Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Orange County Christian School

Private | K-12 | 141 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Anaheim

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $307,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,540.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

I have 2 sons ages 6 and 8. I am a very picky and involved parent who wouldn't enroll my sons if the school isn't performing to high expectations. I am highly pleased with the quality of the school. The academics are based on a curriculum that is a step above public schools. (My 8 year old attended Walt Disney School prior year. By many teachers, Walt Disney was esteemed and good. However, my son was bored and unchallanged. He is challanged to a good degree at OCCS. Ms. Watts, the 1st grade teacher set homework standards each week. If you do what is assigned, your child will excel. My 6 year old reads at a 2nd grade level and chapter books. He also learned to write cursive by 4 1/2 thanks to Ms. Leta. My 8 yr old son who scored an "above grade level" on the CST in public school now is a standard student without losing any academic momentum. They do the work assigned and they will excel. Mr. Watson of 3rd grade had high expectations of the students both in character and academia. What sets this school ahead of other schools is the type of teachers. The easy communication should be taken advantage of. If there was even a small incident with my sons, I would know about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

Wonderful Christ centered program. Schools like this need our support. The children are worth it. It is expensive to send children to private schools but this one is a good investment in my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

Schools are really important part of a person's life for both the kid as well as the parents as the childs life completely depends on the education he takes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

Wonderful staff, dedicated and caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

When I first decided to enroll my son in the first grade at this school, I was slightly unsure about the whole thing. The school is small, and unfortunately not very well funded, but they do a great job with the kids. I absolutely love the teachers and the daycare staff. The have an amazing woman who, basically, keeps the school running, Coni Phillips. I absolutely love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2008

Last year I put my son in the school just for the summer to see if we liked it. The students were some of the worst children I'd ever met, after repeatedly asking them to put sunscreen on my son, they never did, and the daycare staff was indignent. Worst school experience I've ever had. The only good things I have to say about this school is the easy payment option by paying online and the science teacher that donated his time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Orange county christian school is a small, school. There is one class for each grade. So if there is one or more child you dont really want your child to continue to be in the same class it's not possible. They will continue each year to be with the same children just diffrent teacher. They do have a few extracurricular activities available. I don't like that grades k-12th are all together on the same playground/area before and after school. The a.M. Daycare and p.M. Daycare is definently a big help to working parents. Although I dont feel comfortable with the adult/child ratio. There is ms. Nicky who is excellent and I feel does a great job watching the kids and what's happening on campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2006

My child is currently in the pre-k program. And I have noticed her learning since the start of year, but I wish she would be know more it is almost the end of year and she still does not know how to write her name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

I like the elementary shool; however, I have some reservations about the preschool. I am concerned about the quality of the teachers they hire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2004

This school is overall pretty but there are not many after school activities.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 26%
Hispanic 22% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 11% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 1%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Lewis
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Church of christ
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

641 South Western Avenue
Anaheim, CA 92804
Phone: (714) 821-6227

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT