Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
95 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 105 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Deer Valley High School 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Both my kids attended and graduated from DVHS. This school has different pathways to offer, i.e. Business and Technology, Law and Justice Academy, Performing Arts and ACE Academy which includes Biomedical Engineering and Robotic Engineering. Student may choose their field of interest. DVHS also offers a lot of extra-curricular activities to students. My eldest son was involved in Marching Band and Track and Field and my youngest daughter was involved in Show Choir and was active participant in musical theater productions. My son graduated from SJSU and is now a Captain at USMC. My daughter will be attending UC Berkeley. DVHS prepared my kids for college and life. The teachers were very caring and would respond to your emails within 2 hours. The VP would immediately return your calls or emals. Principal Gardner calls student households every Sunday for Sunday Good News. Every high schools have their share of fights. If a crowd would ran toward the fight, my kids would go the other way. My kids met great friends who had also gone into colleges and now have great careers. The school also diverse population which is very good because the world and workplace is a diverse environment. DVHS is a good platform for diversity.

Deer Valley High School 2

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
They don't disappoint the kids like they should they pick and choose who they're going to discipline


Deer Valley High School 4

Posted January 20, 2016
- a student
This school is amazing. I am so honored to have come here. People here r a bit different if you moved from out of the district but most of them are awesome. I have met all of my dearest friends at the middle school, but this school made us closer. My friends are honestly the best and so I thank this school. If your moving here don't be scared, it'll just take time to adjust you'll be fine

Deer Valley High School 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
I have two kids ( Freshman & Senior ) that currently attend to Deer Valley High School. My children have never had any issues. I have seen issues that have happened at the school that I feel were handled swiftly and appropriately by Administration.

Deer Valley High School 1

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible. Students are partially naked wearing booty shorts, tank tops and slippers. Students J walk and stand around the parking lot for hours. The principle ignores parents. I wouldn't recommend this school to any one.


Deer Valley High School 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughter's second year there. So far she has been happy going there. She has meet alot of People and made alot of friends. Teacher's are very helpful. When I have concern's on any of my daughters classes, I email the teacher and I usually get a response back within 24hrs. I just wish there weren't so many students at this school. To me it is overcrowded.

Deer Valley High School 4

Posted February 07, 2014
- a community member
I have got to say my time in DVHS is so far really GOOD! DVHS depends on how you see it and how the student accept and uses it! Most of the teachers are REALLY GOOD! the hardness of the school work depends on the subject and the teachers! The staff and the securities are also very friendly. It is among rare schools with 4 awesome academies! It's well known on SPORTS! and Its VERY DIVERSE! It is NOT true that DV is a getto high school!!! and when it comes to students, it all depends on your personality and whom you hung out with! there are about 2700 students! You can choose either a bad friend or a good friend!!! Its up to you. If you are with the wrong people, they may lead you to the wrong path but dont allow them to! PARENTS WITH NEGATIVE ATTITUDE ABOUT DV PROBABLY DONT KNOW THEIR KIDS WELL ENOUGH!

Deer Valley High School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
This is one of the best schools in the area. My two children attended it and I am very happy with the education they received. The staff and the students were very friendly and helpful. My kids just loved it.


Deer Valley High School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a community member
Deer Valley High School in Antioch, CA is one of the best. I have noticed that many of the negative reviews are either written by people who have never attended that school, or are not aware of what they are talking about. Perhaps these reviews come from some representatives of private schools who are trying to lead students to their own school businesses. Deer Valley High School is a public, beautifully built, equipped, and maintained school. The security is one of the best .The staff is down to earth, friendly, carrying, and very well educated and talented. The teacher-student ratio is low so there is a lot of attention given to those who are in need and less work is given home. There is a very close relationship/ communication between teachers-students-parents. There is a melting pot of students of different nationalities but this is what America is all about, we all are human beings. The main focus is on education and well-being of all students and not materialism or other agendas. Many Deer Valley High School students and alumni are known, even on a national level, for their accomplishments in education, sports, etc

Deer Valley High School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a community member
Deer valley may have a bad reputation but this school is a great school over all it may a few problems but any school this size will have a few problems. Don't listen to other parents that say its ghetto or what not. Those parents just listen to the bad things their kids say and that's all kids will talk about it is all the bad stuff.

Nearby schools

Deer Valley High School
4700 Lone Tree Way, Antioch, CA  94531-8486
(925) 776-5555
Last modified Deer Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top