Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Aliso Viejo, CA
Students enrolled: 2,972

4 stars
Based on 48 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


48 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Aliso Niguel High School 5

Posted July 08, 2014
- a student
ANHS is a highly competitive school that serves to those living in the Laguna Niguel/Aliso Viejo area. Aliso offers several rigorous classes, as well as clubs and other means of extra curricular activities (I will note that the marching band is spectacular and highly recommended to anyone caring to join). If you are not the strongest student, I recommend strongly that you hire a tutor, seeing as the general gist of the school is "sink or swim". Moreover, the social life of Aliso is spectacular. The stereotype for Orange County is a white, upper middle class student body (unfortunately this is most students). To much surprise, incoming students are welcomed by their friendly and helpful peers. Despite the cheery and generally happy disposition the school displays, the campus needs much work. The bathrooms are downright disgusting, and there are not enough lockers for the entirety of the school. The school is also placed at the bottom of a hill and is connected to the main road by a two lane street. It is crucial that you leave early to be at school on time. Nonetheless, Aliso is a wonderful school and I would highly recommend it to any one interested.

Aliso Niguel High School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
ANHS is extremely competitive school its known for its academic excellence. this is the school for you. My daughter has done very well here. The teacher takes an interest in your child and all the staff is friendly and helpful. The Band and Color guard program is awesome. The school is very clean and safe. If you want your child to be in a safe environment and have great teachers. Plus has academic excellences this is the school for you. This school is not for slacker or for students who complain. ANHS will prepare your child for college and beyond. so many great programs here. My daughter is a senior now and it just amazing how much she has learner so far. she will do well in college. Excellent school !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Aliso Niguel High School 2

Posted August 17, 2012
- a student
PLENTY of AP, Honor, and Acc. classes and a unique choice of a 7-class schedule, which is a plus for big achievers. Band program is great, orchestra gets the complete short end of the stick with funding (orchestra room is a TRAILER!!), but there are many EXCEEDINGLY talented musicians in the top orchestras, although bottom level ones stink. Some teachers are EXCELLENT and AP/Honors/Acc. classes are more than challenging for even the brightest. Students, for the most part, are extremely clique-y, cold, and generally un-including. HUGE division between MEGA achievers and drop-outs. Huge division with 'popular", "normal", "nerdy", and "asian" cliques. Extremely hard to make MEANINGFUL friendships. LOTS of exclusion, and the "popular" people are extremely rude and mean and obnoxious in every way imaginable, almost unbearably so. SOME teachers are horrendously mean and grade very unfairly, leaving some students with almost no control over their own grade. (this is coming from a top-honors student) The 2 stars are for the good teachers and amazing academics. Also, lots of trailers, ugly old campus and all materials used are underabundant, old, and falling apart. BEWARE.

Aliso Niguel High School 1

Posted April 18, 2012
- a parent
I moved to the area because of the school's reputation. I should have done more research. Stay very, very far away unless you can afford private school. It might have once been a good school but not now. I promised my children we would not move again until they graduated from high school, but I should have broken that promise for their own good. They have each made life-long, good friends, but they had to work very hard in college to make up for everything they did not learn. And, yes, the bullying is a problem. My son recently told me about an incident where someone bloodied his nose simply because he didn't like him. Nothing was done. Glad we are out of there now. Stay away.

Aliso Niguel High School 1

Posted April 18, 2012
- a parent
Both my sons went through Aliso Niguel High School. While some teachers were good, many were not. If your kid is already academically motivated, she or he mighut lazyt do very, very well. If not, though, they wil probably just be processed through, like mine. One was a special ed student, and the school failed him miserably. The school failed to stop bullying, and it was sometimes extreme. My other son was gifted but lazy, and no teacher tried to connect with him and help him. He, too,was bullied (and sometiems because of his brother), and no one even tried to help him. Not my idea of excellence. On standardized testing, parents of special ed kids are encouraged to refuse to have their kids tested to avoid the impact on school scores.


Aliso Niguel High School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
A great school with a whole body of dedicated quality teachers!! My son is doing well in this school. He has very good friendship with his classmates, he doesn't want to go to any other school except attending this school. But as a parent, i have a feeling, since it is a big school, for any sports, your kids have to be very competitive to get into the school team. This is my only regret for my son.

Aliso Niguel High School 5

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
Aliso Niguel is one of the most competitive schools in the district, in terms of academics. The staff is extremely dedicated while the students are challenged for the most part with the rigorous coursework and curriculum ANHS has to offer. My daughter is currently a junior at Aliso and I can certainly say she has been challenged with the accelerated and AP curriculum. In addition, the school has the highest AP pass rate in the district, an impressive 85% while also maintaining a 90th percentile pass rate on the California Exit Exam, making Aliso Niguel a great school with excellent staff, facilities, and academics! The principal, Mr. Salter, seems to be very dedicated, constantly sending emails and phone calls home to update parents on school events.

Aliso Niguel High School 5

Posted March 07, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Aliso Niguel High School 5

Posted January 22, 2010
- a parent
My child is a junior at Aliso Niguel and has been with the Capo district since 6th grade. We love it! Principal Salter cares about the school & students, he emails & calls parents regularly. And has a coffee house chat for parents on Saturdays. The school is demanding and staff has high expectations of students. If you want your child to attend a safe, challenging school with caring teachers & a principal you will adore, then ANHS is the school for you.

Aliso Niguel High School 4

Posted November 14, 2009
- a student
Aliso is definately a great school. I am now in my senior year and have had a good experience all the way through. We have a principal who cares deeply about students succeeding and receiving the proper education for college. When it comes to academics, no other high school near Aliso even comes close. However, sports are another story. We definately have one of the weakest sports programs in OC, although it is starting to get better. If academics is your main focus, definately come to Aliso. If sports is, then I would recommend another school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aliso Niguel High School
28000 Wolverine Way, Aliso Viejo, CA  92656
(949) 831-5590
Last modified Aliso Niguel High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Aliso Niguel High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top