Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Antelope Meadows Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Antelope

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 19, 2005

My child started Kindergarten this year and I am very impressed With the personal attention Mrs. Campbell gives to each student.' Mrs. Campbell is has a great personality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

My child started Kindergarten this year and I am very impressed witht the personal attention Mrs. Franklin gives to each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

Antelope Meadows is a great school academically. Parental involvement has made it possible to keep art, P.E., and other programs available to our children. It has excellent teachers and the principal has made his staff happy to be there. I know a new principal is starting next year but the staff seems to really support her also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

My child has had tremendous academic growth in the 3 years attending Antelope Meadows. His STAR testing scores have increased to advanced levels, along with many of his classmates. Teachers have always been extremely helpful and truely are about the welfare and wellbeing of the children. They offer additional homework help for children in need of a little extra assistance. Drama and chorus are offered, as an afterschool program, but little focus is spent in this area. Most focus is on Reading and academics. I would recomend Antelope Meadows to anyone looking for a great school for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

There are currently no sports activities, and the art program is run by parents, I would like to see more exta curricular activities offered. Academically the school seems to do very well, and parent participation is greatly encourage with many programs offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

As a parent of a current student entering 2nd grade and a former student just graduated from 5th I have to say that I wouldn't want my children attending anywhere else for their impressionable years. It's the whole purpose we moved to Antelope. Antelope Meadows is the most fabulous school around. Mr. Kurtz is so wonderful and so concerned about the students. I have to give kudos to 3 outstanding teachers who know how to work with children, and I believe teacheing is their true calling, those teachers are Mrs. Olcomendy and Mrs. Flores, who stuck with my son through thick and thin out of love for their students, and then there is Mrs. Astle who took my oldest son under her wing, we can only hope that our middle child will have her for 3rd grade, as well. My final word for Antelope Meadows: Awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2004

Prinicipal seems like he wants to cover up problems not fix them. Teachers are great, parent involvement is great although at times you can't help becausce the same parents over & over volunteer their time besides the leadership this is a graet school that is improving staedily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

Antelope Meadows is a wonderful school. My kids are challenged academiclly. In fact the teachers posses the skills and caring to identify if your child needs help in a specific subject area and go the extra mile to help students achieve. Not only do all the kids adore the Principle Kurtz he also earns the respect of parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2004

My daughter recently tranferred from a private school that she had attended since preschool to Antelope Meadows. Prior to her first day, the office arranged for us to meet her new teacher. She was very pleasant, took the time to answer all our questions and our daughters. The class room was decorated in a very child friendly manner and we were all at ease on her first day. Her teacher buddied her up with a different girl in the class for each activity so she could get to know all of them, not just a select few like some schools I've heard have done. Our daughter now looks forward to school and the new friends she has made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2004

This school is fabulous. The principal goes above and beyond. I would not even consider sending my children to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2004

I just read the negative review to Antelope Meadows and am appalled; this is by far the best elementary school in the area! The personnel do take security very seriously; as a matter of fact I am asked every time I am on campus who I am going to see if I do not have a visitor's badge on. And, as far as academics, I love how the principal and vice-principal turned out to be blue after the school reached their 'just read' goal; that was an awesome motivator for the kids! I can not be more pleased that my two kids go to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2003

Last year i graduated the fith grade from Antelope Meadows School. I have been there since kindergarten and have never missed a year. This year I have to go to Antelope Crossing Middle School from 6-8th grade. The last day of school, I felt like I was leaving a second, home because I've been there from 6 to 11 years old. And I was familiar with it since 2 and a half because my older sister went to this school to. I love this school so much and it is very welcoming to new students. If I could, I would take this whole school over again from kindergarten!!!!! Mr. Kurtz is an awesome principal!!! Thanks for checking out my former school and hope you go to it!!! Bye!!! I graduated this school in 2003 with the best fith grade teacher ever, Miss Lloyd!!! Sincerely, Sabrina, the former student
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

869

Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

869

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females78%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability40%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females77%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females53%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asian50%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females78%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian58%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females80%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females80%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females79%
Males72%
African American64%
Asian67%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate78%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females70%
Males87%
African American64%
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students84%
Females81%
Males87%
African American64%
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner73%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate96%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 26%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Two or more races 11% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 11%
Black 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sara Wegner
Fax number
  • (916) 727-0373

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8343 Palmerson Drive
Antelope, CA 95843
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 770-8816

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT