Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
241 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 64 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pasadena Waldorf School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Douglas Garrett for your leadership and dedication through PWS high school expansion and lower school new building projects!

Pasadena Waldorf School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
All experts and all Waldorf teacher certified. This is a teacher run school. The faculty supports one another and dedicates a lot of time to continuing education and always evaluating and improving themselves.


Pasadena Waldorf School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
No homework until 3rd grade. Then only meaningful assignments that the children can accomplish on their own.

Pasadena Waldorf School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
Development of the Will is a high priority at PWS. Pre schoolers and Kindergarteners are encouraged to walk up the hill to their classroom with out being carried by mom or dad and they carry their own lunch too. School yard activities include digging and building and seeing each job through. As kids get older they become responsible for carrying and looking after their music instruments and they are given ever challenging projects as they move through the grades.

Pasadena Waldorf School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
They are treated with respect daily. They don't know any other way to be. Non-violent communication and RIE parenting are advocated at PWS.


Pasadena Waldorf School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
When I see my girls show caring and empathy I know that is fostered in all their school relationships.

Pasadena Waldorf School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
My children are shown examples of high quality and integrity by their teachers every day. I know they are being treated fairly and respectfully and it shows in how they behave toward others.

Pasadena Waldorf School 5

Posted August 06, 2016
- a parent
PWS is a great community! My kids are happy and thriving. They love to go to school, they want to get there early and I can hardly get them to leave before the last minute of aftercare. My first grader loves math, has learned to knit and play the pentatonic flute. She takes Spanish and Japanese classes every week. The wishing Well School Store and Squirrels Nest Cafe are amazing too!


Pasadena Waldorf School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
The HS Talent Show fundraiser that I attended last weekend blew me away. Thank you thank you! More of that please!

Pasadena Waldorf School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 25, 2016
- a parent
Our teachers are amazing and wow me daily. How they can get the children to pay attention even in exciting moments without yelling is something that I try to work on as a parent! The teachers work more on getting the children engaged on many levels than on straight up memorization. If you want that type of teaching just forget private school tuition and go public.

Nearby schools

Pasadena Waldorf School
209 East Mariposa Street, Altadena, CA  91001
(626) 794-9564
Last modified Pasadena Waldorf School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top