Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Global Youth Charter School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
They take an interest in what is going on and are great about communicating with families.

Global Youth Charter School 5

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
My child loves this school. She gets one on one help when needed and prefers the smaller school setting where the teachers get to know you and take an interest. I love that there is a sense of community and that it's easy to get to.


Global Youth Charter School 1

Posted December 07, 2015
- a student
I have attended Global Youth since I was a freshman and have absolutely loved it... until this year. This school has gone from amazing to awful in a matter of three years. The amount of students has gone down, we do less extra-curricular activities, and the sports program has basically been ruined. The teachers are the only thing good about this school anymore. They are always willing to help with anything whether it pertains to school work or not. They genuinely care about their students. The principal on the other hand only cares for himself. He makes up his own rules about things and tries to control everyone at his own advantage. I don't know what happened because he was a decently good principal my freshman year, but now he is despicable. I'm greatly up settled because this school used to be so great. I wish it could go back to the way it used to be.

Global Youth Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 05, 2015
- a student
This teacher always has his students best interests in mind. He always sticks up for us and allows our voices to be heard.

Global Youth Charter School 1

Posted December 02, 2015
- a student
Would not recommend. Does not even have all the A through G requirements and has no real counselor for college preparation. Staff in general has trouble doing a good job and do not have good programs. Dependent on student body for events and functioning.


Global Youth Charter School 1

Posted May 05, 2015
- a teacher
As of 2014-2015, Global Youth is one of the WORST high schools to ever attend. The staff should have been the way it was in 2012-13 when every teacher actually did their job right. I heard what my child has to do for senior project and it's absolutely ridiculous! 120 hours, 15 page essay and a presentation in front of the whole school. You can't even do group or partner projects! Most schools usually have 8-12 hours with maybe a 1 page essay and an optional presentation. What are they trying to show anyway? It's not like they can show that they're an advanced school. They don't even have anything to offer. It's terrible that in order for any student there to meet their a-g requirements, they have to go to college the same time they're in high school. Not to mention the English learning system is terrible. My child said that the students in each grade all have the same homework assignment. Do you really think it's right for seniors and freshmen to have nearly the same homework? And not to mention it's so repetitive. Does the teacher even try to change their lesson plan? Also, the rules there are idiotic.

Global Youth Charter School 5

Posted October 23, 2012
- a student
I am currently a freshman at Global and I feel very welcome there. The teachers, all four of them, are great! They are all willing to help and explain things you don't understand. The students have also made me feel very welcome. As soon as you see the interaction between the students, evn freshmans interacting with the seniors, you can see, and feel the great relationships the whole school has with each other. Global is definitely family and a home away from home.

Global Youth Charter School 5

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
All of the staff at Global Youth has been caring and supportive of my child and our family. The office staff is quick to respond to my requests for information and calls. Although there is no lunch program the school clearly stressed at enrollment that students are to bring a lunch, and the office has emergency food available for students in the office if they forget to bring a lunch. The opportunity for academic, social, and emotional development is awesome. I've watched my child learn to set and track goals as well as grow in taking personal responsibility . Students can make the experience at this school whatever they choose. The sports and Youth and Government programs adds to the growth of the school. We are happy to have had the opportunity to be a part of this school as it continues to grow.


Global Youth Charter School 5

Posted December 22, 2007
- a parent
The interaction between students, faculty abd parents is outstanding. My daughter was at Center High and failing. She was not getting the needed help and there was no honest flow of communication between me and certain teachers. In a few short months at Global Youth, she has brought her GPA up a 3.45, is heavily involved in the new athletics program and is enjoying learning again, without all of the distractions she had at Center. Finally, Antelope parents have an alternative. And yes, there is a varsity athletics program, CIF sponsored, at Global Youth.

Global Youth Charter School
no rating

Posted November 25, 2007
- a parent
My child attends this school. There are so many great possibilities, but the principal does not seem able to make them happen. The school is starting to look a little better, but stil looks lifeless and abandoned. There is no lunch program available, so if my son forgets his lunch, he goes hungry all day. The new extracurricular activities are such an improvement, though. I wish there was more communication between the school and the parents, too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Global Youth Charter School
3243 Center Court Lane, Antelope, CA  95843-9111
(916) 339-4680
Last modified Global Youth Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Global Youth Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top