Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Saint Elizabeth

Private | K-8 | 242 students

Enhancing Academics Through Arts in a Faith Community
 
 

 

Living in Altadena

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $412,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,530.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

Highly academic, artistic, and nurturing environment. Our son is thriving at St. E. He feels safe here and his teachers really see him. Great schools are great from the administration on down and this school walks the walk. The teachers will teach your young ones to read, they have music twice a week, art, Spanish, and great language arts and math programs. The parent community is welcoming, inclusive and down to earth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

St. Elizabeth is a fantastic school that offers a wonderful sense of community, a nurturing environment and great academic and arts program. Each year they broaden their scope and introduce new programs to enhance our children's develoment and parent's needs. Last year they started the Transitional Kindergarten program for our pre-school age children. Recently they have introduced a Spanish curriculum into the classrooms and offer enrichment "elective" courses to the junior high kids. The teachers are fabulous and accesible and the parish is warm and inviting!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Our daughter has attended St. Elizabeth's for three years, and we are very pleased with the education she has received thus far. The community of the school is remarkable, and the care each child receives as a student and as an individual is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

I've had nothing but eondferful experinces at St. E.izabeth with students, parents and staff. We've had two daughters graduate and currently have a son attending. The school has much to offer in academics, sports and caring enviroment. The diversity of cultures is amazing and really helps our children to become respecctful and loving members of our community. The staf id aleays availanle and willing to help. Reccommend school to anyone .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

We are going on our sixth year at St. Elizabeth's. We have been very happy with the school, the staff and the education. The principal has done an excellent job hiring great teachers and our kids have been happy every year. The school is a great community and actively involved. Our children are getting a great education at a reasonable price.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

This school is great. My daughter has been going there for three years now and she loves it. The parents are all hard working, humble parents and the school provides a non-stuffy environment. If you're looking for a school with great parent support and good kids, this is the place for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2013

St. Elizabeth is truly a caring and loving community, which lends itself to promoting the excellence and goodness within each child. The school offers a well rounded curriculum along with wonderful, caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

St. Elizabeth School has been an amazing choice for our daughter. The academics are rigorous, but the children also have art, music and P.E. classes. Spanish classes begin at the 1st grade level. Being a teacher myself, I know that school is not simply about the academics. The school community is caring and inclusive. It is so easy to meet other families and add the social aspect that is so important for children. The campus is secure and the layout provides a feeling of togetherness, while also having a big field for sports. We LOVE this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

My children went to St. Elizabeth some time ago and I have met and continue to have my very best friends that I met at this wonderful school. My children are now 36 and 34 and my Granddaughter is now enjoying the same special teachings at this school. The parents and teachers are the very best. These people have shown my family the love and support during good times and bad times. The support system is amazing and I am so proud to be a Parent and Grandparent from St. Elizabeth.


Posted January 7, 2013

We have 3 daughters enrolled currently at St. Elizabeth. 3 very different girls with their own strengths and weeknesses. St Elizabeth does a fantastic job of making sure they all thrive! The teaching staff is very capable and caring. Sports and the arts are fantastic at this school. Just when we thought they couldn't be any better we got a great new 8th grade teacher with a dance background. We have many new families from other private schools in the area that can't believe how friendly everyone is here. WE ARE VERY HAPPY WITH OUR FRIENDLY LITTLE SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

As a single mother, I toured public and private schools for my son that was starting Kindergarten. When my son and I toured the school we both immediately fell in love with it. It such a great environment, it is secure and safe, the teachers and staff and extremely helpful, and the parents are beyond AMAZINGLY involved with each other as a community and team. I see all of them as family and we are there for each other for anything! The principal and staff made it possible for my son to come here as a single mother and full time student. Thank you St. Elizabeth!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

I grew up in Altadena and Pasadena. I went to several private schools in the area. When it came time to choose a school for my son, we toured all of them. St. Elizabeth is what we chose and, with absolute certainty, we feel like we made the 100% right choice. My son loves the school and we love everyone there. The community is outstanding! Other parents never just walk by you. They come and greet you and know your child, too. The staff does as well. Security is amazing and their academics are terrific. Spanish is being taught 1st-8th grade. Wonderful school. The principal and staff rock and the teachers are amazing. Send your kid there. We're also part of the parish and it has the exact same feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

My son started kindergarten at St. Elizabeth this year and our family has been extremely happy with the experience! Based on our research, attending the open house and touring the school, we knew that it was the right school for us but we fell in love with the school even more once he started attending and we felt an immediate connection to the other families and faculty. My son loves going to school and is thriving in his classroom. He is learning not only the academic material we had expected but a wide range of things from how to greet people when you meet them, how to ask problem solving questions, and how to speak in front of his class. The spirit of St. Elizabeth school is amazing! The traditions, the connections, the faith and the energy are above and beyond what we ever imagined!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2012

My husband and I chose St. Elizabeth for its secure, nurturing, and structured environment. We felt instantly welcomed by the other parents as well as by the staff and faculty. My daughter's teacher was a godsend in helping her transition to her new environment. The academic curriculum is challenging without being ridiculously overwhelming and I feel that my daughter is getting a quality education and will be ready for high school. One thing I really like about the school is its extra curricular programs. Theatre, choir, chess, sports, arts, dance, etc. My daughter has blossomed in the past 3 years and has found the confidence to try a variety of different things. The art teacher is fantastic and not only teaches the kids, but also teaches ceramic classes for adults (the school has its own kiln). The principal and teachers are accessible and really want their students to succeed. I highly recommend this school. Come to our open house and see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

After an extensive search of both private and public area schools, my husband and I chose St. Elizabeth for our daughters. We made this choice because of the amazing school community, the excellent and dedicated teachers, the strong principal whom we believe in and support, the challenging academic programs, and extensive extra-curricular activities. St. Elizabeth provides all the above while maintaining their focus on GOODNESS and EXCELLENCE in their students, faculty, and community. This is the school experience that I always pictured for my family, yet feared I wouldn't find it in this geographical area. It is here at St. Elizabeth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

St. Elizabeth has been a Godsend to my family. With its sense of community and family, it has been a safe and nurturing learning environment for my children. Although small in stature, the educational advantages are huge; small learning environment, computer lab, art room, music, theatre, etc. My daughter is in her last year, and I also have a kindergartener! Ready to do the whole thing one more time
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

My children have been at St. Elizabeth for six years. We are really pleased with everything. The academics are great - lots of super teachers who engage the students in all subjects. My son who used to hate to read has declared that he loves literature now! The art and music teachers also expose them to the fine and performing arts so they're well-rounded. With a variety of electives in Junior High, the students can pick areas to focus on that are of particular interest to them. Most of all, I love the families with whom I share important values, area always willing to pitch in, and reflect the diversity of our society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

St. Elizabeth has strong academic programs in a safe and caring environment. The principal is a truly gifted educator. Staff's credentials are impressive, but more importantly teachers are able to get to know every child and teach creatively and engage the children. Art and music are important parts of the curriculum. The school is committed to teaching children about service to others, which we really value. St. Elizabeth is a welcoming community that truly values its families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

St. Elizabeth has a very deep and broad curriculum and lots of extracurricular activities (chess club, sports, dance, academic decathlon to name a few). It also has a before and after care program that's great for working parents. Tuition is so much more affordable than other private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

The community of St. Elizabeth is what I love most about the school. I was impressed when 8th graders knew my Kindergartener. The teachers are innovative and caring. Parents are really involved and go above and beyond consistently! There are solid academics - including science lab and computer classes. The art teacher does amazing things with all ages. My kids have loved going to the musicals the upper grades put on and sing in the choir now too. I can't imagine being at any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 26%
Hispanic 29% 52%
Two or more races 16% 3%
Black 8% 6%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Jr High Academic Decathlon, Super Quiz 7th Place (2012)
  • Cathedral Bowl, Logic Quiz First Place (2011)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top 5 contributor to Missionary Childhood Association (2012)
  • Top 5 contributor to Missionary Childhood Association (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Jeanette Cardamone
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (626) 797-6541

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Differentiated Instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Religious
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Pasadena Unified School District
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Decathlon
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Mission Statement St. Elizabeth is a Catholic parish school that exists to serve a diverse community with a commitment to the development of responsible life-long learners. In partnership with parents, the school community proclaims the message of Jesus Christ as it nurtures each child in goodness and excellence.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
45
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
65

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
LaSalle High School, Flintridge Prep
Mayfield Senior School, Flintridge Sacred Heart, Alverno
St. Francis, Loyola,
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1840 North Lake Avenue
Altadena, CA 91001
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 797-7727

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT