Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Catherine's Academy

Private | K-8 | 146 students

St. Catherine's is best known for its leadership program.
 
 

 
 

Living in Anaheim

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $295,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,510.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2013

If you are at all considering putting your son in this school, DO NOT HESITATE! You will not find another school that will dedicate time, compassion and overall genuine caring for your child. I love the small class sizes and individual attention giving to my son. Every child is held accountable and truly taught how to be responsible. The military instruction they receive is age appropriate so don't let that scare you off. I truly wish they went through high school because I would most definitely send my boy there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

I have been involved in teaching and educational administration, for the past 30+ years and out of all the schools I personally attended, or taught at, St. Catherine's is easily, without any qualification or reservation, one of the very finest schools on the West Coast for elementary education. The biggest mistake we made with our son is that we did not enroll him at this school from day 1. It is an absolutely incredible place to send you child. A parent could not ask for anything more. The administrator, Sister Johnellen is a tremendous woman, and the faculty/staff are also absolutely stellar. If you have a boy and want to provide for him an exceptional education St. Catherine's is the ONLY school to have him attend. One a scale of one to ten ---with ten being the top highest mark - I would give the school a 20. Its completely off the scale. The Catholic Diocese for Orange County should be EXTREMELY PROUD of Saint Catherines. I feel most fortunate my son was able to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

St. Catherine's is truly a unique and wonderful school with a proven track record in academics, sports, leadership and spirituality. Having attended the school 30+ years ago, I have first hand knowledge of this school. And now that I am older, I have come to really appreciate what St. Catherine's taught me so early in my life. I encourage parents to really consider what St. Catherine's has to offer - I remain grateful to this day.


Posted October 10, 2009

St. Catherine's is an amazing, special place. The teachers and staff honestly care about the boys. They have high expectations for the students. The student - teacher ratio is excellent. My son could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

It's an amazing school! My son changed in so many ways, he became responsible, respectful and a fine young man. The leadership skills they offer at St. Catherine's are wonderul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

Everyting we could ask for in a school! The Sisters and teachers care about us and our children. My sons have been able to focus and learn self-discipline and have fun at the same time. I like the stability of a school that has been successfully helping students learn for 120 years. Needs more parents to be involved in a positive way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2008

Great Military Program in terms of fostering leadership, character and honor. Average Academic Program - teachers are rigid and not innovative; academics definetely need serious upgrading to be on par with comparable schools. Quality of Teaching staff needs to be reviewed! Language Arts & Math are without a doubt the strongest. Athletics are OK..need to add other sports. Tech resources are improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

Excellent music program, exceptional Athletics. Great place for and active boy!


Posted April 24, 2007

I love how peaceful the 8 acre campus is! All the boys were so nice and all said 'hi'. It is great to find a school with so many Nuns!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

I sent my boys to this school for summer school, my boys & I loved the school program, its the best, the had a great experiance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

Our son has been at this school now for 7 years. He loves the school. The individual attention is terrific because of the small classes. The combination of a religious school to teach morals and military school for structure brings out a well rounded cadet with leadership qualities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

We could not have been more delighted with the qualitative aspects relative to the education our son received at St. Catherine's. The communication bridge between parents and teachers is excellent and should there be any issues they are proactively resolved immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 52%
White 26% 26%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Marching band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Sr. Johnellen Turner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
  • http://www.stcatherinesacademy.org/info/
Gender
  • All boys
Boarding options
  • Boarding school
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • AMCS
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (714) 772-3004

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Korean
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • Carpool
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Cadet Leadership
  • Community service
  • Marching band
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • St. Catherine's Academy is a Catholic school with a military tradition for boys in kindergarten through 8th grade. We provide young men with a faith-filled foundation for lifelong success. Based on the Dominican Pillars of community, ministry, study, and prayer, our unique program includes faith formation, all-boys academics, and a military tradition for leadership and self-motivation. We offer small classes, technology, marching band, athletics, and much more. Day and boarding students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Servite High School
Mater Dei High School
New Mexico Military Institute
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 North Harbor Boulevard
Anaheim, CA 92805
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 772-1363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT