Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dale Junior High School

Public | 7-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2014

Check it out! This school is getting on track and my son enjoyed it his 1st year at Dale! For those parents who talk about the principles. Hahahaha... They are doing their job! So how about this? Don't blame them for doing your job as a parent!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

This school has the worse principal & vice principals! Not interested in being approachable to help the students! Many near miss accidents in there parking lot! They seem not to care about the kid's getting hit! The teacher's are not attentive to the students learning! Seems like everybody who works here is only in it for a paycheck! Took my child out because I couldn't tolerate it anymore! My child deserves better I believe if he spoke Spanish he may have had a better experience at DALE Jr. High in Anaheim school district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Well I don't know about the years in the past, but 2012-2013, I had an amazing time at Dale. The teachers were AMAZING! Funny, nice, and responsible. The few teachers that people disliked were the really strict teachers, but I didn't find anything wrong with them they're just doing their job. I suggest this school to anyone. The ONLY thing I didn't like was the assistant principle. She was really mean, but she came from Orangview school I think. The best experience was my history class, my teacher, Mr U, was probably the best teacher in the school. He explained things really well, was very nice, and made everything interesting.I loved this school, and I'm gonna miss it!


Posted October 16, 2012

#1 The staff member refuses to release records-which is against the California Law.She tells me to have our current school call her. #2 Current school calls and request records (they have a copy of records release-signed by parent and and ready to fax it.They still refuse to release records and yell at the other school's admission staff. #3 They yell at me calling me a negligent parent for not having records (I never received them.) #4 I decided I had enough- so while I call district,staff admits that she can't find the records. What is going on at this school? So for your negligence in the office, you try to cover it up by berating and place the blame on me? You have a problem doing our job? You really should be ashamed of yourself! I'm sorry, but there are to many unemployed people that love to have your job and would take them seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2011

Just to let you know that I would not recommend this school, if this is your child's home school, go to the district and get a transfer quick. The teachers are good, but must stay on top of them, my child turned in the work but had to do the assignment again because some of the teachers willl lose the work. The office staff (attendance office) is great, but the principal and the assistant principal really need some training themselves. Need to get rid of the ICE program, yes they call it that there, it is a place where your child goes when he/she gets in trouble can be for something small and they are sent there. The child would do the work there, but most of the time the teacher would not get the work and makes the child fall behind. Also the child writes a letter and it is mailed to the home. Need to change the name of the ICE program because the school is mostly hispanic and to call the program ICE??!! This is the worst school that we had ever experienced. Really need to revamp this school.


Posted January 5, 2011

I went to this school last year. I asked for a few honors classes and I got them after they saw how great my grades were. The teachers were amazing. My Math teacher, Mrs. Tarver. Had tutoring during lunch, before school, and after school. I had all A's and everyone was nice. Of course there were a few mean kids. But, everyone was nice. My new school, San Tan Jr. High School in chandler Az. everyone is mean and stuckup. But this school, the people are much nicer. The only problem with this school is that it is in a bad area and not much money going into the school. But, I had a good time and was happier in this school than in my new school which is in a better area.


Posted March 7, 2009

my daughter has 4 honor classes and is in the AVID program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

My two children both attened Dale JHS. My son had 3 honors classes in 8th and 4 in 7th. My daugther had all honors in both 7th and 8th. In 8th grade both of my children were involed in AVID a great program which is teacher by, Dr.Schwartz one of the best teachers. I think the school needs more activites and needs to have more school spirit. Although the principal does go on the announcements but they should have a bit of more spirit. A good thing ab out this school id the Honor Roll breakfast that is great both my children promoted with a 3.9 gpa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

This school was fair. I had 4 honor classes. It didn't have too much school spirit and some of the teachers were awesome. There wasn't a lot of clubs though. People there are pretty cool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2007

This school was awesome I had 4 honors classes and Dale offers lots of clubs this school rocks this year I am going to high school but dale has been a good part of my life
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2007

My son has had a wonderful experience at this school. He has 4 honors classes with great teachers, band, foreign language, and an exceptional award winning AVID program. The discipline and safety are exceptional and are what make this school better than average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

Dale Jr. High is a fairly good school in my opinion. Although it lacks some extracurricular activities and clubs it does have a few. The teachers are great and try their best to connect with the students and help them the best they can. It is, however, true that the school rules are slightly enforced a bit much mainly tucking in the shirts. -Anonymous Student
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2006

Not a happy experiance for me and my child at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Dale offers both standard classes and honors classes in a variety of subjects (English, Science, History, and Math). Students can get involved in ASB and parents are encouraged to get involved in Site Counsel and PTA to determine where school funds are spent. My student has had some wonderful teachers.Sports programs are available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2003

Some are beginning to care more about rules and conformity than they do about our children. They treat them as if they were in reform school and not public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

764

Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

764

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

569 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

544 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

442 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
26%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

561 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
39%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
6%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

602 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

574 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females53%
Males51%
African American30%
Asian67%
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Native54%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)49%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)62%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to state44%

Math

All Students52%
Females50%
Males52%
African American30%
Asian71%
Filipino62%
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Native40%
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disability39%
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate63%
Parent education - declined to state47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students34%
Females37%
Males29%
African American20%
Asian69%
Filipino59%
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disability18%
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented85%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state32%

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females56%
Males43%
African American36%
Asian67%
Filipino71%
Hispanic or Latino43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disability43%
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner10%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate47%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students3%
Females3%
Males3%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino2%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)6%
Economically disadvantaged3%
Not economically disadvantaged0%
Students with disability2%
Students with no reported disability3%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only4%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state2%

Geometry

All Students100%
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state100%

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students35%
Females35%
Males35%
African American32%
Asian59%
Filipino52%
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disability12%
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only47%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state35%

Science

All Students59%
Females59%
Males58%
African American41%
Asian88%
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 69%
White 12%
Asian 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Black 2%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/AN/A
English language learners 29%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Daphne Hammer
Fax number
  • (714) 220-4076

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

900 South Dale Street
Anaheim, CA 92804
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 220-4210

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT