« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Antioch, CA
Students enrolled: 499

Contact this school

4325 Spaulding Street
Antioch, CA 94531

(925) 706-5271
(925) 756-6068
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Grant Elementary School address.

Profile Completeness

INTERMEDIATE

Want to improve this school’s profile? You can!

All schools on GreatSchools begin with BASIC completeness, which includes important information like contact details and test scores. It’s up to the school community to take the next steps. As a parent or community member, you can share what you know with other families by writing a review or answering a few questions about what the school offers. As a school leader, you can upload photos, describe school programs, and more with an Official school profile.

The completeness meter moves to INTERMEDIATE, then ADVANCED, and finally HONOR ROLL as you complete the following: 10 or more reviews, at least 1 photo, and 9 program questions parents find helpful.

Want to improve this school's profile?
for Parents
for Schools
 
August 01, 2013
Having had experience with several other elementary schools with my oldest daughter and now my youngest I feel that I can give an honest assessment of my experience with Grant. First of all, 2013 was a rough year for this school with a principle change mid year. I think that has a lot to do with previous reviews. My daughters fifth grade teacher was excellent and communicated with me constantly which is very important. The school is not up to date with technology but I still feel that the education my daughter received was excellent, even if it was still old school. There was a lot of school activities and field trips through out the year. This school does require uniforms but have 3 color top options to choose from. Easy drop off/pick up area. The school is tucked away in a lovely neighborhood with a fire station less than a mile away. The playground is great! Plenty of swings! Minus two stars for lack of technology in the classrooms, running out of spirit wear by November, yearbooks not arriving until a week after school ended and lastly, not being upfront about the REAL reason their was a principle switch mid year. Google mno grant elementary principle and you'll see!

- submitted by a parent
May 20, 2013
Mr. Green has made the school such a wonderful place. The students are well taken care of and my children are learning at an above average rate because of all the fabulous teachers and staff

- submitted by a parent
April 11, 2013
When I went to this school from second to fifth grade, I had great teachers, I learned a lot, and I made friends with faculty and classmates alike. Unfortunately, the class sizes are very large for elementary schools. When I was going there, they had a school choir and school band, but I do not know if they still have those music programs any more. I do not know if they still have it, but they used to have classes to help students that had learning disabilities and were slower learners. They have a huge auditorium that is also used as the cafeteria. When I was there, the music room was very nice. They had a gigantic cement and grass areas for kids to do recess.

- submitted by a community member
April 08, 2013
This school is terrible. The principle is horrible.The teachers are great but have way too many students. The children are getting worse every year. there is no disipline. The bad kids run the school period.

- submitted by a parent
February 27, 2013
If you are really serious about your son or daughter's academic success, enroll them elsewhere. The current principal is not doing enough to improve the school environment and educational quality. My son attended 5th grade here in 2011 and it was a subpar experience. The classroom was a mess, no pencil sharpener. Very poor first, second and third impressions. If school funding is an issue, start writing to the mayor an city council, then mobilize the community to fundraise, do something for God's sake. The students at Grant Elementary (Antioch schools in general) are falling behind the high performing schools such as San Ramon, Dublin and Pleasanton. It's pathetic. Please, please, please.

- submitted by a parent
March 12, 2007
I have found the principal and teachers very easy to communicate with. They are high quality individuals and want the best for their students. My child transferred there from another local school and I have never regretted the decision. They have now established a music program which my child loves.

- submitted by a parent
March 06, 2007
I am not very happy with Grant MNO school. I tried to meet with the princapal and still have not meet with her. I am not a happy parent at this time.

- submitted by a parent
March 03, 2007
I had ups and dows with the quality of this school. However 'funds' I will say are killing more our public schools. The number of students in class have being increasing throughout the years, teachers seemed more busy then past years, quality therefore will be affected. There is not music programs and PE is just a matter of one hour per week. There is not interest in any kind of sport.

- submitted by a parent
October 07, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
November 05, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a teacher
October 07, 2005
My daughter attends 1st grade at Grant and I have been nothing but satisfied with the education she has received thus far. Her Kinder and 1st grade teachers have been awesome!

- submitted by a parent
April 06, 2005
My kids have been attending this school for 3 years. In this time we have come to know most of the teachers. The teachers are very dedicated and concerned with each of their students. Children who struggle are provided with additional help and attention. Children who excel are given additional work to keep them challenged. Kindergarteners are given weekly homework packets. Grades 1-5 are generally given daily homework. Homework is taken very seriously and the kids are held accountable for completing it and turning it in. The kids have library, chorus, computer, and PE on a weekly basis. There is no instrumental music program due to district cuts. Generally, all classrooms have at least 1 parent volunteer. Some classrooms have daily parent volunteers. The PTA at this school is active and sponsors reading nights, a reading rewards program, gives classrooms money, and has many social events.

- submitted by a parent
February 27, 2005
This school is tops in my book. I have only had possitive experiences here and I my kids have been going here for 6 years. I wish they didn't have to leave after 5th grade. The teachers that we had were the best! We will miss them especially Mrs. Clark and Mrs. Owens. Every school should have two teacher like them.

- submitted by a parent
September 13, 2004
We love the atmosphere and the energy and quality of the teachers.

- submitted by a parent
May 17, 2004
My son was very apprehensive about leaving Bidwell when we moved to our new home. Thanks to the wonderful teachers (Mrs. Kelley & Mrs. DiGiovanni) at Grant, he's transitioned well. He's reading at an 8th grade level, loves Science & History! They have even gone so far as to stay 30 min after school 2 days a week to tutor! Clean campus, great staff!

- submitted by a parent
March 12, 2004
Fantastic school. Very organized PTA. Good Parent involvement. Some teachers are average and a little stuck in their ways, but most are fantastic. I can't say enough abough Mrs. Gibson and Mrs. Tinker. The librarian ia amazing as well.

- submitted by a parent
February 18, 2004
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grant Elementary School
4325 Spaulding Street, Antioch, CA  94531
(925) 706-5271
Last modified Grant Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grant Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top