Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hephatha Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 305 students

We are best-known for our Music Program and Expanded Curriculum.

 
 

Living in Anaheim

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $426,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2013

This school has so much extracurricular activities for the students. They have Spanish, music, art classes, sports, choir, band.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

This school has a huge heart for its students, and the Principal is on the cutting-edge of what is new in strong academic programs. Hephatha truly offers "the whole package" that a parent is looking for in a private school education. Teachers who retire after 20+ years of service are certainly not considered "dwindling staff"; Hephatha's Principal, Teachers, Administrative Staff, students and Pastors are top-notch!


Posted October 31, 2010

We have been very pleased with the preschool program at Hephatha. Our five year old son has been learning new things, working on homework, and reading words! In just two months, we have seen him grow in both independence and academics. Mrs. Thompson is a dedicated and patient educator. She will forever be in our hearts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

The best decision my parents ever made was leaving this school. Yes, they have good intentions, and if your child needs more attention than others this is the school for them. I transferred to a big 3 (Salem, St. Johns, St. Pauls) school before I started middle school, and it made all the difference in the world. Now, in high school, I realize Hephatha can't give you the life skills that a bigger school can. High school isn't a tiny little pond. I felt overly prepared for high school after my years at a big 3 school, which Hephatha never could have done for me. I transformed from a quiet 'nerd' to an academically, musically, and spiritually gifted social butterfly after leaving Hephatha. I met more kids than ever, and went to high school feeling prepared, and knowing tons of people! Bigger schools prepare you for life in ways Hephatha can't.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2009

I too must disagree with the 'unsatisfactory' comment. Our eldest graduated from Hephatha the year before that review was made. He was on an accelerated pace in the public schools, and maintained that pace when we transferred to Hephatha. After taking placement exams during the application process for a private high school in the area, he was one of 5 kids with the highest placement scores. This was not the first nor last time a child from Hephatha achieved this honor. Conversely, we also have a child with learning disabilities. Hephatha was extremely instrumental in walking us through the process of testing and implementing an IEP. Their resource program is incredible. Unlike the atmosphere that the public schools seem to provide, their program is consistent in providing a positive, effective, and supportive environment - specific to each child's needs. Our's now feels academically successful and has made the honor roll!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

I disagree greatly with the parent that complained that Hephatha is unsatisfactory for children of above average intelligence. Both of my children have gone to Hephatha from Preschool to 8th grade, they have and are in the 98% in testing at both the elementary and high school level. They did not receive additional tutoring, they have learned from the exceptional, caring teachers and staff from Hephatha. The principal is strong in the Arts which is a bonus and is continually working hard to re-create the athletics program. Our Hephatha students are incredibly well-rounded in the Arts, Athletics, Foreign Language and Music. We are blessed to have such a wonderful caring (and not dwindling) staff to look after our children. And our principal is 2nd to NONE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

My children have attended Hephatha since Preschool and the love and learning starts there and continues to the day school. Both of my children have grown academically, which is evident in their very high Iowa Test Scores, but have also grown spiritualy and socially in a loving environment where character counts. The school is led by a woman who truy cares about the progress of each and every student. I know this because as a parent, I have the good fortune to be able to volunteer many hours at the school and I have witnessed the care and concern of this amazing staff first hand. I feel very blessed to be a part of a school that feels like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

Both of my children have attended Hephatha from preschool to 7th and 8th grade. The school has been a great place to learn, compete,make lifelong frienships, celebrate the arts, see the amazing strength that a Christian based education provides. I believe there is no more dedicated staff in the state. They teach as well as love all their students. The proof of this is how the alumni return year after year. They believe that Hephatha is their family and I believe the same. I have and will continue to recommend this school to all who desire a strong positive teaching school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

Hephatha is a wonderful school. These are some of the most amazingly dedicated teachers I have seen, and I am comparing to excellent public and private elementary schools in the area. The students are respectful toward each other, parents, teachers and other adults. I have found the academic program to be very satisfactory, especially compared with public schools in the area. In addition to classroom cirriculum, Hephatha offers Spanish, Music and Computer classes. After school sports include basketball, flag football and volleyball. It's the best of both worlds - great academics and programs in a smaller setting that is more attentive to your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

Great school. Great teachers (middle school) and wonderful principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2008

Unsatisfactory to say the least. If your child is average/above average in intelligence, they will be dragged behind by the lower leveled students. If your child needs serious help with academics, this school is good, but if not, do not attend here. The principal is focused on arts, and not athletics at all. PE program has gone downhill fast in the past few years. Academics program is dissapointing. Small, dwindling staff and lack of resources are causing this school to not improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 26%
Hispanic 13% 52%
Two or more races 10% 3%
Black 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Special education coordinator
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
Educational diagnostician
Computer specialist(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Dance club: Songleading
  • Drum line
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Music
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. KJ Voelker, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Fax number
  • (714) 637-0872

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Music
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Educational diagnostician
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Approved Parent Drivers
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Songleading
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Dance club: Songleading
  • Debate
  • Drum line
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Minecraft is our Game Club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • We offer the following expanded curriculum: Foreign Language: K-8th Music: Early Childhood-8th Computers: Early Childhood-8th P.E.: K-8th (students begin to dress out in 5th grade) Quality, affordable before and after-school care, including summer camp: "Camp Ohana" (1st-8th) and "Camp Keiki" (ECE-K). We are a smaller school, which gives our parents easy access to communication with their child's teachers, and a more personal feeling.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Orange Unified School District Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$2000 - $6000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
F.A.S.T. (http://ismfast.com/)

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Orange Lutheran High School or Crean Lutheran High School
Servite High School (all boys) or Rosary High School (all girls)
Canyon High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5900 East Santa Ana Canyon Road
Anaheim, CA 92807
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 637-0887

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT