Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Juarez (Benito) Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Anaheim

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

There is a really big diffentence since Dr. Baeza left. He used to be seen everywhere. The lunch tables were organized. We moms stand in the park and can't believe how different the school was this last year. The noise level at the lunch tables is unbearable. Mrs. Roman is not that well liked probably because noone can tell she's the principal. When you hear her speak or say things to the kids, you can tell she's trying to show she's in tune with the kids but they don't respect her like they respected Mr. Baeza. How can the district allow someone to ruin what another has done? It just is so obvious who has leadership and who doesnt. I hope they change this principal soon before my little cousins are ready to go there. The district did a bad thing putting in Mrs. Roman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

This is a wonderful and really great school i honestly have loved all of the years i spent there i have been going to Benito elementary since about 2nd grade and i really love the teachers and the staff members they are incredibly generous and polite they make you feel like family. The principle is amazing well was bc he just got transferred sadly and it was horrible because Dr.baeza had helped Benito Juarez so much and had been a great principle through all those years and brought up our test scores by at least 180+. I really enjoyed being at that school they have gotten me so far and helped so much and they surely will do the same with their future students for i am already going to middle school! This is an amazing a really recommend taking your students to this school. In fact this school can help you so much i know this because my mothers BOSS went to Benito Juarez as a child then to south,then to Katella and now he successfully owns his own law and governing business. This is an amazing and i really loved going to this school i really think that this school had a perfect balance between education and having fun and doing activities.Its a lovely school i guarantee it.


Posted June 26, 2012

My daughter just finished her Kindergarten year at Juarez. The principle is a wonderful leader and holds high standards for the teachers. The school staff is welcoming and very friendly. We are part of the Dual Immersion program and have met wonderful families that care about their children's education and are very involved. My daughter can't wait to start her 1st grade year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

My children love coming to school at Juarez. This school has raised test scores from low 700's to 816! This was all under the direction of the new principal, Mr. Baeza. I know my children will be prepared for the future. Besides raising test scores, he has started new activities such as Lunch with a Loved One and Family Friday. This has helped connect the school with the families. I know everyone at Juarez cares about my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

Our principal, Mr Baeza has shown great leadership and involvement in the education of our kids. I'm very encouraged by him and all our teachers as they challenged our kids to reach a higher goal. Parent involvement is essential if our aim is to teach more than just the standards. Parents, get involve!! Get to know your teachers & administrators!!! YOU are part of your children's education!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

I couldn't be happier with the level of education that my children are receiving/have received. I feel the school offers a challenging curriculum with many after school activities. I am pleased with the leadership and feel that the principal cares about the students. The teachers are helpful, caring, and truly wants what is best for my child. All in all, this is a great school and I would suggest it to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

I would not mind speaking with you about the mix-up with the honor sign that we give to STAR Honor students. This review (message) is being submitted by Mr. Baeza, the school principal. Please stop by to speak with me or make an appointment to ensure that I am available. I can also be found around campus. I hope we can speak about what happened with your child and somehow make it right. I can't undo the hurt feelings but I would like an opportunity to hear out what may have happenened. Thank you!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 4, 2011

My two kids go to this school. I specifically choose this school for them because all I saw were nothing but great reviews. But they have really disappointed me this time!!!!! My daughter who just got a "honor student award" sign at a assembly was just asked to return it because they made a mistake and she didn't deserve it. I understand if you made a mistake but do you really have to ruin the child's hopes this way? She is extremely sad and all I can tell her is you did a great job!!! All I can say is where is this schools remorse?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

I am a former "Beaver". All my former teachers were and still are great! Trust me, if and when you enroll your child to Benito Juarez he/she will sure to love it!


Posted November 1, 2009

My son went through all grades K-6 and every teacher was great. My dauther is currently in G-5 and doing great. Her teachers have been great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2009

I feel this school worrys more about money than a child learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

I love this school my daughter who will be in 3rd grade GATE program loves to go to school and has had a wonderful experience so far I was not keen on the idea of a public school I was leaning toward private school, but I find that the entire staff truly cares about the Students, i do wish that they had music my daughter loves to sing, but they do have a running club and the clue me in club maybe soon they will have choir, they did have a end of school talent show.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

I love this school! I had my child in a school that had a rating of 9 and was completely underwhelmed! The staff is totally amazing. The teachers couldn't be better. I expect that Juarez will be rated higher and higher every year. The teachers care about the students and it shows every time I am on campus. My child loves learning, and that is the best I could ever expect. This school totally outshines the 'blue ribbon' school my child was in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

This school is a great one. They have caring and helpful teachers and also a wide variety of after school programs for students. The school atmosphere in this school is very nice and appropriate. If any parent lives in Anaheim, i suggest them this school for their young child to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

I have to agree that there are too few enrichment opportunities at Juarez. The focus is primarily on reading but both my kids are proficient readers. The schools scores have increased, the teachers are great and the new principal is outstanding (the VP too) Hopefully, the budget will improve and the extra-curriculars will increase. They also need to improve math instruction. (A few great teachers, but also a few who hate math and are not very good at it)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2008

I love this school its clean nice theres great students and wonderful teachers!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 8, 2008

I have had some disappointments with them, but I m sure that is true with all schools! I did decide to leave my girls there mainly because of the redistricting they have done! Most of the kids now that go there live in the neighborhood. I ve been told they expect a big jump in their scores this year! I really hope so, my children really love it there, and all the staff have been very helpful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2007

Benito Juarez has gone through major improvements over the years. As a former student myself, I must say that the school is starting to get more serious about education and raising test scores. This school is one of the best schools in the district with a helpful teachers and caring adminstrators. Also a brand new and beutiful campus. The GATE program here is also made wonderful changes over the year with higher cirriculum and also offering grades 3-6 for GATE and not require GATE students to transfer.


Posted August 20, 2007

My experience with the school was very negative. I had a terrible time trying to get services for my ADHD/ADD children (have two) Hope you parents out there have better luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

Within city of Anaheim. Benito Juarez is a great school, great teachers, helpfull office staff and great organization & best of all 'It's brand-new'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

824

Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

824

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+4

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females56%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disability31%
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only55%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%

Math

All Students73%
Females73%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disability54%
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner77%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students37%
Females50%
Males26%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability39%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented48%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate45%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state34%

Math

All Students69%
Females67%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner51%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented91%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females58%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state52%

Math

All Students65%
Females58%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner25%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females63%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented87%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students73%
Females75%
Males70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state75%

Science

All Students53%
Females56%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented77%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females75%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state68%

Math

All Students57%
Females63%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 79% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 11%
White 9% 26%
Black 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cecilia Roman
Fax number
  • (714) 517-9235

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

841 South Sunkist Street
Anaheim, CA 92806
Phone: (714) 517-8923

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT