Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gauer (Melbourne A.) Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Anaheim

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $292,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,590.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2014

Gauer elementary school does not have a good sistem when it comes to safety for children. They leave front gate open and have easy acces to kindergarden children they are the first door when you come in the gate they do not monitor the kindergardeners when they go to the restroom witch are outside the class room so anything can happen to them. It also takes a lot for them to do something about bullying. The principle will only do something about any problems or concerns if you involve a lawyer into the conversation, witch I think is sad. The teachers on the other hand care about their students and are great at teaching they take there time with any child and make sure they are caught up. The only thing is that there curiculum for learning metirial is slower then any other school in Orange County example other schools kindergardeners are already in multiplication and division Gauer does not. They also have way to many days off. And that is why I give Gauer 1 star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Gauer Elementary is a wonderful place to learn and to work! I have taught here for a number of years and feel privileged to be a part of Gauer's learning community. We have committed and enthusiastic parents who work with staff in order to make the most of the resources we have, to meet the needs of our students. We offer a variety of enrichment classes which provide our students with opportunities to explore and experience beyond academics. Gauer has a focus on building character strengths of staff and students and a goal of creating lifelong learners.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 14, 2014

Gauer is the "Dream School"! All of the teachers LOVE teaching there and it is obvious in the way the treat the students. Even with the budget cuts they have been able to implement an arts program (music, art, and dance) through a grant the teachers applied for themselves. Gauer focuses on the whole child teaching of course the basics of reading, writing and math but social studies, science, music and art are not forgotten at this school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2014

I've been at Gauer since I was a Preschooler. My teachers have all been really nice and my princpal Dr. Shroeder is the best princpal EVER. I'm a 5th grader and it's my 7th year at Gauer. Gauer is the only elementry school I've attended and the only one I want to attend. I have friends there that I NEVER want to leave. Gauer has great students and staff. It's the type of school that feels like a second home. I wish I could stay at Gauer forever. Sadly, that won't work very well. The world can be a harsh placet, but I love Gauer. I haven't had the food there because I don't find it very appetising, but that because of budget cuts. Gauer deserves more money and I'm not just saying that because I go there. I know I don't have that big of a chance of the money for my school, but I'd make my AMAZING school even amazinger,if that's even possible. If Gauer dosen't win the money the school will still.be amazing. I hope you understand how amazing Gauer is and how my school deserves to win the money. Thank You !!


Posted April 3, 2014

The school staff has gone above and beyond to provide the best possible educational environment for each and every scholar who attends school here. Every person is invested and actively involved in creating a positive and successful educational experience that not only cultivates but inspires each young scholar's mind to become self motivated, life long learners. The most important factor that makes this school exceptional is the total commitment of each staff member to provide instruction to meet the needs of each scholar's individual needs, even if it means going above and beyond the traditional means of instruction.


Posted April 2, 2014

The principal and teachers really care about the students. They work together to deliver a high quality, innovative curriculum. I spent a day at the campus and was very impressed at the high level of commitment to education of both the teachers and students.


Posted April 2, 2014

Gauer is a great school!!! Scholars are continuously engaged and enthusiastic about learning. They have amazing teachers, staff, and administration :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2013

The principal and teachers care about their students. There is a lot of parent involvement and everybody works hard to provide an excellent academic education as well as a healthy environment for all the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

Gauer Elementary is a great school. The principal and teachers care about their students and work hard to provide an excellent acadamic education. They want their students to be great scholars, but also to discover their talents. This year Gauer is offering an arts program after school. Students will have the opportunity to dance, do art, or learn how to play an instrument. This is why Gauer is great.


Posted October 13, 2013

I am thrilled to be the Principal of Gauer Elementary School. The sense of community we have evolved is apparent in all we do. Truly, Scholars + Staff + Parents = Gauer Power! While we successfully provide our scholars the standard curriculum (i.e., English-language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, and P.E./health), we believe our scholars deserve even more. For this reason, we provide a variety of enrichment activities such as art, dance, choral/instrumental music, computer programming, leadership development, and sports activities. We host a number of family field trips and events. Our school has become the hub of activity for the surrounding community where families bond together and with the school to serve the children well. I'm writing this review to thank everyone that has made our school's growth possible. Special thanks go to CTA's Institute for Teaching for their provision of a $20,000 grant this year to make the Gauer Dream School a reality.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2013

This school is a dynamic example of positive change. I have observed Malbourne A. Gauer Elementary school as a community member. The school is distinguished by two specifics: its leadership and its test scores. The latter is a sole function of the former. Without the specific leadership of its visionary principal, Dr. Debbie Schroeder, the school was destined to the same decline into mediocrity as most other schools in Anaheim City School District. Dr. Schroeder intercepted the school at its low point where scores and morale were at the bottom of the district's ratings. The school is now #7. The school made a 98 point gain in its first year after Dr. Schroeder influenced its approach to educating scholars. What more could a community want? That said, Dr. Schroeder didn't waste time basking in success. She instead moved forward and forged ahead with the idea of a strengths based Gauer Dream School. The momentum is here and hopefully will continue toward a strong future of success and holistic education for its students and scholars that benefits themselves and their communities wherever they go in life having learned to maximize and share their best strengths and talents.


Posted September 29, 2013

Gauer School has won a $20,000 grant this year that allows for art, music, and dance during our instructional day. This grant, a small part of our ongoing Dream School Project, guarantees that our scholars achieve greater heights utilizing their strengths which in turn bolsters their confidence in academics and give them hope for the future. As a result of our Dream School Project we have added many after-school classes like volleyball, running club, a dance academy, art, daily music lessons, PAL, and have plans for tennis and photography lessons. Our goal is that every scholar signs up for at least one after-school class. Gauer School is a great place to learn and teach.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 6, 2011

I was a student here a long time ago and "Promoted" 6th Grade in 1998. The teachers and all the principles I've had for this school have all been wonderful and lively and full of energy... back then they didn't use computers all the time. The school had helped me through a lot that had gone on in my life and I'm thankful I went to Gaur Elementary. My best memories are here at Gaur with old friends and my 5th and 6th grade teacher (same person) we had thrown two surprise parties for her at the end of the year each year and has just been an awesome school willing to work with students no matter what they are going though in their personal lives.


Posted February 18, 2010

This is an outstanding school serving the children in Anaheim. The principal for the last two years has been instrumental in turning this school around. Debbie Schroeder is an extraordinary leader with a deep commitment and heart for the staff, parents, and students ('scholars,' as she calls them). In her two years of leadership, she has raised the school's API from 647 to the current 787. Gauer has gone from the bottom decile of the state to the fourth. In 2007, the school was ranked last in the District (#24); today it is ranked #3. Gauer provides Running Club, PAL, Jr. PAL, ST Music Club, Art Colony, Reading Club, Paikea Productions, and soon, Baton Club for its scholars. In addition, the school has science shows, student talent shows, Family Movie Nights, Fall Festivals, and Spring Fiestas. Great parent involvement, too! Truly, a great school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2009

Gauer Elementary is a safe and friendly school environment with quality education and high expectations of their students, families, and staff. Gauer offers an on-site Preschool and GATE programs. Gauer is also great because they have a rewards raffle for the students who show improvement each month for all grade levels. Parent involvment is highly encouraged but not forced at this school. This school is a uniform school with an on- site parent center that sells uniforms with the school's logo for your convenience. Throughout the school year, they have festivals, book fairs, and other fun events that involve the students, their families, and school staff. Gauer Power !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

I've had nothing but good experiences. The school staff, teachers and Ms. Reynaga always have the students best interests at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

The school pays too much attention to teach the students who speak spanish and not that much for students of other countries. The best thing on that school is Mrs. O'Malley, a forth grade teacher who uses interesting ways of amking students understand math concepts. My child is very happy at her math class. I wish other forth grade teachers were like her, using hand on experience activities and not just getting things from the computer to teach our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2006

The level of academic programs seem okay to me. My son has been attending Gauer since K grade. He is now in 5th grade. I have noticed this year to be a very 'slow' year for him. He had several problems with keeping up with kids in his grade level, but with his and my perseverance, he has been able to succeed. There are no accelerated programs available to help a child meet or exceed in his abilities. This school has no extracurricular activities. Parent involvement level is high. They always encourage the parent to participate (which is great if he/she has no job). Unfortunately, I am not able to take advantage of such due to working a full time job.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

790

Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

790

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
20%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Females39%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented64%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state33%

Math

All Students68%
Females54%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented82%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Females33%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner3%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented70%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate29%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state35%

Math

All Students66%
Females69%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females63%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state54%

Math

All Students75%
Females76%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner65%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students54%
Females56%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state51%

Math

All Students78%
Females83%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner62%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state78%

Science

All Students50%
Females48%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Females27%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability35%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only43%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state35%

Math

All Students40%
Females29%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 81%
Asian 7%
White 5%
Black 3%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
English language learners 52%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Debra Schroeder
Fax number
  • (714) 517-9232

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

810 North Gilbert Street
Anaheim, CA 92801
Phone: (714) 517-8908

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT