Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Antelope Meadows Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Antelope

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

i love antelope meadows! great teachers and nice school. I actually went to antelope meadows when i was in second grade. proud to have my daughter attending
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

I have been very satisfied with the teachers and staff at Antelope Meadows. The teachers are very good with the kids and really go out of their way to make sure the kids are successful. The PTA is awesome and they have so many activities. It really feels like a close community. Overall I think this is great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2013

My ex moved to the area .My son was going to a school that was k-6. We where having issues with bullies so we decided to take him out of that school and put him in antelope.meadows even though it was k-5 and my son would only be here for one yr. All I can say was best decision ever. The kids and staff made my son feel welcomed. He had a wonderful yr ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

Antelope Meadows is a awesome school, we just moved into Antelope from the Bay Area, and I can truley say that this school has alot of great assets to it. 1. the PTA does amazing activites for the children and families!! 2. The front office staff are so friendly! 3. Mrs Talley is a awesome teacher, kiddos to her! 4. It is a nice campus 5. They have a Science teacher for 4/5 graders and a Art&Music program ran by parents...Ok here is what I don't like... the supervision of the students STINKS, I am always parked (waiting till school lets out) in the back where the playground is, and I am always seeing teachers during the childrens Freeplay time talking to eachother, and not watching the students, I can't tell you how many times I have seen kids being bullied in and around the playground areas, and no one is seeing this...I had to tell this one boy to stop picking on this other boy, it's EVERYONES job to STOP bullying, so if the teachers arent doing their job, a parent has to help the victim of bulling...I wish they would put a fence up around the school...but other than that my child has learned so much at this school, and keeps thriving...kuddos Antelope Meadows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

Antelope Meadows is a great school. My kids did an interdistrict transfer to this school after having attended a school in the Center district, and my kids have been given so many more opportunities to achieve here than in their former school. Also the teachers and staff are all very positive and my kids couldn't be happer. The PTA is great, and the school events they put on are very well organized and just a lot of fun for the whole family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

I gave Antelope meadows an average rating. The teachers are wonderful but the new Principal is less then to be desired. He lacks confidence to do his job correctly. Lets hope he learns from his mistakes and inspires his teachers & students to want to come to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

To agree with a prior review, we did as well only want to work within the boundaries of this school after careful research of the school and community. We are so happy and our child has excelled within the couple months of being here. Keeping it college focused and allowing the kids to "look out of the box" encapsulates a vision of a successful future partnered with a love of learning while making it tangible to the student. The events are so fantastic that you never want to miss them due to the commitment and continuity of the Principal, the staff and the parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2010

Love this school! The teachers have been wonderful and the staff as well. We would highly recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

I am really pleased with the school overall. With a child in Kindergarten, I didn't know what to expect. Our teacher is wonderful, PTA is fantastic, the grounds are lovely...we couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

With all the teachers that are always there, and involved in the student's learning, I feel that this is one of the best schools that my kids have gone too, (and I have had them at a couple schools.) I am actually so impressed with the school that when we decided to buy a home, we told our agent that the school boundaries were our boundaries.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

Both of my kids went through Antelope Meadows and it was the best school we've ever been to! The staff is so wonderful and caring. Kudos to Mr. Knox, Mr. Freeman and Mrs. Smith. You guys are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

My son is just finishing 2nd grade. Great school! He has been there since kindergarden and will finish his elementary there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

this is a great school. My daughter is in 5th grade now . Perfect teachers : mrs. DE Cur, mr. Graham, and now Mrs. Gaila. They are so organized!!! great academic programs!! Good job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2007

My son attended Antelope Meadows for K-2 and we were very happy with the school. We especially like the amount of parent involvement and community feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

I am very pleased with this school. My son was here from k-5 and improved each year he is now a freshmen in HS and still goes back to see his teachers here. My daughter in now in 2nd grade and doing awesome. She has the same teacher my son did for 2nd grade!! Her K & 1st grade teachers were awesome. This school has some of the best academic programs in the district. Parent involvement is outstanding. I recommend this school. The school, teachers, staff and the district are best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2006

This school is way above average. We moved from the North Bay where my daughter was in the 'best' school in the area and Antelope Meadows far exceeds that school. The after school programs and quality of education are superior. The choir, drama and art clubs are amazing. As always, public education is what you make of it and being involved is always going to put you ahead of the class. The school is large but it truly has a small town feel because of the wonderful staff. They really go out of the way to get to know each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2006

We have been very happy with this school. My son went in from a homeschool environment. His teachers were great and the principal and staff supportive. It is a very large school of 900 but the classes run smoothly with a behavior system that works for most kids. Communication is the key. Email or ask how your child is doing. Meet the principal and staff, volunteer( they always need art docents and it is easy and fun). They also have community events you can take your family to at the school that the pTA puts on. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

Good school...but if you have a child who is different(above average intellegence with testing), they are not able to venture to far to support your child without you having to jump through hoops for help. It is not true that they want parent involvement...they only want it if you are quiet and stay out of the way. God help you if you want information like what is you childs reading level or ask other questions. They assume you need information for a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

I had my three daughters in this school for the past 3 years. The teachers are great and the principle leadership is wonderful. The school area is very safe. The academic process in this is wonderful compared to other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2005

It is great school. Teachers and principle leadership are wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

869

Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

869

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-5

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females78%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disability40%
Students with no reported disability69%
English learner47%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females77%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females53%
Males48%
African Americann/a
Asian50%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability52%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate27%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)53%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students75%
Females78%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asian58%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner60%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females80%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females80%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females79%
Males72%
African American64%
Asian67%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate78%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students79%
Females70%
Males87%
African American64%
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate72%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students84%
Females81%
Males87%
African American64%
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learner73%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate96%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)88%
Parent education - college graduate76%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 51%
Hispanic 22%
Two or more races 10%
Asian 7%
Black 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/AN/A
English language learners 24%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sara Wegner
Fax number
  • (916) 727-0373

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8343 Palmerson Drive
Antelope, CA 95843
Website: Click here
Phone: (916) 770-8816

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT