Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Napa Junction Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2012

My kids have went here since kinder and now they are in 3rd and 5th. The test scores don't always show the true facts about the school. The principal and the teachers are fantastic and committed to provided our kids with the best education. With the new programs they have started like project base learning and GiGI math my kids are excited every day to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

When we first found out that Napa Junction was our appointed school, we were not sure what to expect. After being there 3 days, I realized that this is a little hidden secret in American Canyon. My boys have really great teachers and they seem to fit their learning style.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

This school curriculum is not up to par compared to the the other two school in American canyon. I feel that this school doesn't challenge my kids enough and it's not fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

when i was enrolling my daughter i was told this school had special education. my daughter has downs and needed to be in sdc, comes to find out they didnt have sdc classes. i had the worst experience ever at this school. my daughters first yr in kinder and was a nightmare. i would NOT recommended anyone to go there. in the first month the teacher lost my daughter. another classmate a boy pushed her head into a table. she had a black eye and i didnt even get a call. they sent her home with a note in her backpack. the kindergarten aides are not friendly and are rude. the "special ed teacher" had no art in her class. thank god my son can start kinder at a different school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

My daughter went to Kindergarten and 5 months of First Grade at Napa Junction Elementary School and I am so happy and so grateful for all the teachers esp. Ms. Ciabattari and Ms. Greenwell and Ms. Toddy and to her first grade teachers, Ms. Donohue and Ms. Malayter and all first grade teachers . We are here in Virginia now and all I can say is that her foundation was beyond excellent and she's doing great because of the whole staff of this school. YOU ROCK and I wouldn't have it any other way. I would recommend Napa Junction to everybody if only they have a choice.The whole staff is just amazing and you feel like your in a huge family and I'm glad we had a chance to experience that before we moved here. THANKS SO MUCH!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

I like the principal so much. She is warm and friendly and approachable. I think there could be better supervison of the students at lunch and on the playground. The school needs more parent involvement!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

I have two children, one which has completed her years at Napa Junction and the other will be going into 5th grade. I feel the whole staff is wonderful and there is a wonderful school spirit thanks to a truly exceptional new principal. I feel very fortunate that my children have been able to attend such a fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2006

My daughter, Ashley, had Ms. Hunt for a 5th grade teacher at Napa Junction. She blossomed with Ms. Hunt's wonderful teaching style. She has excelled at Middle School as a result of Ms. Hunt preparing her students for the transition from elementary to middle schools. There are also many other wonderful teachers there. They are dedicated and really respect the students and parents. I am glad my children went there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

My two kids attended Napa Junction School since K, they learned to read in K, which is not common in public schools, I am very satisfied with the quality of education they provide, teachers are well prepared and I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

Teaching quality,safety,seems to be ok.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2005

The quality of academic's at this school is extremely low. The availabilty of music is average, art is average and sports non available other than the activities available during recess time. As for the level of parent involvement, below average. I have a 11 year old attending this school and do not feel he has excelerated in any way, other than music. This year, he at least has the same teacher from last year. This is a first for him since attending at grade K. I have seen some changes with a new Principal and believe she will correct and improve from the last Principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2004

As a parent of a child at 'Napa Junction', I feel that the judgement of the parent who felt as though the school's staff were uncaring, and not overseeing the childrens' safety did some truth to it, but I feel that for the most part, the staff of the school must be suffering from total 'burn out'. With the constant influx of new students, how the teachers & supports staff,(especially the principal, who no doubt get the majority of the flack, despite having little control over the many problems the school district is confronted with on a constant basis), may be just 'treading water', hoping that some how they'll eventually be pulled out of the finincial & beauracratic B.S. that the school districts are facing. About the 'new' Elementry school, supposedly 'in planning/progress'? Remember the 12+ yr.Green Barn-Safeway Project? (Of course, you can always transfer your kids to Vallejo schools!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2004

As the parent of a 1st grader attending 'Napa Junction', I am very frustrated by the huge,(and continuing) barrage of new students, as this school is already 'bursting at the seams'. They've built hundreds of new, large, single family homes here over the last several years, but we still have only two elementary schools. My 20 yr. old son also went to this school, many years ago, and the facility & class size seem adequite then. My daughter began Kindergarden last year, the school was already so over crowded that students went to one room, and had to move after 15 minutes or so,(to another room), to make room for another class. They'd often be moved up to three time a day, and the stress on the kids and teachers was very noticeable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2003

My son is in his 5th year at this school. It is a great school; the teachers and principal are dedicated to the concept of 'No child left behind'. The school recieved a CA Distinguished School award in 2001, a honor well deserved. The teachers are responsive and helpful, and all children are honored and respected, reguardless of social standing, race or wealth. I would highly recommend this school and its staff. A school is only as good as its staff, this school is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I have had two children at this school and I can honestly say that the help is there if you are willing to help yourself. My son was having trouble with his reading and he has recieved all the help from the school, the teachers and myself to bring him up to grade level. The teachers are very friendly and supportive of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

728

Change from
2012 to 2013

-30

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

728

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-30

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Females53%
Males23%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino50%
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)18%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only44%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduate46%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students59%
Females59%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students18%
Females29%
Males9%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino15%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability18%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only25%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate8%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)7%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females50%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females48%
Males37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate38%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females55%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Females28%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino32%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability37%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females44%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students31%
Females22%
Males41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability32%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only34%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)19%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 53%
White 14%
Black 9%
Two or more races 6%
Asian 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/AN/A
English language learners 31%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 13%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Donna Drago
Fax number
  • (707) 253-6255

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Napa Junction Road
American Canyon, CA 94589
Website: Click here
Phone: (707) 644-0050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Canyon Oaks Elementary School
American Canyon, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT