« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Antioch, CA
Students enrolled: 2,734

Contact this school

4700 Lone Tree Way
Antioch, CA 94531

(925) 776-5555
(925) 754-8094
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Deer Valley High School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
October 08, 2014
I have two kids ( Freshman & Senior ) that currently attend to Deer Valley High School. My children have never had any issues. I have seen issues that have happened at the school that I feel were handled swiftly and appropriately by Administration.

- submitted by a parent
July 28, 2014
This school is horrible. Students are partially naked wearing booty shorts, tank tops and slippers. Students J walk and stand around the parking lot for hours. The principle ignores parents. I wouldn't recommend this school to any one.

- submitted by a parent
April 02, 2014
This is my daughter's second year there. So far she has been happy going there. She has meet alot of People and made alot of friends. Teacher's are very helpful. When I have concern's on any of my daughters classes, I email the teacher and I usually get a response back within 24hrs. I just wish there weren't so many students at this school. To me it is overcrowded.

- submitted by a parent
February 07, 2014
I have got to say my time in DVHS is so far really GOOD! DVHS depends on how you see it and how the student accept and uses it! Most of the teachers are REALLY GOOD! the hardness of the school work depends on the subject and the teachers! The staff and the securities are also very friendly. It is among rare schools with 4 awesome academies! It's well known on SPORTS! and Its VERY DIVERSE! It is NOT true that DV is a getto high school!!! and when it comes to students, it all depends on your personality and whom you hung out with! there are about 2700 students! You can choose either a bad friend or a good friend!!! Its up to you. If you are with the wrong people, they may lead you to the wrong path but dont allow them to! PARENTS WITH NEGATIVE ATTITUDE ABOUT DV PROBABLY DONT KNOW THEIR KIDS WELL ENOUGH!

- submitted by a community member
February 06, 2014
This is one of the best schools in the area. My two children attended it and I am very happy with the education they received. The staff and the students were very friendly and helpful. My kids just loved it.

- submitted by a parent
October 11, 2013
Deer Valley High School in Antioch, CA is one of the best. I have noticed that many of the negative reviews are either written by people who have never attended that school, or are not aware of what they are talking about. Perhaps these reviews come from some representatives of private schools who are trying to lead students to their own school businesses. Deer Valley High School is a public, beautifully built, equipped, and maintained school. The security is one of the best .The staff is down to earth, friendly, carrying, and very well educated and talented. The teacher-student ratio is low so there is a lot of attention given to those who are in need and less work is given home. There is a very close relationship/ communication between teachers-students-parents. There is a melting pot of students of different nationalities but this is what America is all about, we all are human beings. The main focus is on education and well-being of all students and not materialism or other agendas. Many Deer Valley High School students and alumni are known, even on a national level, for their accomplishments in education, sports, etc

- submitted by a community member
June 28, 2013
Deer valley may have a bad reputation but this school is a great school over all it may a few problems but any school this size will have a few problems. Don't listen to other parents that say its ghetto or what not. Those parents just listen to the bad things their kids say and that's all kids will talk about it is all the bad stuff.

- submitted by a community member
March 12, 2013
I was very nervous to send my boys to this school with such a bad reputation but both have done very well becasue they have made the effort themselves. In the end it comes down to the individual student. The teachers can only provide the tools and environment. Both of my boys have found some of the teachers to me very inspiring.

- submitted by a parent
May 27, 2012
Teacher quality is random, some good, some bad (that's normal), it takes leadership from the top to direct teachers to create a higher performing school, until that happens, DVHS will be a low performance option.

- submitted by a parent
February 26, 2012
My son has a 4.0 GPA from Deer Valley, but his weighted GPA is 3.22 (!) This is unfair to the students that genuinely achieve academically. Our weighted scores are due to grade inflation and substandard test scores. What impact can I make as a concerned parent against the apathy of the staff and the ignorance of the student body? What can I do?

- submitted by a parent
January 03, 2012
I have attended this school for all four years of my high school career and am a senior (Class of 2012) , so I may be bias in my review. However, Deer Valley High School is an excellent school offering a large variety of classes, clubs, and programs preparing students for their next step in their road to a career.

