Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Anaheim Hills Montessori School

Private | K-6 | 47 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Anaheim

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $426,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2014

My son goes to Anaheim Hills Montessori...I am very thank ful to this school because of his teacher Ms Grace! it is amazing to see how much knowledge he has gained within a year. he already knows all the alphabets..he can spell his name . He can count till 30 knows most of his counting. His coloring is outstanding. he even knows the name of the seven continents..I get so happy when I look at him learning more than his age! we truly love this school ! and love Ms Grace too...Thanks to Ms Chintha to have such an amazing teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

My twins attend this school, which is an unbelievably great school. My children started in the preschool class and in 7 months have nearly learned how to read. This is not only due to the Montessori method, but definitely due to the skills of the Teacher, Ms. Grace, and the owner, administrator, Ms Chinta. This school has the talent to teach children, whether they are open to learning or not; whether they are helped in the home or not. I cannot say enough about Anaheim Hills Montessori. I would recommend it to anyone in a heart beat and have recommended it to all my friends. I am lucky to have found this school. Like all mothers, I toured many schools including Fairmont and Heritage Oak, somehow, I knew Anaheim Hills Montessori would be a great fit. I never imagined that the teacher, Ms. Grace could have this kind of ability. I am a lucky parent and so HAPPY. If you're looking, please try it. I think you will have to write a review as well because you feel grateful and are yearning to give back. Sangeeta
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

This school is outstanding. My daughter is in 7th grade and currently attends El Rancho. My son still attends Montessori. This school teaches your kids about many useful information. The teachers really care about the kids. The school is not large, but I think it is one of the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2012

This is the best private school in Anaheim Hills. Both of my children started school here at the age of 2. My daughter had successfully completed her education from preschool thru 6th grade here and She was placed in the honors program at El Rancho Charter School. My son is still attending school here and continues to do well. Their annual state tests show they are advanced in all areas. The teachers are devoted to their children and always available to meet with the parents. They are very patient and supportive. The principle is a well-organized and approachable person. If you are looking for a loving and caring environment, this is the one. I believe the best gift I can give to my children is the Education as it lasts for a lifetime.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

After visiting 16 schools between Anaheim Hills and Huntington Beach, this school was a breath of fresh air. Very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

I interviewed 6 preschools in the area before choosing this school for my two daughters. If academics are important to you, this is the ONLY school in Anaheim Hills for you! Within 1 month my oldest daughter was reading - at age 4! Now she is in public school and the material they require her to do is a FULL YEAR behind Anaheim Hills Montessori. As far as I am concerned, this school would be the perfect test study for how to fix our education system. Teach to each child's ability and don't be afraid to challenge them - even at 4! Both of my daughters could read, write, add and subtract BEFORE entering Kindergarten. A+ in my book!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

Very dispointed. The principal was very unprofessional. NOt child-centered and nuturing. If you're looking for home away from home for your loving youngsters, this is a wrong place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

We are very pleased with this school. We have 2 boys who currently attend this school. One in first grade and the other in primary class- preschool. The teachers and staff are very approachable. They are always available to speak with you regarding your child's progress. I have a nephew the same age as both my boys in public school/preschool and the things they are learning compared to public education is non-comparable. We are very impressed with this school and will continue to recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

This school is phenomenal. The teachers truly care and the academic level is very high. I have 3 kids that have attended & will be attending here and I continue to refer friends and family to this school. The environment is clean, friendly and the teachers & principal are easily accessible & readily available to speak. I leave my children there with no worries and know that they are in great hands. I have a network of at least 20 families who share my enthusiasm for this school and it's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I totally agree with the rated posted April 26,2010 and December 14,2009. This school director is very un-professional when it come to respect and answer the concerns to the parents. Anyway, This school is far worster than any public school in the Anaheim hills area. I already transfer my two kids from this school to Hillsborough Private School in Anaheim hills. So far, I am please with the school and the principle. I suggest any parents in the Anaheim Hills area , specially who have kids in the Anaheim hills montessori school, please take your kids out of this school and move them to either public school or Hillsborough Private School. Thank you all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

Don't be fooled by its looks. I have seen public schools that offer much more than this school does. The students are taught through rote memorization, and rarely does the teacher use even the white board as a visual aid. The 'computer time' is just word processing. They don't even have internet access, which I feel is essential to the success of our children in today's society. I would encourage parents to ensure that their children retain at least the same rights as they would have in public schools, such as the right to use the restroom whenever they need to. These are not guaranteed in the private school setting and are dealt with poorly at this school, in my opinion.


Posted January 7, 2009

This school is not child-centered or developmentally appropriate for early education. The administration was not responsive to my concerns in these areas. Teachers are not accessable to parents. The curriculum focuses on memorization and out-of-date teaching practices. My child was not happy at this school and is now a successful GATE student in the public school system. She was treated quite poorly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

We love AMA. Our son went here for 2 years and only because we moved away did he stop. Even though we are now 20 miles away, we are still thinking about sending him back to AMA. Well rounded with Academic time and play time. We highly recommend AMA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

High academic programs. Nice facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

My child will be attending the school. I will let you all know the outcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

Both my kids are attending Anaheim Hills Montessori. My oldest child has been at this school for 4 years. It has always been a great school. Great education. My oldest is in 3rd grade and there are only four other kids her age. That is one of the reasons we will be leaving this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 67% 11%
White 15% 26%
Hispanic 13% 52%
Black 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Chintha Jayaratna
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6274 Santa Ana Canyon Road
Anaheim, CA 92807
Phone: (714) 283-5858

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT