Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Altadena, CA
Students enrolled: 500
Before care: No

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Charles W. Eliot Middle School 5

Posted September 14, 2015
- a parent
Eliot Arts is a great Middle School. There has been many improvements over the years and the district and community is embracing their school again! My daughter started here this year and is loving it! She is taking flute and in an afterschool art class (Room 13)that is wonderful.

Charles W. Eliot Middle School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent whose children are enrolled at Hamilton Elementary in PUSD. We have chosen to send our kids to Eliot for middle school. The Arts Magnet structure has changed this school completely. I witnessed enthusiastic, focused students as well as incredibly impressive, dedicated and engaging teachers. The Science, Math and History teachers were outstanding, and the Arts teachers and staff were equally well credentialed and superb. The artists in residence are another part of Eliot's new equation for success. Each class has, on average, only 25 students. Quite spectacular at the middle school level! Eliot received an enormous grant to implement this new magnet structure. A Magnet Coordinator was hired to oversee this project. Equipment and facilities, arts-integration training for the teachers and staff, and an emphasis on long term educational changes for the school are apparent. The Great Schools rating/API score was determined prior to all of the magnet funds and educational changes. Because of a statewide switch to Common Core and a transition from testing for API scores, this 2 will be floating around but is not reflective of what I witnessed at this new Eliot.

Charles W. Eliot Middle School 5

Posted February 23, 2015
- a parent
Wow! I recently toured the school and was greatly impressed by the new model being implemented at the school. The teacher's and were knowledgeable and committed to integrating arts into the student curriculum. More importantly they an impressive understanding of the new Common Core standards, having being involved in the District planning for its implementation. The facilities and equipment were surprisingly good, with a lab full of new Macs, a video recording studio, ample studio space, and a beautifully renovated auditorium. The student body is very diverse, which is another great point for those looking for a stimulating and engaging environment for their kids. I'm looking forward to enrolling my kids there next year.

Charles W. Eliot Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2015
- a teacher
Eliot is now Eliot Arts Magnet thanks to a federal grant received in 2013. Since becoming a magnet school, Eliot continues to improve with new facilities (Mac lab, dance studio, video-recording studio) and professional partnerships with The Huntington, The Music Center, and more. Professional artists work with teachers to integrate arts across the curriculum and enhance students' experiences in arts electives. Eliot has turned around and is an awesome choice for an innovative middle school experience.

Charles W. Eliot Middle School 4

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
I've been on two tours of the new and improved Eliot Middle School this year with my 4th grade son and some of his friends and parents. They are in the 1st year of a new Visual and Performing Arts Magnet Program which promises to attract new families from around the district with its beautifully renovated campus, incredible new facilities, and passionate teachers. Very excited to see how the program grows by the time we are ready for middle school!

Charles W. Eliot Middle School 5

Posted December 04, 2012
- a parent
You will not find harder working, more dedicated or more talented staff anywhere. They are working uphill to secure the best for Altadena's kids. Support your teachers!!

Charles W. Eliot Middle School 1

Posted May 26, 2012
- a parent
This school is horrible. My daughter went there ithis year in the 6 grade she will not be returning. It is just like a school with no rules and no stucture. The teachers are just as bad as the students, my daughter learned nothing from this school. She will be attending Blair next year.

Charles W. Eliot Middle School 3

Posted April 26, 2012
- a parent

Charles W. Eliot Middle School 5

Posted July 25, 2010
- a community member
I Leslie Luna, think this is an awesome school, the teachers are awesome, they make school exciting, and worth while.

Charles W. Eliot Middle School 5

Posted May 25, 2009
- a teacher
The new Principal and some change-over in staff has made Eliot the school to work at. Along with that, the caliber of student and parent that are enrolling, has made Eliot a stronger school academically and socially for years to come. Come join us. Go Public!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles W. Eliot Middle School
2184 North Lake Avenue, Altadena, CA  91001
(626) 396-5680
Last modified Charles W. Eliot Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charles W. Eliot Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. Top