Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Antioch Charter Academy Ii
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
the homework is vague and more work for the parents than students. doesn't seem appropriately challenging

Antioch Charter Academy Ii
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
no. students get to pick and choose what they want to do . they can wander the classroom all day if they want.


Antioch Charter Academy Ii
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
also have not seen examples of this. students get to pick and choose a lot

Antioch Charter Academy Ii
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
I haven't seen examples of this either way so can't say. there is a lot of independence for kids, not sure about accountability

Antioch Charter Academy Ii 3

Posted September 10, 2015
- a parent
The school definitely offers some advantages over other schools: smaller class sizes, electives, different approach. However, there is no playground, very little socializing for the kids and I find the staff and many of the parents to be aloof and exclusive. There's no principal which seems to result in a lack of coordination and organization throughout the school. Pick up time is complete chaos, and you never know when the kids are actually going to be released.


Antioch Charter Academy Ii 3

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
ACA II is likely better than any other public school in Antioch, including its sister school, ACA. However, there are definite areas for improvement. The school does not have a playground for the younger children. The combined classroom approach works well for some students, but others have difficulty shutting out the noise that 60+ kids in a big hall can make. The kids are allowed to choose from a variety of options, but that also means they can choose to do only the things they like. There is no principal; instead, the school is essentially run by committee. The older grades become confusing, and kids who aren't intrinsically motivated may simply get lost and/or fall behind. The teachers, esp. those in Primary and Elementary, do really care about the kids. They certainly go the extra mile. The parental involvement is spectacular, and I doubt you'll find a more caring, helpful community.

Antioch Charter Academy Ii 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
We are a former ACAII family and while this school has many great qualities and some awesome teachers, it is not a 5-star school. Our kids were behind in every subject when they moved to their new school and I have heard that there are other issues. It does have another campus that appears to be better so I'm not sure why ACA II is lacking. Other parents told me they had the same experience when their children relocated.

Antioch Charter Academy Ii 4

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We need more schools like this one. The small community school feel as well as park like environment go well together. There is an emphasis on the whole child and every child has his own planned learning.


Antioch Charter Academy Ii 5

Posted August 20, 2009
- a parent
I have a first grader and a kindergartener attending this school. We couldn't be happier. The schools environment is friendly, open and encouraging of all kids to strive to do their best. We love the Montessori environment, love the staff, love the parents and love that our kids are excited to go to school every day. My first grader has some learning disabilities that this campus staff discovered and we are taking steps to help with. If you really want a community feel for your childs education, I highly recommend this school. I also love that the curriculum isn't based solely on what is going to be on the standardized tests, there is a lot more to educating children than passing a test. This school strives to acheive a well-rounded student, with leadership skills, public speaking skills, time management skills, and so much more.

Antioch Charter Academy Ii 5

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
I have a 2nd grader and a kindergartener at ACAII and have had a very good experience. The Montessori style of education allows the children to work within their own abilities. My daughter is working a full grade ahead and striving and my son is enjoying a more hands-on approach in kindergarten...something he needs. As far as testing goes, the students do not 'pre-test'. They just take the tests with the knowledge they've obtained in class...as it should be. They enjoy a wide variety of learning experiences and my kids love it. You'll get the same issues as with any school, but because the parents are so involved I think it makes a huge difference.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Antioch Charter Academy Ii
1201 West Tenth Street, Antioch, CA  94509-1406
(925) 755-1252
Last modified Antioch Charter Academy Ii is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Antioch Charter Academy Ii Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top