- submitted by a community member
December 16, 2011
DVHS is a good looking school with way too many students. The school has done a great job of turning this monster into smaller schools, but good administration does not mean good students. My kid, in all honors or CP classes, 9th grade, has had only homework in Spanish, nothing else and still above 4.0 GPA (4.3 with CP)...how is that possible. I speak to friends in other districts that seem to actually have homework almost daily. The core classes need to be enforced and everything else dropped until they get money for it. A school this big requires a very strong core first.

- submitted by a parent
June 26, 2011
Upon reading the most recent reviews, I have to wonder exactly how involved the complaining parents are. My child had a very difficult start to his academic year. The reason....pure laziness. Teachers cannot teach a child that is not interested in doing his/her part. After the first report card, my husband and I stepped in, cracked down on ALL freedoms, and basically treated him like the first grader he was acting like. Strict expectations were set, and his grades improved. I am a teacher and I am so tired of parents that do nothing but complain and feel that the only person responsible for their childs' success in school is the teacher. Wake up parents, YOU are the parent and the MOST IMPORTANT teacher your child will EVER have! When your child knows you are disparaging a teacher it is a free ticket for your child to blame everything on that teacher and not look to the real source of the problem, which is like their own behavior or lack of motivation.

- submitted by a parent
September 13, 2010
I have to say, this is my fourth year with students at Deer Valley. I have a soph and a senior. And while yes, there are some problems with some of the student body, the teachers are the best. In all these yeasr there was only one very poor teacher, Ms. Sharpe. The adminisration does what it can to deal with the problem kids. When the parenst won't cooperate, unfortuanelty, their hands are tied.

- submitted by a parent
June 05, 2010
This school's foolish deregulation of student transfers has made it become one of the most desolate overcrowded schools in the Bay area that has similar student body and liberal agenda as Oakland schools. A bulk of the teachers are assumed positions they are less specialize for i.e( Chem teacher Morgan Olk). And its not hard to infer that they disregard student' s success; leaning toward the notion, " Just passing them and moving whether its the grade they deserve or not." The irony is appalling considering that the teacher would be less motivated to instruct diligently than the students motivation towards school. Overall, the school is very public and generously admits anyone offering free lunches and . Astonishingly enough, this approach can admits unsuitable students that belong in other areas out of range , from alternative schools to penitentiaries. Either case, decide cautiously in Antioch schools. Chow

- submitted by a parent
no rating April 09, 2010
The one problem I have with this school is the fact that I, along with the other student body and staff, are not prepared for emergencies. The two lockdowns we've had were not done correctly and we NEVER have earthquake drills, shelter in place drills and intruder drills. The only time we have a fire drill is when the system malfunctions. The administration needs to realize that We need to practice this and as a student there, I know there would be much panic when the big one hits.

- submitted by a parent
December 21, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 03, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
August 30, 2009
The principals and vice principals are exceptionally accommodating and always accessible. Most of the teachers are excellent and ready to help. All my children have had great experiences and they have got admitted into their preferred university.

- submitted by a parent
August 04, 2009
As a recent graduate, I have to say that I am surprisingly proud to have graduated from DV. During my first two years, the school was much more crowded than it was during my upperclassmen years. There are a wide variety of AP classes, most of the teachers are great, and the reputation of our sports teams are one of a kind. Although it's true that there are many 'gangbangers' and such at the school, I never felt unsafe and never had a major problem with anyone. If your child has a tendency to start problems or not do so well in school, please don't blame the teachers or the school. If your student tries hard enough and uses all the opportunities available to them, then they'll get into a great college, just like how I will be going to Cal in the fall with three of my friends!! :)

- submitted by a student
July 27, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a community member
April 22, 2009
As a student, I like Deer Valley a great deal because of many meaningful reasons. One reason emanates from the Deer Valley teachers. The teachers here deeply care for the success of each and every student. That is easily seen by everyone and anyone on campus. Not only that, but the administration is always there for the student, both principal and house head alike. As a student, I truly feel like I can succeed and I know Deer Valley has the capability in preparing me for that success.

- submitted by a student
April 15, 2009
Deer Valley High School and its respective district is rapidly integrating the fundamental pieces that once made this school one of the best in the county. In doing so presently, the school is well on its way at regaining the crown and becoming the pride of the district and jewel of the county. Test scores have consecutively elevated and the overall aura this school emits by way of student and staff alike, has me mesmerized. Having had my children bounce around surrounding districts, and being disappointed, this school fills me with pride. This school is earnestly a keeper.

- submitted by a parent
February 13, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
February 13, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
January 15, 2009
I'm alumni from Deer Valley, and I would rate this school two out of five because I did not believe that the people running the school had the student's success as their number one priority. The year I started going to DV was the first year they decided to no longer have counselors at the school. They, however, do have four vice principals and one head principal. Doesn't anyone think it would be more beneficial to have only one or two vice principals and actually have guidance counselors for students? Especially when these are the years that are most important to college acceptance? the faculty said that the school did not have enough money to provide students with counselors. Why is it then, that the year after I graduated, the school began offering bowling as an elective, as well as ipod classes, and other waste-of-money classes? Something to think about...

- submitted by a student
January 02, 2009
Deer Valley is at the very least, a school that implements success. The teachers are top tier, and it is given that close to 96% provide avtivities, tutoring, and valuable review (Deer Valley Trubulation). There are also a handful of teachers that are college instructors as well. According to the National Forum on Public education, Deer Valley High School has consecutively scored higher than the surrounding schools in the greater East Bay. They have also been classified as an institiutional powerhouse for their academic excellence (County NEWS 2008). Deer Valley has additionally been classified as a 'gifted school' in regards to class range, test scores, student diversity, and academic rank. Overall, Deer Valley High should be considered by any who wish to attend a school that can compete with the best of the best. California Education Department

- submitted by a community member
December 31, 2008
There are good after school programs. Many people here are rude. Deer Valley is being filled with many gangmembers. There are many drinkers and smokers that are doing these stunts illegally. Ever since 'Smoke Shop' opened for business across the street, the school has changed dramatically. Our school officer is a great man!

- submitted by a student
June 30, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 31, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 15, 2008
this school just appeared to me as average. i went to dv during freshman and half of sophmore year. i have been to three other high schools besides this one and id say two out of the three are better than dv. dv is too overcrowded, and has too many problems. its not exactly what i would expect from a school like that.

- submitted by a student
no rating May 05, 2008
Im a senior at deer valley and honestly each year it only gets worse. I have been a highly involved member at the campus and i still feel that it did not have much to offer and the school officials (not the teachers but the administrators) are more interested in office politics and their own interests verses that of the students of deer valley and the school as a whole. This school is horrible! We complain about money and then hire two principals which is double the money. I would recommend that if you don't have to go to deer valley, don't!

- submitted by a student
April 18, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a teacher
April 15, 2008
Wonderful so far and looking forward to continued success for both the students, parents and school administration.

- submitted by a parent
April 07, 2008
I'm a freshman that transferred to Deer Valley in October 2007. At first I didn't like it because my grades fell sharply. The teachers were good at explaining what to do, but I had a hard time adjusting to the school climate and teaching styles. I went to my VP and she fixed my schedule to where I needed it to be so would avoid summer school. I have to go because I failed the first semester of english. I will probably have to do Algebra 1 there too. I had a hard time making friends at first but, I have many now and that boosted my self confidence and my grades as well. I would recommend this school if you want good, quality teaching. The school is very diverse and the people are friendly as well. This school focuses very much on sports. Overall, its an alright school.

- submitted by a student
December 21, 2007
I'm a freshman this year and I must say this school is better then I thought it would be. The students are much nicer and social then in middle school, where I had no friends and now I have a hand full at DVHS. The're are really great teachers here. The teaching methods could be better, except there exceptional for a public highschool. The school main focus in on sports, i've noticed, where the athletic fields and areas take up more of the campus. The college prep ways are not very strong, letting students only take 2.5 years of history, and the requirements aren't very good with no requirement of foreign language and only required to take two years of science. The school is beautifully very ethnically diverse. Except a majority of the student body and faculty aren't too excepting of other types of diversity (LGBT, etc.). Overall, it's a okay school.

- submitted by a student
November 26, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
November 04, 2007
I went to DV all 4 years of high school. I graduated in 2006, so things may have changed, but that school is out of control! It is just too crowded and for students that were actually there to learn the class sizes made it difficult. In many of my classes, throughout my 4 years, there weren't enough desks for all the students, so one or two would have to use the table in the front of the class. The dress code would be ridiculously strict, if they actually enforced what was in the rule book.

- submitted by a former student
October 19, 2007
I can't say enough great things about Deer Valley High. Our children are very fortunate to be attending and graduating from such a wonderful public high school that is doing an outstanding job for their students and the community. Just fabulous!

- submitted by a parent
September 04, 2007
I'm in my senior year at Deer Valley right now. Parents can say how wonderful the AP classes and wide range of electives are, which they are...but they don't have to walk through the overcrowded school every day and sit in 100 minute classes where probably 30 minutes of it is spent getting the class to settle down. I can't even blame the teachers anymore, because I'd be worn down and tired too if I had to deal with all the defiance. I can't focus at all. I've wanted to switch schools since freshmen year. If your on the line about sending your kid to DV, I highly advise you to look into a different school, you would be doing them a great service. I hate waking up in the morning to go to Deer Valley, I don't feel comfortable, and it's really an awful experience.

- submitted by a student
August 24, 2007
This school has a lot of things other high schools don't. We have great sports,music, arts, and education here. As a recent graduate I'm proud to say I graduated here. Were not perfect nothing is but were trying our best.

- submitted by a community member
August 11, 2007
Most of their California test scores are mediocre at best. If your goal as a parent is to give your child a chance just to go to college, then this school may be enough. If you are a parent who wants to give your child a better chance to be able to go to Berkeley, UCLA or the Ivies, look for another school.

- submitted by a parent
June 21, 2007
I am concered for my son's safety at this school. Teachers are caring with kid but don't have the time to give parents a call when there's trouble.

- submitted by a parent
March 27, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
June 09, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
June 08, 2006
A great school with great kids and a great principal

- submitted by a student
April 20, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a administrator
April 18, 2006
The availability of music, art, and sports is tremendous at Deer Valley. The music program is outstanding with the Divine Voices and Show Choir. Academically Deer Valley is good, but certainly can be better. Overall, the instruction could be more challenging.

- submitted by a parent
April 13, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
March 29, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
March 09, 2006
A suburban commuter school with a large population of students. There is no single majority of ethnic groups, no group over 50%. The school has 2 academies and 2 career pathways and many clubs and activities. Like all schools, there are problems but there are also extraordinary students and teachers there.

- submitted by a teacher
February 08, 2006
There are close to 4,000 students at this school! It's overcrowded. It's also the size of a college campus. If you have a student who is a high achiever, then s/he should have no problem focusing in class. However, if you have a student who needs extra help, then a smaller school would be more appropriate in my opinion.

- submitted by a parent
February 08, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
January 16, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
December 01, 2005
Deer Valley is a decent high school academically. My only concern is they allow too many kids outside the district in the school. I'm satisfied with my son's A.P. classes. However, the feedback to parents is loose and not well coordinated when a child has a problem. For that reason I would rate it 2.5 on a scale from 1 to 4. Their leadership program for kids is weak because the instructor is not competent in this area. The kids don't respect her input. The major complaint for most parents is the overcrowding in the school;

- submitted by a parent
December 01, 2005
Great Staff and Admin towards Parents But My Kids reported that they are demeening towards them as if they were lower in status. Although Many of the students of DV are bused in from places such as Oakland, Concord, and Sometimes Martinez. These students have a tract record of being rude, inconsiderate, and many times force the Admin/staff to treat them as they are treated.

- submitted by a former student
November 21, 2005
Deer Valley High offers a large number of extracurricular activities for students besides high academic goals. There is a constant effort to improve learning for all students through the acquisition of quality staff and innovative teaching strategies. I have a daughter who graduated from Deer Valley and was accepted at three CSUs and one UC for her college education. She took the rigorous AP English course at DVHS and subsequently passed the state AP test. My two younger children are currently attending DVHS (a Freshman and a Junior). Both are 3.0 students who are greatly enjoying their experience there.

- submitted by a parent
November 20, 2005
This is an interesting school. My daughter attends Deer Valley High School, and informs me on the events taken place at Deer Valley. To the parents who are worried that Dv is unsafe, or any other negative term, let me assure you, Deer valley is extremely safe. And while they are not as organized as they should be, I have not had any serious problems with them. I honestly think that sending my child to DV was a better choice than her going to Antioch High. DV has so many technology advantages that I believe your child will get a better and more thoughough education.

- submitted by a parent
November 18, 2005
I started teaching at Deer Valley in the fall of 2005. The first thing that impressed me was how well-behaved the kids were. Furthermore, the staff is more dedicated to their jobs than any I have ever worked with. This is a special school!

- submitted by a teacher
November 15, 2005
The school has recently changed Principle's which is possitive because the last one was uninvolved. It offers AP classes, and the teachers for those are excellent, but school does not incourage enrollement. There is large diversity, but students self segrigate themselves. Students tend to litter a lot. Very large classes. You can do well in that school if you take harder classes.

- submitted by a former student
November 08, 2005
The music program at Deer Valley is outstanding. Under the guidance of Ms. Henderson, the students thrive in this realm. The musical productions and concerts are awesome!

- submitted by a parent
November 06, 2005
The work is very complex , teachers seem like they barely care if you pass or not the environment is not that good why would it be for a school reaching almost 4000 kids thats why I want to transfer to another school.

- submitted by a student
October 22, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 06, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
no rating October 01, 2005
Many kids from other districts going to this school due to their school's inability to accommodate them.

- submitted by a parent
September 23, 2005
The quality of academic programs is excellent. Unfortunately the school is so over crowded which means 35-45 students per class; only the most estudious can learn in that kind of environment. Teachers can't teach to the best of their ability.

- submitted by a parent
August 21, 2005
This is a beautiful school structurally the only problem I can see is that there are too many kids from pittsburg and richmond using different adresses. Its a shame really, good teachers good administration, if parents would try to work with their kids more and teach them not to litter our nearby shopping centers and the school this place would be alot better.

- submitted by a former student
July 29, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
July 28, 2005
I graduated in 2000. I was among the first to graduate from DVHS after attending all 4 years. I just remember feeling fortunate to be on a brand new campus, setting new traditions for future generations to follow, and attending such a high-class school.

- submitted by a former student
June 21, 2005
Deer Valley is a very misunderstood school. It has its fair share of problems like any other high school like some school fights now and then. The classes are somewhat overcrowded, but still are nice. The campus is really unique because of the great design. The school quality of learning is good, because we have tutoring programs afterschool. Mostly all of the teachers at the school really do want you to suceed. They are really a great bunch of caring individuals, There are six vice priciples and no councelers at the campus. The school has many extracuricular activities.

- submitted by a student
May 24, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 24, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 13, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 01, 2005
like every high school out there, deer valley has its highs and lows.. but i feel that deer valley has been a school worth going to due to the fact that there are over 3000 students attending this high school. there are many activities for one to participate in if they are willing to go out there and try new things.

- submitted by a student
March 30, 2005
Deer Valley High is an up and coming school in an ethnically diverse and growing community. Overall, my childrens experience at this school has been very good. The administration and staff that I have come in contact with have been competent, caring and knowledgable. I believe that this is a great school in the making. Increased parental and community involvement are needed to make it so. The school district has had some funding problem which have impacted music, arts and sports program s. I commend the staff for the job they have done with limited resources in those areas. DVHS has a reputation amoung some distractors as having an undisciplined learning environment and as having racial problems. My experience as an involved parent has been contrary to those reports.

- submitted by a parent
February 21, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
February 21, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 17, 2004
I have worked up at Deer Valley off and on for three years now and I have never run across anything negative. The kids are respectful if spoken to and security that people speak about are always on the ball. The kids do not have time to get out of hand because their classes are long and their passing time is just enough to get to the other class. I know, because I too (as an aide)have to run to make it to the next class. I remember when I was a kid there were about 800 kids in my high school and there were fights, segregation and everything else there is today and that was in Millbrae so all of you that think that there aren't going to be any problems at all you are in a dream world. Especially with almost 4000 kids.

- submitted by a parent
May 05, 2004
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
March 15, 2004
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
February 29, 2004
Hi, all I was one of the first to graduate from Deer Valley high school in 1999. I enjoyed just about every moment. I think about DV alot now that I grown and married. They have good teachers, cunselors and most of all good students. Every school has there clicks, but i think that's apart of life, just like the fitting in part. I wouldnt change my experience there, I loved the school, and I look forward to our 10 year highschool reunion.

- submitted by a former student
January 31, 2004
As a current student of DVHS I would like to say that the so called segregation is all in the students hands. We choose who to hang out with while other people (mainly parents) see it as some racial thing. There are some people 'out of race' in some groups, but it's just where students feel most comfortable. There may be groups of African-American, Hispanic, white, and Asian people in different areas of the school but it doesn't mean the school has some racism problem. We all have our comfort zones and choose who surround us. The whole thing about the multicultural day, we learn about the general aspects of different cultures. Yes we perform dances of different cultures but it's for dance class. It may not be as educational as reading from a book but who would actually pay attention if we did read from books about different cultures? Not that many students are interested in the things leadership tries to promote. Well anyways, as for the student population, it is really crowded because many people who don't live in the district attend DV. People say it's such a bad school because of the 'race' issues and the teachers but my friends, who live out of district, well their parents think it's a much better school than Pittsburg or Antioch. Honestly, I think it's better too. If I was a parent I would want to send my children to a good school. And besides the whole out of town thing, Antioch has way too many houses being built and not enough schools. They should think about building schools before building more houses. A lot of the classes are overcrowded (mainly electives) and people are getting out. I think it's mainly because the students pick the popular, easy classes and DV just puts them in a class and doesn't even bother to count if there's enough room but it's getting better as students are getting their schedules changed. Our security is better than other schools. We have cameras all over campus to monitor the misdameanors and we have narks (yard duties) who look over the students. The big problem is littering, it bugs me. Our school is so huge and we have garbage cans here and there but our school has garbage everywhere. The bathrooms also reek! Anways, the more positive things... The people are great here if you get to know them and get out of your little shell. So far all of the teachers I've had are really helpful. Teachers have been getting more strict about behaviour which is good because there are students who take away from other students' education. Deer Valley isn't all that bad.

- submitted by a student
January 26, 2004
Security and racism is a great concern for me. The lunchroom situation is very disturbing. The school is not doing anything to stop the segregation between races. The school does not ofer great security either.

- submitted by a parent
January 20, 2004
As an involved parent of two h.s. school age kids, I have met a high number of Deer Valley students and have seen many more at activities. The vast majority I meet are normal, good kids! My kids say that the out of control students rarely get consequences and appear above the school rules for some reason. Teachers and administrators may be afraid of them, or just can't do anything if they wanted to. Most teachers have been good, sometimes a shakey one or no teacher at all for a class.

- submitted by a parent
January 12, 2004
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
January 02, 2004
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
December 30, 2003
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
December 20, 2003
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 28, 2003
As a graduate of the class of 2003, I remember what it was like going there. There are problems that need to be addressed, such as out of towners coming from all over the bay area. When I went there almost half of the student body lived outside of antioch. The administration needs to get on their job and start checking whether people actually live in Antioch, within the school boundaries, or not. It is too easy to enroll at Deer Valley, and it will end up having a negative effect on the school's reputation and the students attending.

- submitted by a community member
October 24, 2003
I remember this school having a zero tolerance policy for students. Lately I've heard terrible stories about students beating up on other students taking their lunch money and other items. Where is security? Why are students still allowed to go there, after fighting. I've also heard a good majority of the kids don't live in the school boundaries. I know myself and other parents pay a lot for mello roos,and commute everyday in order to allow our kids the opportunity to live in a nice community and attend a decent school. Someone needs to investigate.

- submitted by a parent
October 20, 2003
As a concern parent, I am wondering why the school is not doing a better job of controlling the out of towners from migrating into our school. The negative influences of drugs, gangs, violence, and disrespect from students that do not live in Antioch are unacceptable. Parents need to be involved and aware of what their kids are doing at all time. School officials, please control the out of towners from over crowding our school. As Antioch parents we pay way too much mello roos taxes and sit in major traffic everyday just so our kids can be in a nice school, and I don't feel generous enough to let out of towners take advantage.

- submitted by a parent
October 14, 2003
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a community member
August 26, 2003
I am not a parents, but a former student at that school. Here's a little inside look at the daily life when I attended: The school is made up of 7 classes which are regulated on an odd day/ even day schedual. You attend your 1st period every day, then if it is an even day you attend 2, 4, and 6th period, or if it is an odd day you attend 3, 5, and 7th periods. Each class is 100 minutes long, and you get a 7 minute passing period, which, given the over 4000 students on campus, gives you just barely enough time to travel the 1 mile two and from classes to the next. Lunches, well there are 2 of them. With two caffeterias. Jocks and Cheer leaders on one side, Mexican's and Blacks somewhere in the middle, Asians down in the aphitheater and pot heads, rockers, dweebs, geeks, freaks, and the ones that dont fit in, on the other side. Most classes have 30 + students and thats putting it lightly. My choir had darn near 75 students the first year! Yes our school is new, and I am glad to have gotton out of there with the rest of my 678 member class. I find it unfortunate that my middle sisters class is 1000+ and my youngst sisters is 1500+. But we need to weed out the 'Boundry Jumpers' I have friends that bus out from Vallejo, Benicia, even San Ramon! Common guys, get out of my school and into your own!

- submitted by a former student
August 26, 2003
It was my experience attending Deer Valley four years ago that the campus population was extremely divided. It didn't help to have two cafeterias either. It encouraged people to segregate. Not only did they not have to eat at the same lunch table, they didn't even have to be in the same building! 'Breaking bread' or sharing a meal with your peers was one of the defining moments of the day. Deer Valley practiced a traditional, dominant-centered teaching approach. The curriculum I experienced modeled after culturally dominant values rather than an anti-bias approach. I did not feel I was a part of an institution that upheld a pro-active approach to culture, race, class, gender or ability. I did not feel prepared for college. Deer Valley prepared us for memorization and scantrons. In college they want you to think, articulate your opinions and reason with your mind. I struggled with a few subjects in school, yet no one identified my learning disability until I reached college. Deer Valley placed too much importance on sports and not enough on acedemia, holistics or multi-culturalism. For example,we had this Multi-Culture event once a year that was supposed to create some kind of understanding to the predominately white student population. I'm sorry, all Middle Easterners don't belly dance, and very few Mexican people twirl elaborate dresses and sombreros. The use of a traditional and almost obsolete dances once a year is exploitive and demonstrates our bias by lumping a culture together by representing it with one group of dancing teenagers. (Some of the people in the audience, will only have this example portrayed for them for their entire lives!) Everyday should include and reflect each student and their place in the world. Put into perspective what life is outside of the school eco-system educators! As a teacher, I am.

- submitted by a former student
August 22, 2003
Despite Deer Valley's past reputation of excellence in student government/ leadership, the current leadership program is creating tension that is creating an atmosphere of pain in the school.

- submitted by a former student
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deer Valley High School
4700 Lone Tree Way, Antioch, CA  94531
(925) 776-5555
Last modified Deer Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Deer Valley High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 95 reviews. Top