Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
132 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
50 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 57 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vandamme Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Ms. VanDamme has built a fantastic school. I am very grateful to have the opportunity to send my daughter here.

Vandamme Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I observed some of the teachers. I wish I had been educated here. They presented the material in a way that was effective for the students. The students were actively participating.


Vandamme Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
The no homework policy has been fantastic. I understand some students in some grades are required to read at home some evenings.

Vandamme Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I have observed the perseverance the faculty encourages in their students. The lessons are set up in such a a way that the student understands exactly what is expected of them.

Vandamme Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I have observed the way the students treat each other and the faculty. I am inspired by the respect that is cultivated at this school.


Vandamme Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I have spoke with students and parents of students from this school. The students demonstrate these qualities in the answers to the questions I have asked.

Vandamme Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
I have spoke with students and parents of students from this school. The students demonstrate these qualities in the answers to the questions I have asked.

Vandamme Academy 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
The faculty has extensive knowledge about the subjects they teach, and they are very compassionate about the students. They school has a no homework policy. This allows a child to be a student in the class, and a child outside the class. The school has a 15 student class size. I know my child is getting the individual attention she deserves.


Vandamme Academy 1

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
My child was a student at this school. We were impressed with this school and its director but as time passed, I concluded my child and parents in general were not being treated respectfully. This was not immediately obvious to me, but traced back to things said by the director and to other parents. This is a mediocre education, advertised as far superior to anything else in the market. In our family's experience, it was one of our all-time worst investments.

Vandamme Academy 5

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
Fantastic school! It is like a family. The teachers and administration adore the kids as much as the kids adore them. They are helping raise these kids into respectful, knowledgeable, helpful little humans. They think of the child as a whole, they don't just focus on math and reading. It's a small school with big achievements.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vandamme Academy
2A Liberty, Aliso Viejo, CA  92656
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews. (949) 510-4861
Last modified Vandamme Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top