Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

413 students|Pasadena Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Aveson Global Leadership Academy 3

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Poor direct communication between staff and parents. Lead administrators seem a bit aloof and more concerned with image than actual academic enablement. Counsels appear uninformed limited in their skills and and knowledge. If you have a child that needs to get through high school its fine. They will get them through. If you have higher aspirations maybe consider a different school.

Aveson Global Leadership Academy 1

Posted July 31, 2015
- a parent
Applied for the 2015/16 school year. Got wait listed. No problem. Number 12 on the list isn't so bad. But then I checked again last week and now we're at 13. How in the world do you move down on a first come first serve wait list. Talk about fishy. Of course no one is around over the summer to clear this up.


Aveson Global Leadership Academy 3

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
4th year my son has been attending Aveson. He is in 10th grade this year. My son has been blessed having great teachers and doing well in school. He is a bright kid and work indepently without any problem. Adminstration is a total ball game. Lack of communication with parents on changes with school curriculum, lack of follow-up on issues. This year, they decided not to offer chemistry class but did not send out any email or memo about it. Parents learned about it from their kids after school began. For next year, no chemistry again. After multiple complaints from parents for administration to give parents updates what will be the solution for this mess. Finally, parents received an email half way thru the school year that an integrated science will be offered next year. No explanation what this Integrated science class consists of what type of sciences. Whoever heard of a high school that does not offer chemistry to their high school students?.

Aveson Global Leadership Academy 5

Posted April 26, 2014
- a parent
My son is in kindergarten and we are proud to say " our son is loving to learn". He is reading now and he started writing his thoughts about how he can help the world, our planet and more. We are part of a community of parents that are highly involved in their children's education. Our son's individualized learning plans are always accurate showing his progress and his new goals for the coming weeks. our experience at Aveson has been outstanding from the beginning .

Aveson Global Leadership Academy 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Aveson Global Leadership Academy is a middle and high school that is chartered through the Pasadena Unified School District. AGLA uses Mastery Learning (look it up) and it is in most cases a project based learning environment. Children who are self starters and self motivated will thrive here as there is a lot of independent work done at AGLA. There are some really excellent teachers at AGLA! One thing that I don't like as well is that in some subjects (i.e. history and upper math levels) there is just one teacher advising multiple classes in the same room at the same time. I personally don't think this serves the teachers or the students as well as the one subject in a room at a time model. The student body seems to be for the most a supportive and helpful group. Being smaller than your typical middle/high school in there are not as many options available to students, but they do pretty well. They've gotten involved in some local sports leagues, so the students who are interested can participate. Overall, I do think that AGLA is an above average school.


Aveson Global Leadership Academy 5

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
I have two daughters at Aveson, we were lucky enough to get in the first year they opened. This school has cultivated academic excellence in both girls, but even more, the school also cultivates social and emotional intelligence, healthy living, and social leadership. It's the whole child.

Aveson Global Leadership Academy 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Love this school! It has been the best change for us, the go above and beyond always.

Aveson Global Leadership Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a community member
I've been a student with Aveson for nearly seven years now, and I've had such as positive experience. The teachers are incredible, and the individualized learning style is such a new and thoughtful way to learn. I have gained a lot of skills--both educational and social--with this school. I've also learned a lot about myself and how I learn best, as well as gaining confidence in my abilities. This school is a community, and a very comfortable place to learn.


Aveson Global Leadership Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a teacher
Aveson Global Leadership is a community school. It is a special place that starts with personalization and a strong culture and climate. Students are on a personal pathway, leading them to a 4 year university, a career, vocational training, the military, a community college, an internship, or other continuing education opportunities. Students are not treated to a one size fits all mentality. They are met where they are; socially, emotionally and mentally., Their interests, passions, learning styles and other personal perspectives matter, are heard and considered when developing their curriculum and assessment. Technology, global competence and community building are the cornerstones. An amazing school.

Aveson Global Leadership Academy 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
As a follow up to the review titled "This school is pathetic. Teachers are unorganized and hypocritical." I can only agree with this statement. Along with this my child essentially has to teach himself. He has good grades but has said on multiple occasions that he feels that he hasn't learned anything all year. If you let your student carry on with this school they will be underprepared for college. The lack of any help for students trying to take AP/honors is appalling, and the school counselor has messed up with my children's transcripts several times. People who say this school is great don't have a good idea of the non-existent support for students who are trying to ADVANCE in school, instead, the teachers focus on the kids who are failing, which is a noble effort but again they are understaffed. Also because they place multiple grades into the same class the teacher is even more stretched out.

Nearby schools

Aveson Global Leadership Academy
575 West Altadena Drive, Altadena, CA  91001-4203
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (626) 797-1438
Last modified Aveson Global Leadership Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top