Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Anaheim, CA
Students enrolled: 2,301
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Western High School 4

Posted June 14, 2011
- a community member
I am a current student at Western High School. The teachers are exceptional. They don't get too angry unless a bad student is in the class. They will try to remove that student to give other students a better learning environment. Yes, there are a lot of fighting, but as long as you stay away from those people and be friends with the right people it's a good school. There are over 100 clubs which include community service and cultural clubs including Filipino,Polynesian,Romanian, and other cultural clubs. We also spread diversity in the school and promote anti-bullying. Everyone in the school feels equal.

Western High School 0
no rating

Posted February 17, 2010
- a student
now im a regular african american student of western highscool dont get straight A's but dont get F's i dont want to say its a good school but i dont want to say it aint bad i dont think parents can say anything that has to do with the inside of the school like its safe and the people there are good kids, yes the teachers excelent i say but dont think there still isnt gang banding and fighting involved if i got to choose i would go to cypress high. like i said teachers excellent many students not but its my opinion any one that goes there would say that but if you stay with the right people you should be okay.


Western High School 0
no rating

Posted January 08, 2010
- a student
i think that this a great school i feel safe when my mom drops me off everyday

Western High School 5

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Western High School 5

Posted February 09, 2009
- a student
I love western it is so diverse and the environment is so friendly students and teachers are so welcoming (well except ms. garcia) many students are involved in school activities and are willing to help anyone in need


Western High School 5

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
This school is great and has one of the best athletic program in the area. The kind of kids the school gets it does the best. I love it.

Western High School 0
no rating

Posted March 09, 2008
- a community member
The administration, faculty and staff of WHS are exceptional. As a member of the very active and involve WHS Alumni Association, I get a chance to interact with students from over fifty years of classes at WHS. There were some very lean periods at the school during the 80's and mid 90's, but on a whole, the school has a history of providing a quality educational and social experience for any children who put the effort into their own role as a student. The school embraces the diversity of its students, as well as its rich heritage. International Week and the Memorial Day recognition of former students who have sacrificed their lives in service of our country are just examples of the Pioneer Spirit which the administration promotes and encourages from all the students. Parents also get out of the school what they put into it. Get involved instead of complaining.

Western High School 5

Posted May 26, 2007
- a parent
This school is academically strong. Its test scores go up every year. Ths honor students are very intelligent.


Western High School 4

Posted May 25, 2007
- a parent
My son is a freshman this year at Western. He had gone to Christian school his whole life. We have not encountered any of the problems we anticipating in a public school. His teachers and sports coaches have been wonderful. He's made a lot of new friends from all walks of life. We did encounter one problem on his schedule when his sport changed, but it was quickly resolved with a couple phone calls to his counselor. I have not met the new principal but I have seen him frequently watching the different sporting events. So my overall experience of Western High School has been a very positive one.

Western High School 1

Posted May 16, 2007
- a parent
This is a horrible school. Try to send your child some where else if you can. The vice principal does nothing.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Western High School
501 South Western Avenue, Anaheim, CA  92804
(714) 220-4040
Last modified Western High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Western High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top