has rubbed off. We are thrilled to get such a positive educational experience from public school - and the community involvement & activities are great - particularly the musical/drama after-school program run by PTA volunteers. Truly an exceptional experience so far!


Canyon Vista Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2012
- a community member
I've been going to this school since kindergarden, now I'm in 5th grade and it's been the greatest experience.The teachers there encourage you to be the best you can be, the classrooms and playground is an inviting atmosphere. The principal, Mr. Mahoney, knows the students names and walks around making sure everything's okay and the kids are learning. In 5th grade the teachers are encouraging and tell you what to expect in middle school and give you challenging work. There are fun activities and a great theater for after school who put on great shows every year. I love this school so much I feel very sad to go to Don Juan and leave!

Canyon Vista Elementary School 5

Posted March 30, 2012
- a parent
I felt I had to write a review after reading the comment posted on March 14, 2012. My daughter had Mrs. Roberson last year for 2nd grade and although every year at Canyon Vista has been a good year, her year with Mrs. Robertson was her best year yet! I am also a very conservative person and NEVER felt that Mrs. Robertson was a "runaway liberal" with a "brainwashing liberal agenda". That's absurd! I will say that she loves the kids in her class and does her very best to make sure they have a great experience. She encouraged my daughter to be creative and gave her the confidence to write and share her stories. She also challenged my daughter which was so wonderful because she can get bored easily in class. We love Canyon Vista and we are hoping to get Mrs. Robertson again next year for the 4th grade.

Canyon Vista Elementary School 4

Posted March 17, 2012
- a parent
To the previous reviewer- Are you serious that you would be moving due to 1 teacher. I'm sorry if this teacher didnt conform to your obviously conservative opinions, but all curriculum is standardized by the state of CA. This is our first year at Canyon Vista and have had nothing but good experiences with the teachers, principal and other staff. It is a very supportive environment for the students. The staff has been responsive to any questions/ concerns and open to parent involvement. We have been very pleased!


Canyon Vista Elementary School 1

Posted March 14, 2012
- a parent
Runaway liberal indoctrination by one of the teachers. Our daughter has been going here since kindergarten and up until now we couldn't be happier until a new teacher, Ms. Robertson, decided to force her extreme left wing views onto the students. Her brainwashing liberal agenda curriculum includes: forcing environmentalism through assignments and marking down those who disagree, explaining that teacher unions are only there for the kids, teaching that socialism really benefits this country, and non-stop praise for Barack Obama. We couldn't be more disgusted with this person. Because of this we are moving.

Canyon Vista Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
It's a school striving to do good

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Canyon Vista Elementary School
27800 Oak View Drive, Aliso Viejo, CA  92656-6244
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (949) 234-5941
Last modified Canyon Vista Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top