Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Vineyard Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2012

My son started 7th grade this year at VJH. He admires all his GATE classes teachers. We are very pleased with the principal, assistant principal, and all the staffs. I know we will have a successful great year this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

This is my daughters first year in Jr. high, has been such a seamless transition. The events leading up to the first day of school truly put our kiddos at ease. I am already so thankful for such a thoughtful staff. You not only helped our kids transition but also us parents who have a tough time letting go. Thank you for such great communication on up coming events. So excited to see what this year holds!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

Vineyard-is great! Before I moved I never attend a school for more then 2 years. I'm currently in 8th grade and attended the 2 years. I love this school enough said. the teachers are great even though they might be a little strict they are truely good teachers. Mr.martian my 7th grade history teacher I will have to say is the bestt he made learning fun. even though i am only one voice of vineyard I do have to say I truely love this school, I think they are really prepareing me for high school next year. I will have to give vineyard 2 thumbs up! it will be hard to say goodbye to vineyard. I wil always have the memories vineyard gave me, but I know that they have done an amazing job with me prepareing me for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2009

my daughter is attending this school and she loves it especilly her 5th period mr. martian he made learning fun and understandable for students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

Vineyard is the best school someone can ever go to. I left to a different school for a week and i was begging my mom to bring me back, i was more than happy when i did. It's thebest school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

My son loved Vineyard Junior High School. He told me that there was no other school he's rather go to. Vineyard has teachers that care deeply about their students. The principle is a very nice lady.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2006

My son attended this school for 8th grade and thoroughly enjoyed it. The teachers sincerely cared and kept in touch via email and greatschools.org. I was always able to discuss the areas he needed help in with them in a timely matter. Mr. Shetley is a popular history teacher who made learning fun! He met great kids who will follow him over to Los Osos. This school has a nice diverse culture. Overall I think it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

No public junior high school can be great, in my opinion. This is true for numerous reasons unrelated to the school itself. That said, I believe that Vineyard does about as good as a public junior high school can do, especially with their honor students. If you can get your kids into the honors program in 8th grade, or the GATE program in 7th, they will receive a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

857

Change from
2012 to 2013

-13

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

857

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-13

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

368 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
71%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
68%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females77%
Males69%
African American71%
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to state60%

Math

All Students63%
Females63%
Males64%
African American56%
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability26%
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to state53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students53%
Females53%
Males52%
African American31%
Asian60%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented78%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to state54%

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females69%
Males68%
African American49%
Asian96%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability28%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state64%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students22%
Females23%
Males23%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino24%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)29%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability29%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only23%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate17%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)14%
Parent education - college graduate41%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate27%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students67%
Females63%
Males70%
African American44%
Asian93%
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disability21%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate36%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state57%

Science

All Students80%
Females78%
Males83%
African American53%
Asian100%
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability48%
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to state74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 41%
Hispanic 38%
Black 9%
Asian 8%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/AN/A
English language learners 2%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6440 Mayberry
Alta Loma, CA 91737
Phone: (714) 484-5120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT