Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Antioch, CA
Students enrolled: 2,734

3 stars
Based on 92 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


95 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Deer Valley High School 5

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
I have two kids ( Freshman & Senior ) that currently attend to Deer Valley High School. My children have never had any issues. I have seen issues that have happened at the school that I feel were handled swiftly and appropriately by Administration.

Deer Valley High School 1

Posted July 28, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible. Students are partially naked wearing booty shorts, tank tops and slippers. Students J walk and stand around the parking lot for hours. The principle ignores parents. I wouldn't recommend this school to any one.


Deer Valley High School 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughter's second year there. So far she has been happy going there. She has meet alot of People and made alot of friends. Teacher's are very helpful. When I have concern's on any of my daughters classes, I email the teacher and I usually get a response back within 24hrs. I just wish there weren't so many students at this school. To me it is overcrowded.

Deer Valley High School 4

Posted February 07, 2014
- a community member
I have got to say my time in DVHS is so far really GOOD! DVHS depends on how you see it and how the student accept and uses it! Most of the teachers are REALLY GOOD! the hardness of the school work depends on the subject and the teachers! The staff and the securities are also very friendly. It is among rare schools with 4 awesome academies! It's well known on SPORTS! and Its VERY DIVERSE! It is NOT true that DV is a getto high school!!! and when it comes to students, it all depends on your personality and whom you hung out with! there are about 2700 students! You can choose either a bad friend or a good friend!!! Its up to you. If you are with the wrong people, they may lead you to the wrong path but dont allow them to! PARENTS WITH NEGATIVE ATTITUDE ABOUT DV PROBABLY DONT KNOW THEIR KIDS WELL ENOUGH!

Deer Valley High School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
This is one of the best schools in the area. My two children attended it and I am very happy with the education they received. The staff and the students were very friendly and helpful. My kids just loved it.


Deer Valley High School 5

Posted October 11, 2013
- a community member
Deer Valley High School in Antioch, CA is one of the best. I have noticed that many of the negative reviews are either written by people who have never attended that school, or are not aware of what they are talking about. Perhaps these reviews come from some representatives of private schools who are trying to lead students to their own school businesses. Deer Valley High School is a public, beautifully built, equipped, and maintained school. The security is one of the best .The staff is down to earth, friendly, carrying, and very well educated and talented. The teacher-student ratio is low so there is a lot of attention given to those who are in need and less work is given home. There is a very close relationship/ communication between teachers-students-parents. There is a melting pot of students of different nationalities but this is what America is all about, we all are human beings. The main focus is on education and well-being of all students and not materialism or other agendas. Many Deer Valley High School students and alumni are known, even on a national level, for their accomplishments in education, sports, etc

Deer Valley High School 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a community member
Deer valley may have a bad reputation but this school is a great school over all it may a few problems but any school this size will have a few problems. Don't listen to other parents that say its ghetto or what not. Those parents just listen to the bad things their kids say and that's all kids will talk about it is all the bad stuff.

Deer Valley High School 4

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
I was very nervous to send my boys to this school with such a bad reputation but both have done very well becasue they have made the effort themselves. In the end it comes down to the individual student. The teachers can only provide the tools and environment. Both of my boys have found some of the teachers to me very inspiring.


Deer Valley High School 2

Posted May 27, 2012
- a parent
Teacher quality is random, some good, some bad (that's normal), it takes leadership from the top to direct teachers to create a higher performing school, until that happens, DVHS will be a low performance option.

Deer Valley High School 1

Posted February 26, 2012
- a parent
My son has a 4.0 GPA from Deer Valley, but his weighted GPA is 3.22 (!) This is unfair to the students that genuinely achieve academically. Our weighted scores are due to grade inflation and substandard test scores. What impact can I make as a concerned parent against the apathy of the staff and the ignorance of the student body? What can I do?

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Deer Valley High School
4700 Lone Tree Way, Antioch, CA  94531
(925) 776-5555
Last modified Deer Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Deer Valley High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 95 reviews. Top