Advertisement
Advertisement

Cornerstone Christian School

Private | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Antioch

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $142,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 3, 2014

My daughter absolutely loves going to the school. The teachers are amazing, the children are well behaved, the student to teacher ratio is small which has allowed for lots of 1 on 1 attention when needed. I am very happy with how much my daughter has grown spiritually and academically while attending CCS. downfalls of CCS, it is VERY expensive, although you do get what you pay for... On top of a $470+ tuition (which has just been raised) their are TONS of "mandatory" fundraiser, donations, and additional random fees that add up throughout the year. For a middle class family like mine these "mandatory" money add on's can make it pretty tight at times...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

I graduated from this school. It is completely unprofessional. Everything that they do is for appearances. Like they'll have an elective class and not grade all year then realize how bad that looks and start grading in the last quarter and fail people for no reason. The male teachers and principle are like best friends so there is no aspect of professionalism between the principle and them, he wouldn't punish them or see their faults because of their rediculous "bromance". The respect level for their students is incredibly low. I can definitely say i will NOT miss this school.


Posted June 14, 2013

I have had all 3 of my children attend Cornerstone. We have gone from pre-school thru 10th grade. Teachers are human, so no matter what school you go to you are going to deal with different personalities from year to year. Almost all of the teachers at Cornerstone have been amazing and loving! Yes, there have been a few hic ups through the years but nothing that would have ever had us consider leaving. I have watched Cornerstone improve each year and there is always room for improvement and they keep on stiving to do exactly that. The high school is good but not the best for being able to offer the kids going on to college all that they would need depending on their major. Cornerstone is a safe and loving school and they have had an amazing staff through the years. I have and will continue to reccommend Cornerstone as a wonderful school to send your kids to. My two oldest children are now in the public high school but not because of any bad experience. Strictly to allow them to be able to take corses they will need for college that were not available at Cornerstone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

My child attended Cornerstone for 3 years. ( 3rd-5th) At the end of this school year, I will be removing my child from Cornerstone to go to a PUBLIC.... school. At the end of each school year, since in attendance, I was not sure if my child would go to the next grade. Cornerstone pushed my child right on through. This year after receiveing yet another not so good progress report, I spoke with staff about my concerns only to be told " Oh everything looks fine" After i received a very unsettling report card, again I went to Staff. They DID NOT!!!! have a clue. Due to my persistence ( NOT CORNERSTONE) of wondering what was wrong, I had my child tested and found out that my child has a learning disability, and tested with below average results approx. 3 grades. . How could the school not know??????? This is so upsetting and heart wrenching. At least in public school my child will get the help that Cornerstone told me they would/could provide. They are limited in what they can provide (IEP) although they will tell you otherwise. they can. My child will go into the 6th grade to start at a 3rd grade level in many areas. I DO NOT!!!! recommend Cornerstone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

Cornerstone has been a great school. My daughter has been enrolled here since Kindergarten and is now in Jr. High. I have had a few issues which were dealt with immediately and fairly. The teachers have a love for the students and they provide a safe environment for all the children. I recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

We have three children at Cornerstone. Our younger two attend the preschool and we are very pleased with the program and staff over there. The preschool has prepared them to excell in Kindergarten. Our experience on the main campus has been different. Cornerstone shows favortism when administering discipline (and some grades). If your family is part of the "clique" then they may not acknowledge your child's "bad" behavior... or only give him/her a few demerits or a missed recess. There is, however, a "no tolerance" policy for most other students. Even the good ones. Academically, it depends on which teacher you get. Very disappointed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

We chose Cornerstone because we love the Lord and wanted our son to receive a challenging education as well as spiritual nurturing. We wanted his educational experience to reflect the value system in our home. I would NOT recommend Cornstone. The administration has not been effective in keeping us informed with serious incidents that have taken place regarding our child. There have been numerous unethical incidents that have caused us to question the faith of the leadership. Morality and integrity are key issuse at Cornerstone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2011

I agree with the last person, the lower grades K-1 gives the children a great foundation, the higher grades depend on what teacher you get. The school decided to do something new this year, the junior high english teacher reads to the students. The students have not had one writing or reading assignment this year so far. I am extremely disappointed with Cornerstone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

I really hope that people read through all of these reviews! I am a common sense type person, and did a quick look see at what other parents were saying. I agree with almost all of these parents! If you want your child to grow both spiritually and educationally then this is the place to be! It is extremely parent involved (for me school isn't just a place to drop my kids off at). I love the fact that I can walk into the office and EVERYONE knows who I am, and who my children are! This school is spirit filled and I know my children look forward to going to school everyday. They are in levels about their own grades, and have great manners! And yes...if they are OUTSIDE playing, they will get a little dirty! ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2010

My son has been attending CCS since they opened the school, eight years now. The teachers are great and care about their students. I would highly recommend CCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

My son and daughter both attended Cornerstone's Preschool. It gave them the skills and knowledge to excel in Kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2009

Excellent in all areas. Very pleased!! Wonderful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

Teachers show compassion and truly care for each of their children. The entire staff is wonderful and help in any way possible to make your school experience the best possible. There is a NO tolerance to bad behavior enforced, which is important to allow the majority of children to enjoy a non threatening environment so they can have a Academically & Spritual enriching environment. My son is well advanced compared to other children his age in public schools. The school has an amazing outreach to community, local and abroad. Excellent missorary group. I absoultly recommend this school to those who's looking for a perfect combination of Academics, Spirituality and community social skills. A++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

Teachers are not compassionate and the principal is not flexible. Students are behind in academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2008

My family and I totally love the school. Academically it is excellent! My children are doing exceptionally well. Freinds admire their vocabulary and in the manner in which they speak. We cannot be more pleased and happy to be at CCS. The teachers are nurturing, loving, but above all their Godly testimony is expressed in all that they do for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2007

We love this school,and our son loves this school. Great kids and huge parent involvement.All around great school..academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

Our two children have grown tremendously academically and spiritually. Our preschooler learned to spell, read & write before Kindergarten. The school emphasizes learning in many categories and the teachers show they care and help without asking. Activities are abundant and high level of parent involvement is very visible. Cornerstone is helping raise Godly children and the environment is open and friendly.Just a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2006

The teachers are wonderful. After 2 years of preschool my grandson is more academically advanced than the kindergargeners we know and completely ready to start kindergarten this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

The kids at play become qiute dirty.There seem to be more interest on bible studies and less on academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

This school thinks children first! Academics and sports are very important and administration always asks the question 'what is going to grow these kids in a positive, godly way?' before making decisions. I'm very satisfied with our experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 60%
Black 15%
Hispanic 15%
Asian 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1745 East 18th Street
Antioch, CA 94509
Phone: (925) 779-2010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Paideia Academy
Antioch, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT